Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

yy_cheng

Dont get me wrong, Suaali will be the best back in the game in the not too distant future, likely at fullback ... i would love to have him. But realistically i think we would have to lose one of Moses or Drown to have a shot at Suaali ... and thats a possibility. Dolphins might go hard after one of moses or drown
That's how I see it too. If we lose one of Moses and Drown then go for Suuali to play 6.

I'm sure we can teach him to kick properly. I mean he kicks unintendedly and scores a try ffs

NSW where not that bad. Cleary just had a rubbish game and Tariq was poor.
I'd bring Angus in for Tariq and leave it at that. JAC for Toupo who I think isn't playing and unsure if Kotoni is fit. If not Latrell.
Api on bench makes sense instead of a centre. Crichton to start.

I'm not convinced he'll be a million dollar player. Or even that he'll stay a back. Barring injury he'll still be elite but it's very early in his career.

yy_cheng

NSW where not that bad. Cleary just had a rubbish game and Tariq was poor.
I'd bring Angus in for Tariq and leave it at that. JAC for Toupo who I think isn't playing and unsure if Kotoni is fit. If not Latrell.
Api on bench makes sense instead of a centre. Crichton to start.
I would think cook on the bench and his speed would be useful after the initial battering

I wouldn't be surprised if both he and Penisini farked off to union in the next couple of years in preparation for the yawnion world cup in AU in 2027....
Possibly, although I don't put much stock in the stories about how so and so were great mates in school or whatever and want to play together blah blah blah. Priorities change.

TheRam

And where are we gonna come up with $1m for suuali? ... do you think gutho will just resign and give back his 750k per year so we can fit suuali? ... should we give up either moses or drown? .... the only salary i see potentially departing that we would be content to part with is Nrown and he is probably only half of what we will need to offer suuali 1m

We do what the Dogs have done with Mahoney and other clubs before. We sign him and then work out how to get rid of Gutho and or other lesser players that may get us under the salary cap so the NRL will register him. Salary caps should never be an issue when signing these sorts of players.

Also we at the very least will put a Hell of a lot of pressure on the Chooks to pay top dollar for him now and force their hand on other players to leave like Crichton. Either way win, win.

Like I said before you need to play 3D chess when getting the dark arts of the NRL salary cap right. I prioritize spine players that are once in a generation players over every other player in the NRL. If we can jag a great coach that can also unleash the evident talent of our current roster after watching them play last night in that first half, before they fell back into their conservative, stifling, unimaginative and lackluster routine of predictable footy that the coach found more pleasing then the first half, then we will be a true force.

Yeah I get that the coach was referring to how we endured defensively in the second half when the game didn't go our way like it did in the first half. The problem with that way of thinking though is that we were playing a weak and disjointed Roosters, that was missing JWH, Radley, and Keary not to mention they lost two of their starters to HIA. Imagine if we had Paulo, Matterson and Moses out against a full strength Roosters and then lost 2 players in game with HIA? Does anyone here think that we would have been anywhere near as good as the Roosters were or that the Roosters would have been so conservative and non impactful in the second half?

How any coach worth his salt could have been happy with that second half effort is beyond me. He should have been spitting chips. Excuses about the refereeing are just nonsense. If you dominate the way we should have in the second half, you take it out of the hands of the referee. I get why Robinson was so dirty that they didn't quite do enough and just missed out on a come back for the ages. He could see what I could see and that is that Parra psychologically had switched off from playing football. The game was there for the taking and he was rueing the fact that they just missed out and fell short the way they did. He also knows that if they had those missing players, that they probably win and win handsomely.

By having players like Suaalii and Teddy and Manu in your roster you guarantee that you can be competitive and win games even when you are missing other quality player from your roster. If we weren't as hot as we were in the first half and(Collins coming off for a HIA assessment really helped) the Roosters would have analed us for sure.

Great game last night and the best first half attacking Parra performance I have seen in years, but then we just blew it and the coach was stoked about it. Just WOW! As if we needed more evidence that he needs to go if we are to ever win another title. He even admitted that it was all up to him to get that type of performance out of them week in week out. Well he couldn't even do it for two consecutive halves ffs!

Incorrect

Possibly, although I don't put much stock in the stories about how so and so were great mates in school or whatever and want to play together blah blah blah. Priorities change.

Yeah for sure. I think Penisini, based on some previous comments this year, is the one most likely to jump back over to union... I think the gulf in salary for what Will can earn between union and league is a LOT less/negligible than it would be for Sualii if that makes sense....
You think Joe would earn relatively more in league than union, compared to Will?

Incorrect

You think Joe would earn relatively more in league than union, compared to Will?
Yeah, purely because ARU are still not stacked with cash, and the Roosters and Souffs already traded blows with big money offers to sign Sualli so I think they might consider Will a more realistic target. ARU might need near a million per annum for Sualli, but maybe get Penisini for half or just over....

Obviously, Sualii could probably get his million dollar asking price in union from a European club, but that then largely precludes him from playing for the Wallabies AFAIK.....

Yeah, purely because ARU are still not stacked with cash, and the Roosters and Souffs already traded blows with big money offers to sign Sualli so I think they might consider Will a more realistic target. ARU might need near a million per annum for Sualli, but maybe get Penisini for half or just over....

Obviously, Sualii could probably get his million dollar asking price in union from a European club, but that then largely precludes him from playing for the Wallabies AFAIK.....
Yeah I reckon that's about right.

Gazzamatta

Uncle Nicks Superannuation Fund is worth far more.