Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Bandwagon

As I have said earlier. Gutherson isn't a top 5 fullback but he is still very good. There are elements to his game people are not noticing. One being he rarely makes an error. Also a handy back up goal kicker.

Depends on how you rate.

Defensively ( kick receival and last line tackle/ positioning ) who's better? Ball playing certainly up there ( line break assists and try assists ). Backing up, ( player in support ) , again up there. Speed nope, tackle breaks, close but not quite there.

eels_fan

He’s arguably the best try saving fullback in the game.

His support play is equally as good as any, he just lacks the blistering speed off the make to take advantage of those mini-breaks.

he’s consistently a 7-8 out of ten, maybe has a 9 game in him a couple of times a year.

Ponga, Latrell etc can have a few 10/10 games but then have 2 months of 5/10s.

I admit I haven't been reading all the hard hitting journalism - but where do we think he is asking for a squillion dollars? ... the only thing I did read is we offered him 1.5m for 2 years, ie 750k per year, but the sticking point is the number of years

I think 750k is quite reasonable for what he offers - and pretty much what he is on now

I also get that a 3 yr extension might be longer than the club wants - so fine they can dig their heals in a bit if they want ..... bu thats the club sticking to their guns too right? ..... the club is allowed to but the player isn't?

Bandwagon

I admit I haven't been reading all the hard hitting journalism - but where do we think he is asking for a squillion dollars? ... the only thing I did read is we offered him 1.5m for 2 years, ie 750k per year, but the sticking point is the number of years

I think 750k is quite reasonable for what he offers - and pretty much what he is on now

I also get that a 3 yr extension might be longer than the club wants - so fine they can dig their heals in a bit if they want ..... bu thats the club sticking to their guns too right? ..... the club is allowed to but the player isn't?

I get the two vs three year thing, ( it's really three vs four cause 2022's a thing ) and support the club in that, because three years is a fair bit of faith I reckon.

I just don't get the bagging of a bloke who from what I'm seeing gives pretty much everything he has when he steps on the field for us, and what he lacks in athleticism he makes up for with work rate and commitment.

I get the two vs three year thing, ( it's really three vs four cause 2022's a thing ) and support the club in that, because three years is a fair bit of faith I reckon.

I just don't get the bagging of a bloke who from what I'm seeing gives pretty much everything he has when he steps on the field for us, and what he lacks in athleticism he makes up for with work rate and commitment.
absolutely

Yeah something like that.

I have no problem with Guth holding out a little longer and trying to get another year on his deal, my problem is this continually being played out in the media and his grub manager leaking shit to try and make the club look bad. Which has been happening on an almost daily basis because the club Haven’t caved into their demands.

This is finally what a well run club looks like, if Guth and his manager don’t like it that’s just too bad. And at the end of the day he is replaceable unlike Mahoney a quality dummy half like him is not easy to replace.

T-Boon

He is consistently a grub when it comes to negotiations. It does not need to be played out in the media the way it is. There seems to be a new story every 2 or 3 days from him and his agent undermining the clubs professionalism. This way of doing things isnt just bad for Parra it is bad for the game.

Bandwagon

He is consistently a grub when it comes to negotiations. It does not need to be played out in the media the way it is. There seems to be a new story every 2 or 3 days from him and his agent undermining the clubs professionalism. This way of doing things isnt just bad for Parra it is bad for the game.

Yeah that seems to be the narrative here, but on not a lot of real evidence.

I mean yeah the press is milking it for all it's worth, like they did last time, but I truly wonder how much benefit there is for either Gutho or his manager in the way it's being reported? I'd say f**k all, so you'd have to wonder why they would be the ones driving it?

I guess it could be that they're just dumb merkins and have no f**king idea about how to handle negotiations, and all the merkins here that can see the obvious issues are far better informed of how to go about it.

Or maybe being the off season and all, and Parra having a few of our stars off contract makes for great clickbait, when there aint a whole lot happening, and merkins are just more than happy to buy into it.

And just lols at "grub", f**k me, that's more hyperbole than the press are offering up.

Joshuatheeel

Barnstorming Eels back-rower Isaiah Papali'i looks set to knock back a massive approach from the new Dolphinsfranchise for 2023, leaving his future a two-horse race.

Papali'i's manager Daniel O'Loughlin has told Wide World of Sports that the much-improved forward doesn't want to leave Sydney.

That reduces his options to staying at Parramatta or accepting a big offer from Wests Tigers.

"Isaiah is settled in Sydney with his family and prefers to stay here," O'Loughlin said.

"The Tigers are very keen but he also feels a loyalty to Parramatta so will probably give them the last say.

"I think they are meeting this week so we will see what they come up with."

Papali'i was one of the big improvers of 2021, helping the Eels into the top four with his aggressive forward play in attack and defence.”

The only difference b/w his contract negotations and many others is that his manager and the media know that a bunch of dumb-arse bogans will go off their tree and read every non-story surrounding the deal. He either signs or he doesn't sign and we get on with the 2022 season. I'm fine either way, but the idea that he is somehow 'grub' is beyond me.

golfer

I totally agree with this comment. He is an integral part of our team and we would be worse off if he left. I don't get the love for Ponga, sure he has brilliant attack but his defence is questionable.

yy_cheng

Give him the 3rd year with a po for 400k instead of 750k and a co for 750k

So if his form is still good,we can exercise at 750
If not , he can go to the open market and try and find something better than 400k otherwise we wear the 400k

The numbers are theoretical and used for the purpose of the example

It's like a saddle option strategy

TheRam

It's the playing out in the media thing mate. He has done it twice now. If he didn't agree with it he would have demanded his manager zip it. But by his manager going all quote happy he has then obviously endorsed it. He is our club captain, so why would he allow and be a party to such headlines? It is a very ordinary thing to do to a club that he supposedly loves and is the leader of and a terrible example to show to all the other player coming off contract. It smacks of every man for himself and bugger the consequences.

He of course has a right to negotiate the best deal he can workout with his employer, but as a leader to condone and give fuel to click bait headlines that he is mature enough now to know would follow by a group of piranhas that are RL journos is very poor form indeed.

Moses was young and immature when he renegotiated his previous contract and therefore he allowed it to get away from him through his manager. This last time however he showed that he learnt his lesson and realised that letting it play out in the media, actually worked against him and the club that he actually wants to play with. So he did the right thing and advised his manager of his intentions and very little if anything leaked into the media. Gutho on the other hand learnt nothing and has allowed his manager to double down and given him license to make both of them look like tossers with all the malarkey that he has been spewing out to the media.

No savvy fan believes a word of what his manager is telling the press. Even if some of it is true, who would believe or trust a player manager whose profession is to bluff and spin bullshit so as to manipulate the situation enough to squeeze out the best possible deal for both himself and sometimes his client?

Gutho in the end may get the deal he was angling for, but he will have lost so much respect and affection by a large portion of the fans that once adored him. The only thing to come out of this whole process is that he has managed to re-enforce the perception that he is a selfish and greedy man that that loves the headlines and tries to hide behind his manager and his natural super human fitness that allows him to excel on the football field. But by him doing this again and allowing it to play out through the media it has only soured his character to many of us no matter how well he plays.

From now on when he does the Gutherino or dons a new hairdo all many will see is a desperate and selfish man trying to pose off again. Not a smart man.

Hindmarshisgod2

What gets me is that these guys are demanding massive upgrades as if we made the GF or better.....

Reality is, we are still a long way off from winning a premiership. All these players demanding big bucks are simply not worth it..especially Gutho

They can take what they are offered by the eels, or they can f**k right off. They are all replaceable.