Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

eels_fan

To be fair, I'd be disappointed if he was feeling anything at all about next season right now. He is (or should be) a professional athlete and with his future secured for 4 years from now, it should be irrelevant what's happening this year at the Dogs....
He’s also still a relative kid, it would 100% be in the back of his mind. Hopefully it drives him harder for this year.

i also thought of someone with more regret - the entire rabbitohs football club

The Predictor

Why is everyone fretting over Sivo all of a sudden, he’s been beyond rubbish the past year and then some, unless he is 10-20 out, he is not interested also has slowest fkn play the ball in history , no urgency, no interest, good luck to you Maika, just don’t dog it while your being paid decent count

too late in the evening for punctuation, if u can read then you understand it

The Predictor

Wasn't that his first ever game as head coach? As long as he learned from it, yes he's competent. I reckon seeing a close halftime score blow out very quickly could easily overwhelm an inexperienced head coach in his first game. But failure is how we learn. Bellamy owns the record for greatest grand final loss. Sometimes things just go wrong. It's how you respond that determines competence.
If failure is how we learn, then we should be unfknbeatable!!!!

eels_fan

Just looking forward at the draw, and of the 8 games after the origin period, we have 6 home games.

that’s quite a run in, and whilst it does include games against Penrith & Storm, we should be scared or worried going into the games.

we have a real opportunity to ride a big wave heading into the finals.

If we can jag at 5 of the next 7 before then, we’ll certainly be in the top 4, and possibly top 2

we have a real opportunity to ride a big wave heading into the finals.
giphy.gif

TheRam

For mine, when we are in the red zone, we struggle against the better teams because the defense stays in a line and so we shift the ball wider and we run out of space. In this incident, cleary mase a defensive mistake and we took advantage of it.

However, what the good teams do is they cause our defense to make errors due to decoy runners. Panfers and souths are good at this.

We should work more on having better decoy runners to make it look like they would get the ball to hold the defense to stay in the middle and for their edges to come in.

Obviously and as Cronk explained there are always ways to do just that. Bellamy, Cronk explained watches teams for a few weeks before they play them and then by the time the week thay play them comes around has worked out their vulnerable areas and how they can break down a player's or teams weakness. Repetition at training then is the key and when they find a teams weakness, they do not go away from it.

Again watch how many times we get it wrong. Our back rowers besides running hitup style runs rarely even know how to run a decent line when linking up with the playmaker. We are really bad in this area and it makes us a very predictable and boring football team that can easily be beat if we don't bring our bully 'A' game to the occasion.

The reason Moses gets frustrated when things aren't working for him is because he and the players around him hasn't done enough of what Cronk is talking about here. He isn't as plugged into the players as he should be and neither are the players to him. When the defense is in our face when attacking their red zone, we don't know what to do and get flustered. This is evident by the way that we tend to crab sideways across the ground with no plan or purpose just hoping that someone ends up with the ball and makes sh*t happen and when it doesn't as we run into a cul-de-sac we get frustrated and try the desperate pass to a winger either not there or with no room to move and get bundled out.

These are all signs that we haven't been doing the long and tedious hours of repetition scenarios that will be necessary when playing strong defensive and committed teams, when bash and barge will not do. Why doesn't Moses have an endless bag of plays that he is working towards in these sorts of games that can break down a teams wall and send them into a spiralling fizz? He has mastered the kick, thank God, but not much else and for who is probably the most naturally talented number 7 in the game today, why not and what a waste?

TheRam

Yeh, but I suspect he'll get more than 500k. He played all 3 origin games last year, no? There's probably a fair price somewhere between those two points. I reckon we might have eyes on Rodwell playing a similar role at bargain $$.

I really hope so otherwise we could be in the sh*t.

Why doesn't Moses have an endless bag of plays that he is working towards in these sorts of games that can break down a teams wall and send them into a spiralling fizz? He has mastered the kick, thank God, but not much else and for who is probably the most naturally talented number 7 in the game today, why not and what a waste?
Maybe he's just not smart enough as a player to develop his decision making to the point Cronk is talking about? Like Wally Lewis, the best players make shit coaches because they don't understand the limitations of most players. The fact Moses has perfected the execution of his kicks in game situations means we do train with the repetition you think not every club uses. There is endless cross-pollination of coaching ideas and techniques between the clubs, as staff and players move around. They would all be doing pretty much the same things at training, from a skill perspective. The difference is the culture of hard work (set by the team's leaders) that determines how much 'overtime' the team puts in, and then the quality of the players executing against a team full of merkins who are trying to stop them on game day.

emjaycee

Comes as no surprise that Cronk espouses the virtues of repetition-based learning.

From what I can recall reading, Cooper recognised early in his life that he did not have a lot of 'natural' football ability and that in order to succeed he would need to develop skills he didn't possess.

He did this by doing countless hours and repetitions of some of the very basic rugby league skills, until he could ensure the right result from his action. Of course this doesn't translate to being able to play "eyes up" footy, or whatever is in front of you and that's the difference.

I believe Camillion$ probably had limited natural ability as well and was more a 'built' or manufactured footballer. Of course his leadership skills were unquestionable, as was his football smarts, so he was able to make better (more ntelligent) decisions on a football field.

There is little doubt (in my mind at least), that Bellamy understood this and hence why the Storm developed the repetitive style of scenario training they did (and do use).

Slater had all of the natural talent the Storm's Big 4 possessed.

