Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I think Peter Vlandis cares and that is why he is for example doing so much to try to make the game entertaining again.
The players and clubs just care about themselves and maximum $.

Sorry. Let me rephrase. Does anybody directly involved in the contract negotiations care what the fans think about the contract negotations? Obviously, what fans think about the game in general matters.

TheRam

Your 'if true' posts are garbage because they entertain and amplify negative speculation about the club you supposedly love. Here's a simple rule of thumb: if it's the type of post a Parra hating troll would come in here and post then it is shit. Notice you're never dropping 'if true' posts about positive speculation?

Mate wake the f**k up! We are on a freakin footy forum, passionately discussing the ups and downs of our great love the Parramatta Eels. Of course there is going to be negative posts that are emotive at times annoying to some and not others. That's the point of this freakin forum you dip stick. If we all were as mediocre and unemotional as you, then the site would quickly wither and die.

Here's a tip. Let some blood run to your balls and let yourself get excited mate. You may then find an appreciation for real talent too.

I think if the fans are off a player that reduces the pressure on the club to retain him, which reduces his value to them.

I think that is true if the fans are 'off a player' because of his perceived usefulness to the team. But I'm not convinced that the clubs trying to sign the player, or the player themself give too much of a shit about what a bunch of blokes on social media reckon about a player being photographed have dinner with prospective employers. I can't, for instance, believe that the Eels would make less effort to re-sign Reed in this case (at least not in any substantive sense).

The Predictor

Mate wake the f**k up! We are on a freakin footy forum, passionately discussing the ups and downs of our great love the Parramatta Eels. Of course there is going to be negative posts that are emotive at times annoying to some and not others. That's the point of this freakin forum you dip stick. If we all were as mediocre and unemotional as you, then the site would quickly wither and die.

Here's a tip. Let some blood run to your balls and let yourself get excited mate. You may then find an appreciation for real talent too.
Yep, he is ridiculous in his constant judgment of others…,how dare you have a differing opinion!!

Pou would have made a great communist.

Gus wouldn't lie either. His whole time at penrith everything he said publically when it came to contracts ended up being the truth
What I don't get is this "if Rheed shows genuine interest in being a Bulldog" crap. Why would he show any interest in leaving our club for theirs unless they threw massive overs at him?

Unless you've got millions to waste on TPAs your 'passion' for the club is doing more harm than good. Start boosting some of the positive speculation and you might have some credibility as anything other than a whinger.

I think that is true if the fans are 'off a player' because of his perceived usefulness to the team. But I'm not convinced that the clubs trying to sign the player, or the player themself give too much of a shit about what a bunch of blokes on social media reckon about a player being photographed have dinner with prospective employers. I can't, for instance, believe that the Eels would make less effort to re-sign Reed in this case (at least not in any substantive sense).
It's not about whether the club would make less effort, but whether they would make more effort to retain a player the fans think is indispensable. I'm sure this happened in the past. I have no doubt we made Jarryd Hayne the highest paid player in the NRL every year from 2010 to 2014.

I don't disagree with this in the Hayne context (or in any other case involving fans' perception of the player's value on the field). My point was purely about fans' perceptions regarding the contract negotiating process.

On the cap.

What is interesting is how O’Neil approaches the overall cap issue with somehow having all these player contracts expiring at the same time.

According to SEN this morning, Marata was on $200k and it was increased to $275k , which seems to be aimed at being so low that the player is being shown the door ( but not shown the door) . Think he will be getting overs, but is this a ploy to create space to extend the other players or the manner that MON operates, lowball and see if it works.

As we see, managers are no longer fooled by so called smart operators, hopefully we don’t continue that path, and try and get close to market and that way get loyalty to play a part. Being $200k short is not smart as it would point to not recognising the players value, doesn’t work outside footy and can’t see it working inside.

May you live in interesting times is a Chinese curse, the next 2 to 6 weeks will certainly be interesting.

Marata went up a level this season. In 2020 he was solid also but still a bench player who was ok to fill in as a starter. 2021 he went to a guy who isna great bench player or an ok starter.
275K for a bench player was reasonable. The level he is at now I suggest 400k is reasonable. 450k would be a stretch. 650k is huge overs.

You need to compare him to what a guy who costs closer to min would be and his output. Example is STONE AND HIPGRAVE. Both would be closer to 100k. Then to RCG, N.BROWN, JNR who range from 550k -750k.

N.Brown isn't old and passed it. He has been playing injured and now playing with a better pack so gets less carries and work. He is still a better player then Marata imo.

I like Marata. He is a little better then Lane. Some prefer him to Matterson but I find Matterson more skillful.

His balls have no blood

Delboy

Think we are all fans who want the best for the club, we have in place a HOF to coordinate and negotiate signings and extensions. Let’s be honest, if Rheed and Gutho are not extended, then the judgement on MON won’t be kind.

Sure there is value to be considered, but thats not how he will be judged. Just a comment, so no need to get hissy about if you disagree .

Brendon Hands would be interesting. He is contracted for 2022 but if can get a longer deal can take it. He is 21 and turns 22 in a few weeks time. Development stunted from coronavirus like many other young players. I had heard plenty of Penrith fans call for him to be in side when had a few injuries and many dissapointed when not given a chance.

If we have him and Rein we may have two very good back ups. Roache looks to be gone id say with to many injuries