Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

84 Baby

They definitely invited us to throw the game plan out the window. We should've stayed patient and built pressure but instead we took TheRam's (and Cronk's) advice and decided that repeatedly shovelling the ball out wide would get us some fat nasty tries. I bet it's not the type of repetition we do in training. #repetition

That's a great article showing how our strength - the power game - created conditions for our win. TheRam should give it a read. I reckon Cronk might've already read it.
Could you repeat that?

84 Baby

I’m actually considering sending them money. The layout of their articles are f**ken awesome. Our club should hire who ever does their gifs to help us run our review sessions that we absolutely don’t do.

yy_cheng

No mate not only me and Cronk know about it, you smart arse. All I was referring to was that we don't play like a team that is doing what Cronk was talking about.

What Cronk was explaining was that it doesn't take tons of talent but massive repetition. Repetition makes players look like they have natural super skills. Look at the Gutho to Matterson's try the other day. Look at how Gutho takes all the right amount of space and gets to the edge of the hole that Cleary accidently creates and then the timing of Matto getting to Gutho at precisely the right time, then when he receives it the way he first steps out and then in and totally bamboozles Edwards who ends up falling over and Matto goes through and scores untouched.

Now look at all the skill for example that Matterson displayed getting there on Monday not Tuesday and then all that footwork that was on show to score un touched. Sure Cleary over ran and came out of the line that gave Gutho the opportunity to get around him and only need to commit Martin before Matterson arrived to take the pass, but all the skills were there on show from both those players. So why are we not seeing that playmaker to backrower way more and a success rate of around once a game. Instead they get it wrong so often and almost run into each other or or do run into each other or the backrower isn't there to receive the ball on time if at all or he arrives way to soon and goes through without the ball?

These are all signs of what Cronk was referring to and the guys that have trained tirelessly these different scenarios thousands of times together end up during games looking like very talented footballers. In that episode Cronk referenced his great combination with Hoffman. He said that at first it wasn't natural and clunky, but once they trained the sh*t out of it it became second nature to them. Now Hoffman was a very good player, but in my opinion Matterson is a more naturally talented player. So why doesn't Moses for example have a similar relationship with Matto?

I stand by what I have been saying. We don't train the way we should and our one dimensional power game is the proof in the pudding.
For mine, when we are in the red zone, we struggle against the better teams because the defense stays in a line and so we shift the ball wider and we run out of space. In this incident, cleary mase a defensive mistake and we took advantage of it.

However, what the good teams do is they cause our defense to make errors due to decoy runners. Panfers and souths are good at this.

We should work more on having better decoy runners to make it look like they would get the ball to hold the defense to stay in the middle and for their edges to come in.

Guys I'd be interested in if the price is right and maybe even snag them this season.

1 - Angus Critchton. Pick of the bunch and would be prepared to pay him 650k. Maybe even 700k. He is worth it. I doubt he will leave this season. Rooster will be finals bound I imagine.

2. Frizell - At age 30 he still has some decent footy left. What is he worth? If we could get him for the back half of the year and another two after that it would be perfect. He is reported to be on 700k. 450k-500k would be a good deal.

3. Klemmer - I don't think we need middles but still only 28. RCG was also going like busted prior to coming here. How much would I pay? I don't think more then 300k which would be the issue. I can not see the Knights chipping in the rest. Apparently on around 800k. He is off contract at end of 2023. Wouldn't be a terrible pick up at the price I suggested. Long shot however.

4. Doorey - Wouldn't cost a lot and prior to injury was developing well. Probably would be available this season also.

5. RFM - As above. Might cost a little more but wouldnt demand huge dollars.

I am sure there is more guys around. Would also be wise to look at a young hooker. Unless we have something good in under 20s. Rein and Hands would be ok back ups to Hodgson. I'd still try and add another.