The Predictor

Obviously and as Cronk explained there are always ways to do just that. Bellamy, Cronk explained watches teams for a few weeks before they play them and then by the time the week thay play them comes around has worked out their vulnerable areas and how they can break down a player's or teams weakness. Repetition at training then is the key and when they find a teams weakness, they do not go away from it.

Again watch how many times we get it wrong. Our back rowers besides running hitup style runs rarely even know how to run a decent line when linking up with the playmaker. We are really bad in this area and it makes us a very predictable and boring football team that can easily be beat if we don't bring our bully 'A' game to the occasion.

The reason Moses gets frustrated when things aren't working for him is because he and the players around him hasn't done enough of what Cronk is talking about here. He isn't as plugged into the players as he should be and neither are the players to him. When the defense is in our face when attacking their red zone, we don't know what to do and get flustered. This is evident by the way that we tend to crab sideways across the ground with no plan or purpose just hoping that someone ends up with the ball and makes sh*t happen and when it doesn't as we run into a cul-de-sac we get frustrated and try the desperate pass to a winger either not there or with no room to move and get bundled out.

These are all signs that we haven't been doing the long and tedious hours of repetition scenarios that will be necessary when playing strong defensive and committed teams, when bash and barge will not do. Why doesn't Moses have an endless bag of plays that he is working towards in these sorts of games that can break down a teams wall and send them into a spiralling fizz? He has mastered the kick, thank God, but not much else and for who is probably the most naturally talented number 7 in the game today, why not and what a waste?
💯

TheRam

Maybe he's just not smart enough as a player to develop his decision making to the point Cronk is talking about? Like Wally Lewis, the best players make shit coaches because they don't understand the limitations of most players. The fact Moses has perfected the execution of his kicks in game situations means we do train with the repetition you think not every club uses. There is endless cross-pollination of coaching ideas and techniques between the clubs, as staff and players move around. They would all be doing pretty much the same things at training, from a skill perspective. The difference is the culture of hard work (set by the team's leaders) that determines how much 'overtime' the team puts in, and then the quality of the players executing against a team full of merkins who are trying to stop them on game day.

That will do me. Not smart enough? What?

Mate the reason he has perfected his kicking game is two fold. One he was always good at it and just needed to keep practicing and it would get to a the level that it is now because he always had a good large kick. And two he doesn't need to rely on anyone else other then making sure he is in a decent position to get the kick away, which in his earlier years he was often to shallow and allowing to much pressure on him during the kick.

It is the easier of the routines to perfect in a sense as long as you are a natural good kicker, you don't need to worry about your team mates and what they need to do or where they need to be and their timing or the angle they are coming in at or anything else that play making and plugging in with your support players needs and is necessary. He is a naturally gifted almost individual player. What he needs to do is use those natural skills and work with his back rowers in particular and other outside players and through thousands of hours of repetitious work perfect different plays for moments in games as they are needed.

He and our players are very talented individually. It is repetition that will bring all their talents together and working as a team who actually know each others game well. At the moment as so often is the case they look like a bunch of merkins that need to introduction and name tags.

TheRam

Comes as no surprise that Cronk espouses the virtues of repetition-based learning.

From what I can recall reading, Cooper recognised early in his life that he did not have a lot of 'natural' football ability and that in order to succeed he would need to develop skills he didn't possess.

He did this by doing countless hours and repetitions of some of the very basic rugby league skills, until he could ensure the right result from his action. Of course this doesn't translate to being able to play "eyes up" footy, or whatever is in front of you and that's the difference.

I believe Camillion$ probably had limited natural ability as well and was more a 'built' or manufactured footballer. Of course his leadership skills were unquestionable, as was his football smarts, so he was able to make better (more ntelligent) decisions on a football field.

There is little doubt (in my mind at least), that Bellamy understood this and hence why the Storm developed the repetitive style of scenario training they did (and do use).

Slater had all of the natural talent the Storm's Big 4 possessed.

Mate both Cooper and Matty Johns both scoffed at the concept of "eyes up footy' and what a crock it is. Maybe you should watch the Ep4 that I mentioned.

Even the 8th immortal has often waxed lyrical of the thousands of ours of video and repetition training that he would do with both his brother and the backrowers till they just needed a look and didn't even need to call the plays name to put on an appropriate play.

I can't remember which super coach, but it was one of them that I heard say a couple of years ago that he lamented how many NRL players come through all the lower grades and don't know the fundamentals very well, like passing and even running lines because they were naturally talented as juniors and managed to go through the grades without needing to rely on them. So as a result the coach literally would just spend hours and hours over weeks on end during off season training doing right to left passing drills or catching drill or line running drills that would piss the players off, but eventually the players appreciated how it transformed their game and allowed them to perform at the highest level when under pressure.

Repetition is the secret(not so secret) trick that all winners in any field just never stop doing.

That will do me. Not smart enough? What?
These option plays that Cronk and some others execute well under pressure require skills that are trainable, like any skill, but there would also be an inherent (genetic?) component. We've seen Moses improve massively since coming to our club, from a physical strength perspective, plus his mentality to get his body in front of attackers. He has also improved the execution of his kicking game such that he is probably the best long kicker in the NRL. His decision making under pressure has also improved but from a very low base. He is a very good player but composure is one of his weaknesses. It affects his decision making under pressure. He has always been known as this type of player, just as he's always been known as a lightweight, physically weak player. He has improved in these areas but there is a ceiling for everything, just as there is for running speed.

The Predictor

To be fair, I'd be disappointed if he was feeling anything at all about next season right now. He is (or should be) a professional athlete and with his future secured for 4 years from now, it should be irrelevant what's happening this year at the Dogs....
Regardless, there would some regret and concern on his part.