Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Chipmunk

Who's job is it to get the best out of players?

Out of our top 17 this year I reckon we have only had 2 players show genuine improvement; Mahoney and Papali'i

A few have stayed at about the same level: RCG, Kaufusi, Opacic, Lane & Waqa Blake (Both Lane and Blake from shit to still shit).

The rest have regressed this year: Gutho, Sivo, Fergo, D Brown, Moses, N Brown, Matto, Paulo, Niukore (except when he played centre)

Only 2 players have improved. What a joke! Only Fergo would be declining due to age. The rest of them? Is it just a coincidence that they have all declined this year? Or is the coach and his staff growing stale? These players would all be on decent coin too.

*Smith, Cartwright and Stone have had so little game time in 2021 I have left them out.
In fairness I think Moses is about the same or marginally better. He did make an Origin team. He was pretty average last year.

I don’t think you understand statistics if that’s your conclusion.
I definitely understand statistics. If you cherry pick a sample with higher quality opponents of course it will be worse than the season as a whole. The narrative that we fade late in the season is bullshit, because we've finished the regular season well plenty of times. Of course we will go worse in the finals; we're playing against the best teams.

Or that statistics only show a certain picture that doesn't always quite reflect what is actually happening and in this case it doesn't show that we are very limited in attacking style and can't beat the better teams at the pointy and of the season. Also that you can't just front load and bash your way to the top all season and then have the health and fitness in the squad to challenge towards the end of the season, so the wheels drop off.

History has proven this over and over, but our coaches don't seam to get it. Time for changes.
Except the coach has had us playing a different style in previous years. Prior to 2019 we attacked the edges more than any other team, because it suited our roster. After 2018 we overhauled the roster and now we play a style that suits us.

But it’s worse than last year, i thought we were a better team???
What makes you say it's worse than last year? Fewer wins? Last year we won heaps of close ones (9 from 11 in games decided by 6 points or less) so we were quite lucky. This year we've had less luck (1 from 3 in close games).

Where do people see us next year?
If we have sane coaching staff and squad?

I don't see Penrith,Manly or Storm being a lot weaker. Souths will be.
Roosters will be up with Storm and Penrith I image.

Then look Sat sides below. Knights,Dogs,Saints,Brisbane,Titans,NZ, Canberra ,Sharks,Cowboys,Tigers.

Bar Tigers I reckon every other side will improve. We are only slightly better then all these teams. They won't need a lot of improvement to go from us beating them to being a flip of coin game.

Hard to say - we haven't really recruited for 2022 yet.

But I'd say bottom of the top 8.

TheRam

Except the coach has had us playing a different style in previous years. Prior to 2019 we attacked the edges more than any other team, because it suited our roster. After 2018 we overhauled the roster and now we play a style that suits us.

Suits us unless we are playing quality, in your face teams, or at the backend of the season when we are coming in fatigued and or busted because of it.

Coach and his mates learned nothing from last year and went into the season with a similar slow backline and now we have a similar outcome to last year. Doh! Who is paid to know, anticipate and correct these things? Certainly not us on this forum, but hey look at @hindy111 as just one example of a fan who has been bunging on about our lack of speed for at least 2 seasons now.

When the Raiders nearly stuffed up and were offering Xavier Savage to a couple of our competitors a couple of months ago, we should have jumped in and begged(hyperbole) for him. He would have changed things for us big time. He is at the very least a player in the ilk of a JAC. Speed to burn and talent to go with it. Good luck finding that type of blistering pace with talent now.

With the game changing the way it has, players with speed and a little talent will be the highest priority from here on in, more so then ever before. Look at what Turbo is doing ffs! He is a very talented player indeed, but does anyone think that he would be having these super human games so consistently(and without injury) if the wrestle was still the dominating factor in games as it was prior to 2020?

Imagine players like Hayne and Semi at their peak playing in such a lopsided comp under these rules. They would be unstoppable. Remember both were faster and stronger then Turbo and in Haynes case more talented, better stepper, passing game and defender.

Anyway, we need speed, speed, speed and no pou the big forwards we and other top teams have(Storm is another example) are not a liability if they can play like ours and the better ones can. Sure if you are a lumbering fat f**k that can't move laterally, but no one but you keeps referring to those useless kind. There are heaps of quality giant players in our comp. Open your freakin eyes mate.

Dumb, dumb.

Suits us unless we are playing quality, in your face teams, or at the backend of the season when we are coming in fatigued and or busted because of it.
If you think the top sides aren't putting in maximum effort you're not watching the game. You don't even need to watch to see our lack of effort. Have a look at the statistics for effort areas like decoys and support runs.

84 Baby

Who's job is it to get the best out of players?

Out of our top 17 this year I reckon we have only had 2 players show genuine improvement; Mahoney and Papali'i

A few have stayed at about the same level: RCG, Kaufusi, Opacic, Lane & Waqa Blake (Both Lane and Blake from shit to still shit).

The rest have regressed this year: Gutho, Sivo, Fergo, D Brown, Moses, N Brown, Matto, Paulo, Niukore (except when he played centre)

Only 2 players have improved. What a joke! Only Fergo would be declining due to age. The rest of them? Is it just a coincidence that they have all declined this year? Or is the coach and his staff growing stale? These players would all be on decent coin too.

*Smith, Cartwright and Stone have had so little game time in 2021 I have left them out.
I think you’ve got a short memory.
Agree with Rheed, Papali’i, RCG, Oregon, I guess Opacic, Gutho, probably Fergo, Junior (although regressed I think only because last year he was outstanding) and Niukore.
And maybe Lane except he had gotten shitter earlier in the year but has returned to last years level recently.
Sivo, Drown, Nrown and Matto are all at least similar levels as last year (but yes probably worse than 2 years ago).
Waqa earlier in year was the same level as last year but has improved recently.
And Moses earlier in the year (pre-re-signing) was a shit ton better than he ever was but has since fallen back to his standard level.

None of that matters at the moment though because they’re all f**ken shit and they better f**ken win tonight!

84 Baby

I think you’ve got a short memory.
Agree with Rheed, Papali’i, RCG, Oregon, I guess Opacic, Gutho, probably Fergo, Junior (although regressed I think only because last year he was outstanding) and Niukore.
And maybe Lane except he had gotten shitter earlier in the year but has returned to last years level recently.
Sivo, Drown, Nrown and Matto are all at least similar levels as last year (but yes probably worse than 2 years ago).
Waqa earlier in year was the same level as last year but has improved recently.
And Moses earlier in the year (pre-re-signing) was a shit ton better than he ever was but has since fallen back to his standard level.

None of that matters at the moment though because they’re all f**ken shit and they better f**ken win tonight!
Thanks for the like @Eelementary
The guy who posted this is f**ken off his head. Except the part where they’re all f**ken shit. That was bang on

episode 2 the googles do nothing GIF