In my opinion, Waqa offers more positives than negatives...
if he shaved his head he might focus more on his footy than hairstylesHe’s horrible under the high ball, he’s an average finisher and almost the most important thing for a winger in the modern game is rucking it out from his own end and he is poor at that. Check his metres gained in the finals??? Bog average, otherwise he’s just tops!!![]()
Considering Pennys signed him up at that coin and then subsidised his contract for a long time, we have not had to pay him $500k over X years if you average it out .Are you factoring in the coin he’s on? At 500k, I’d except much more from him.
What he gets paid is none of my business.Are you factoring in the coin he’s on? At 500k, I’d except much more from him.
and he's so dumb.He’s horrible under the high ball, he’s an average finisher and almost the most important thing for a winger in the modern game is rucking it out from his own end and he is poor at that. Check his metres gained in the finals??? Bog average, otherwise he’s just tops!!![]()
what happened to G Burgess. Has he lost heaps of form?Also with the huge increase in the salary cap surely we hold onto N.Brown for one more year. He looked very strong in the World Cup and is still a good player. If we recruit Taupau our bench looks stronger than last year. A bench of 14.Carty 15. Hopgood 16. Brown 17. Taupau. I think Hopgood is going to end up taking that 13 spot.
Brother Sam retired.what happened to G Burgess. Has he lost heaps of form?
Maybe he would make a good benchie
I wouldn't mind him maybe a two-year deal on a lower wage. Could be what we are missing on the bench.what happened to G Burgess. Has he lost heaps of form?
Maybe he would make a good benchie
and we can swap him with Tom once in a while.I wouldn't mind him maybe a two-year deal on a lower wage. Could be what we are missing on the bench.
He’s not a better anything, our defence works better with him on the wing but him on the wing is still a massive liability.Blake is a better winger purely because the team's defence works better with him on the wing.
What he gets paid is none of my business.
He does the job.
Considering Pennys signed him up at that coin and then subsidised his contract for a long time, we have not had to pay him $500k over X years if you average it out .
![]()
Waqa Blake signs with the Eels
The Parramatta Eels Rugby League Club has signed Penrith Panthers centre Waqa Blake on a four-and-half year contract commencing this week and concluding at the end of the 2023 NRL Telstra Premiership season.www.parraeels.com.au
But you had no problem with N Brown playing NSW Cup while Rookies played ahead of himOK so in the absence of stats, it's your opinion.
He's under contract for 2023 and if you think he should play every game in NSW Cup, then I reckon that's dumb. He's a seasoned FG player of huge experience and everyone behind him (Dunster, Russell, Cini) are rookies. Those rookies will always go in and out of FG bc of injury and form. You can't expect any of them to just settle in as quickly as Penisini did.
Does the job, knock ons, bad reads in defence and offering SFA from our end isn’t really doing the job.What he gets paid is none of my business.
He does the job.
If you read what I posted, I said that any rookies who (might) get a go ahead of him will go in and out of grade. They will need to perform better than Waqa to be selected and then keep that form or avoid injury to stay in the top grade. It will be good to have Waqa about because if he is playing good footy then he'll be better than any rookie. If he can't recapture his form, then he'll be a very handy back-up.But you had problem with N Brown playing NSW Cup while Rookies played ahead of him![]()
His positives are his speed and height. He’s done plenty of good stuff chasing attacking kicks. And one on one he is a great attacking player. Centre probably is his best position. But also, his go forward was good prior to this year. What’s changed? He could’ve been carrying injury most of the year. That usually explains a loss of form. Don’t forget he was out for six weeks in April/May. They don’t wait until they’re injury free before they come back, they come back as soon as they’re able to play. Often they’ve deferred surgery until the end of the year.He was tied 2nd for most errors in the competition. His go forward ordinary and he makes average reads in defense.
I don't mind him at centre. He is a guy worth 250-300k MAX
We overpaid big time. When signed is was excited. A 4 and half year contract. Looked a guy who could become one of the too centres in game. Unfortunately he is just average. Still NRL level. But not a winger. Does not look for ball or run hard everytime. What are his possitives?
The guy is a premiership winner.Big coup![]()
I was trying to put it nicely.He’s not a better anything, our defence works better with him on the wing but him on the wing is still a massive liability.