Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Incorrect

I said after we went out in straight sets last year that I felt we were as far away from winning a comp as ever and nothing I've seen this year as the season has unfolded has changed my mind. What's even more depressing is that I reckon the Dogs and Bronco's will be mounting a better challenge than us in the next 3-4 years while our fortunes go south. The Broncos wont stay down for long, and the Dogs will be good if they find a decent hooker in the next couple of years.

I was all for giving Gutho a good contract last time .... 750k was good - most merkins wanted to pay him 600k

but if he wants more than 750k now then he is kidding himself ....... if he seriously expects near 1m then he and his manager have rocks in their heads

I said after we went out in straight sets last year that I felt we were as far away from winning a comp as ever and nothing I've seen this year as the season has unfolded has changed my mind. What's even more depressing is that I reckon the Dogs and Bronco's will be mounting a better challenge than us in the next 3-4 years while our fortunes go south. The Broncos wont stay down for long, and the Dogs will be good if they find a decent hooker in the next couple of years.
The Broncos should be going a lot better than they are. The Dogs' best should be about our level now. Like us they don't really have any recruiting advantages. But at least they're not the Tigers.

Let's not forget that part of a player manager's job is to:

(1) keep their client's name in the media, to keep them fresh, and relevant; and

(2) spruik their value/worth

I'd be genuinely surprised if Gutherson's manager REALLY believed he could get $1 million million Gutherson, but that won't stop him from doing his job, and trying to get it, anyway.

Soto

$1m I'm giving to Joey Manu and $750k to Brandon Smith. These players are the ones who can turn games in the blink of an eye.
They deserve the big $...
I'd also throw decent coin at Zack Lomax and give him the fullback spot if we can't land Joey Manu. If both those fail, Russell fullback nxt yr and Guth centre.
Would not bother me to see Guth depart. His best attribute is dummy half running, backing up and ball playing.
Lacks pace, effective runs from the back and can be caught out positionally at times too.

JokerEel

$1m I'm giving to Joey Manu and $750k to Brandon Smith. These players are the ones who can turn games in the blink of an eye.
I'd also throw decent coin at Zack Lomax and give him the fullback spot if we can't land Joey Manu. If both those fail, Russell fullback nxt yr and Guth centre.
Would not bother me to see Guth depart. His best attribute is dummy half running, backing up and ball playing.
Lacks pace, effective runs from the back and can be caught out positionally at times too.

Both Manu and Smith both bring the winning mentality...

He's badly out of form; however, at his best, he also brings to the table:

* great skills in passing, and kicking;

* great defence from the back;

* footy smarts.

I would be sad to see him go; however, I am glad that we now finally have management who will not be held to ransom by players' demands.

Soto

When was the last time Parra was able to snare a high quality calibre player at their peak? Honestly i think it was Bob Lindner...
Can't remember us landing a gun in their prime

When was the last time Parra was able to snare a high quality calibre player at their peak? Honestly i think it was Bob Lindner...
Can't remember us landing a gun in their prime

Reagan Campbell-Gillard
Timana Tahu
Adam Dykes (fresh off a Dally M-winning season)
Justin Poore (played Origin the year before)

They didn't all work out, but we've attracted some quality players.

TYG

St.Helens fan here......there are rumours over here that we have signed Joey Lussick for 2022 onwards. Couple of things I'd like to ask. Has anyone heard anything at your end? Any reason he has played so few games this year? Cheers

He's not as good as our number one hooker Reed Mahoney, who was a merkinhair away from getting picked for the Qld Origin team this year. But Lussick would be one of the better backup hookers in the NRL, maybe even the perfect backup. He's about to start for the next five or six games because Mahoney is out for the rest of the year.

Soto

Reagan Campbell-Gillard
Timana Tahu
Adam Dykes (fresh off a Dally M-winning season)
Justin Poore (played Origin the year before)

They didn't all work out, but we've attracted some quality players.
Fair call but I'm talking Elite...All good signings at the time and Timana was a sight in full flight and when angry.
RCG, astute signing and getting better.
Signing Joey Manu, Brandon Smith or Zac Lomax would be top shelf.

TYG

He's not as good as our number one hooker Reed Mahoney, who was a merkinhair away from getting picked for the Qld Origin team this year. But Lussick would be one of the better backup hookers in the NRL, maybe even the perfect backup. He's about to start for the next five or six games because Mahoney is out for the rest of the year.
Cheers. Yeah I watch what NRL I can and I rate Mahoney, I just assumed Lussick would've got more game time off the bench. He was really good over here in 2019-2020 for Salford so he'd be a good signing for us I think as James Roby is coming to the end. Don't know if there's any truth in it yet or just the usual silly season for rumours.