Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Interesting fact, who cares merkin it means absolutely nothing other then they have all played for sh*t clubs while being there.
I agree it means they have spent their careers at shit clubs but you have to wonder how much of that is coincidence. For an elite forward like Frizell it’s a pretty good indicator that he is motivated only by money. This is why you need to consider things more deeply than you do, instead of saying “who cares merkin” and only looking at the surface details.

we’ve played in the semis in every year since 2017 (excluding 18) so not sure it’s experience that the team is lacking. We just need to get it done on the day.
Even for the few players who have been here since 2017 that’s only eight high stakes matches. Junior Paulo played five such games (finals + Origin) just last year. He has 15 in his career. This is why he’s able to “get it done on the day”. Finals footy is as much a mental game as a physical one, and Paulo needs more mates who can step up the way he does in these big games.

Mate I wouldn't know and that is why I am asking if anyone knows who they are? It does make sense though that they would have high quality junior since they have a vast nursery to chose from and have always had great player come from there over the decades. So it would be a little strange now for them not to have at least 3 or 4 standouts that make scouts sit up and take notice.

But like I said, I have no inside understanding of juniors at clubland in general, so I yield to others who have.
The advantage they have is the Wests junior area, which is almost as strong as Penrith.

Gazzamatta

Doesnt surprise me i heard Matto can be a bit of whinger that likes to do things his own way when it comes to preparing & training.

Also can be high maintenance at times from what i have heard.
Someone said Matto has his own weights program within the team. Then added he reckons his biceps dont grow unless hes looking at them as he lifts. FWIW!

He left for more money. I’m fine with it to be honest. He has been underwhelming this year.
I don’t get how merkins can see a player going to the Bulldogs (or Tigers) and think it’s for anything other than cash. Once upon a time it was the only reason they came to Parra.

Chipmunk

1. Gutherson
2. Sivo
3. Blake
4. Penisini
5. Simonsson
6. D.Brown
7. Moses
8. Campbell-Gillard
9. Hodgson
10. Paulo
11. Lane
12. Carty
13. N.Brown
14. Rein
15. Rodwell
16. Hopgood
17.Makatoka
That's a good side. If we recruit a back rower or a prop, I reckon Taupau or McLean could be a good option to bolster the bench and both would be cheap. RFM for cheap or Frizell with Newcastle chipping in could keep us in the upper tier sides. I reckon Hodgo is a super underrated signing for us he's as good as Mahoney. Mahoney is not smart at all, Hodgo gives us experience and smarts.
There's no way the current coaching staff will allow Cartwright on the field for any length of time when the game is on the line.

Chipmunk

I can't see anyone on this board ever being able to make a decision big enough to sack anyone, let alone making one as significant enough to sack the Head Coach. Brad Arthur would have to find another job for him not to be the Head Coach of Parra for at least the next 5 years.

Haven't they just made some (very) tough decisions on recruitment ?

Gazzamatta

Did you watch the NSW Cap game last week ? If so, how did you think Carty went ?
Stats arent always the indicator. The game prior to last Jake had good stats but I reckon he was pretty ordinary. Last game his stats were ordinary yet I reckon he had a much better game overall. Carty and others could also be victims to the almighty stats. To be fair Im not convinced of their correctness.

I asked him if he watched the match. Nothing to do with stats.

TheRam

I agree it means they have spent their careers at shit clubs but you have to wonder how much of that is coincidence. For an elite forward like Frizell it’s a pretty good indicator that he is motivated only by money. This is why you need to consider things more deeply than you do, instead of saying “who cares merkin” and only looking at the surface details.

Or maybe during Frizell's earlier career he put up with a sh*t club or two for ok coin but not maximum hoping the club would come good until he realized time on his career was running out to make good coin so then went down the highest bidder rout merkin.