@Gronk Id suggest you have a read of TCT's latest Bumpers Up edition.
Maybe you could set them straight on their understanding of the Development/Second Tier players eligibility to play NRL.
I just heard them say it in their podcast. It may well be true, but I have googled the life out of it and all I can find is the announcement for the 2021 season "because of disruptions".

So if they have extended it into 2022 or even permanently, there has been no formal announcement.

We need to look at whom we have already contracted for next year:

1. Gutherson
2. Sivo (unless he gets a better offer elsewhere and doesn't take up his player option)
3. Blake
4. Penisini
5. Simonsson
6. Drown
7. Moses
8. Campbell-Gillard
9. Hodgson
10. Paulo
11. Lane
12. Cartwright
13. Nrown

Everyone else:
Arthur
Dunster
Greig
Hollis
Makatoa
Ogden
Rodwell
Russell

So there's nine spots left to fill, some of which might have already been filled by unannounced upgrades to existing development players (e.g. Loizou). But looking at that starting 13, the only one who might be easily (from a cost perspective) replaceable is Cartwright, given his limited game time this year.

Cloeel

We need to look at whom we have already contracted for next year:

1. Gutherson
2. Sivo (unless he gets a better offer elsewhere and doesn't take up his player option)
3. Blake
4. Penisini
5. Simonsson
6. Drown
7. Moses
8. Campbell-Gillard
9. Hodgson
10. Paulo
11. Lane
12. Cartwright
13. Nrown

Everyone else:
Arthur
Dunster
Greig
Hollis
Makatoa
Ogden
Rodwell
Russell

So there's nine spots left to fill, some of which might have already been filled by unannounced upgrades to existing development players (e.g. Loizou). But looking at that starting 13, the only one who might be easily (from a cost perspective) replaceable is Cartwright, given his limited game time this year.

When does Sivo need to make his decision in regards to next year player option?

84 Baby

Guys I'd be interested in if the price is right and maybe even snag them this season.

1 - Angus Critchton. Pick of the bunch and would be prepared to pay him 650k. Maybe even 700k. He is worth it. I doubt he will leave this season. Rooster will be finals bound I imagine.

2. Frizell - At age 30 he still has some decent footy left. What is he worth? If we could get him for the back half of the year and another two after that it would be perfect. He is reported to be on 700k. 450k-500k would be a good deal.

3. Klemmer - I don't think we need middles but still only 28. RCG was also going like busted prior to coming here. How much would I pay? I don't think more then 300k which would be the issue. I can not see the Knights chipping in the rest. Apparently on around 800k. He is off contract at end of 2023. Wouldn't be a terrible pick up at the price I suggested. Long shot however.

4. Doorey - Wouldn't cost a lot and prior to injury was developing well. Probably would be available this season also.

5. RFM - As above. Might cost a little more but wouldnt demand huge dollars.

I am sure there is more guys around. Would also be wise to look at a young hooker. Unless we have something good in under 20s. Rein and Hands would be ok back ups to Hodgson. I'd still try and add another.
Crichton yes.
Frizell only if real cheap.
Klemmer unrealistic - he’d get more money at a different club and be a starter.
Doorey - bRoKeN DoWn? He’D fIt In PeRfEcTlY!
RFM on the cheap maybe but probably better options.

The other option I’d throw in is Aitken but that’s probably a gamble if he can transition to a good backrower or not.

Matterson has us a bit by the short & curlies

When does Sivo need to make his decision in regards to next year player option?

Unsure. I feel like we are ok and have options in that area with Russel and Dunster so if did go not critical. I'd probably rather he does and use one of those two and have 400k to blast elsewhere. It's a shame in a way we did sign him up. 100k of that at Mahoney would of been better spent.

Do we even have money left to spend? I'd have no idea. I reckon we would have far less up our sleeve then some think.
My guess would be if we sign Matterson that we can probably spend 500k on one player and then just a few squad/ project players or young guys.
If Sivo moved on then we could perhaps use his cash to buy another decent first grader.