Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

TheRam

I saw all these comments loling at the Raiders and Tigers. Imagine my surprise when I looked at the trial results and saw that they won.

The Raiders changed tactics ffs! Which is what we all said they should do because trying to run around the quickest team in the NRL is something only you would applaud and think that the players and coach got right because they know better then us nuffies.

Clowndick

As much as Manly will be exciting. Unsure if their style beats the Storm and Panthers.
I reckon Ricky and even BA have focussed mainly on building a squad and style that can beat them two. I feel we are a better chance of beating the Storm and Panthers then us beating Manly but also a better chance of beating the Storm and Penrith then Manly are of beating them.

Canberra also are a side that could cause chaos in finals but their style over 25 rnds is hard to maintain. It is physically draining

The Raiders changed tactics ffs! Which is what we all said they should do because trying to run around the quickest team in the NRL is something only you would applaud and think that the players and coach got right because they know better then us nuffies.

Clowndick
ClownDick bahahahahahahahahaha. I’m gunna use that one Rammy if it’s ok with you.

Jack Birds a good tough player. But will cost overs.
Centre or back row is ok. Waqa will be off contract soon and who knows how that will go.
At the right price yes. But is surely a risk

Clowndick
Maybe the Sea Eagles should've compressed then. If only Hasler had you to give him coaching advice ffs

Glenneel

Agree. Always liked him and raved about him. But reality is at best he probably is just an average NRL player. And they are a dime a dozen.
In the lower grades Stone was an absolute standout but just average in NRL and if improves then Dolfins have a good player on their hands, probably their only potential good player so far but they can have him. Doubt his ceiling can go much higher.

He was. And so was Dargan and Bevan.
Stones power and size was good enough for kids 19yld. But at NRL level there are halves and fullbacks with more power then him.
He is tough. But just won't ever be strong enough to be a huge difference maker.

A guy like Hollis or Greig or even Ogden all have more potential based on they are bigger and stronger.

TheRam

Maybe the Sea Eagles should've compressed then. If only Hasler had you to give him coaching advice ffs

Mate they don't have the forwards to go toe to toe with the big boys if it is a middle third battle. Maybe at full strength in a tough forward grind game here and there throughout the season but if they had to play tough teams that can smash in the forwards for more then a week or two they would be found wanting.

We and the likes of a full strength Panthers, Roosters and Storm on the other hand have got the muscle to go week on week if it is necessary. Manly's strength is their speed and of course Turbo. Their forwards are good but not great. If they lose one or two of them like they did in that trial, then they are cactus if you play a forwards first type of game.

Clowndick

TheRam

He was. And so was Dargan and Bevan.
Stones power and size was good enough for kids 19yld. But at NRL level there are halves and fullbacks with more power then him.
He is tough. But just won't ever be strong enough to be a huge difference maker.

A guy like Hollis or Greig or even Ogden all have more potential based on they are bigger and stronger.

Unless he has a Gallen type of offseason. ;)

Mate they don't have the forwards to go toe to toe with the big boys if it is a middle third battle. Maybe at full strength in a tough forward grind game here and there throughout the season but if they had to play tough teams that can smash in the forwards for more then a week or two they would be found wanting.

We and the likes of a full strength Panthers, Roosters and Storm on the other hand have got the muscle to go week on week if it is necessary. Manly's strength is their speed and of course Turbo. Their forwards are good but not great. If they lose one or two of them like they did in that trial, then they are cactus if you play a forwards first type of game.

Clowndick
Yeah it's a shame that Ricky Stuart, who played and coached in over 700 games, needed an extra 15 minutes to realise something you knew as soon as the deadshit commentator said it.

Here's a tip: Saab is a poor defender and Koula has never played first grade. You absolutely want them to have to make some decisions in defence. You also want to force DCE to make as many tackles as possible. That doesn't mean you're trying to go around them, it means you are targeting a potential weakness and trying to fatigue their star playmaker.

If you want to learn something about footy stop listening to commentators. They get their jobs because they can talk, not because they can think.

Yeah it's a shame that Ricky Stuart, who played and coached in over 700 games, needed an extra 15 minutes to realise something you knew as soon as the deadshit commentator said it.

Here's a tip: Saab is a poor defender and Koula has never played first grade. You absolutely want them to have to make some decisions in defence. You also want to force DCE to make as many tackles as possible. That doesn't mean you're trying to go around them, it means you are targeting a potential weakness and trying to fatigue their star playmaker.

If you want to learn something about footy stop listening to commentators. They get their jobs because they can talk, not because they can think.

Agree on Saab. He is fast but kind of weak. Never heard of Koala before.