Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Soren Lorenson

As you have said, any financial benefit that a TPA provider realises, is normally secondary to their purpose.
Aside from the vanity argument, which is definitely one of the key reasons for TPA's, there is sometimes a benefit to a business simply through brand association. For example Billy Slater had a TPA with Queensland Banana's and there were billboard plastered throughout Melbourne when he played for them. Did it help them sell more bananas? Probably not, but there would have been an instant association that helped them in their market.
Is this possible? Say there's a bloke who owns shitloads of hotels and needs heaps of, I don't know, pillows. The merkin with the hotels might say to the pillow merkin, how about you throw a bit of coin towards that player, and you find find your pillows on the beds of every hotel in my portfolio. So the pillow man does not get any benefit from the player, but sells mountains of pillows as a result of his TPA.

Or you could get some random company to provide digital services for the club and get them to inflate their invoices. With the extra coin they get they could TPA a player. Oh wait...

emjaycee

Or you could get some random company to provide digital services for the club and get them to inflate their invoices. With the extra coin they get they could TPA a player. Oh wait...

Soren's question was actually legit so not sure why you decided to take the piss.
@Soren, yes mate. I reckon that would actually not be deemed an illegal TPA. As long as the pillow supplier had no direct association with the club.

Soren's question was actually legit so not sure why you decided to take the piss.
@Soren, yes mate. I reckon that would actually not be deemed an illegal TPA. As long as the pillow supplier had no direct association with the club.
I wasn't taking the piss at all. The thought bubble that @Soren Lorenson had was kinda the same. My link demonstrates the fine line between a legit TPA and a dodgy TPA.

His scenrio could very well be used for say a Nth QLD builder of spec homes and his brick or timber supplier.

We were just dumb and did it all wrong.

Interesting takes on the potential benefits of TPA to the investor, thanks all.

I'm still not convinced it's a wise use of money, other than for the vanity / fan-based aspect (blowjobs). If companies have money to lie around for that, all it shows me is that the government should increase the busines tax rate :).

Interesting takes on the potential benefits of TPA to the investor, thanks all.

I'm still not convinced it's a wise use of money, other than for the vanity / fan-based aspect (blowjobs). If companies have money to lie around for that, all it shows me is that the government should increase the busines tax rate :).
It's useful as a foot in the door exercise, to expose your business to clientele that you might currently be struggling to attract.

It's like making political donations. You don't just send them a cheque and thats it. You go to the dinners, buy a table and chew the fat with the big end of town.

emjaycee

When I was seriously considering a TPA for Mahoney, I was looking at a number of things.
1. Was considering expanding into SE Qld market and he was looking likely to being the next Qld Origin hooker;
2. Was developing a product that would benefit from instagram post to milleniuls (sp);
3. Wanted a speaker and drawcard for 2 corporate golf days each year

Incl. in the TPA (which he was happy with) was golf days, sharing my content on his socials, and recording 3 x 60 sec videos each year

It wasnt all about vanity. I planned to use his growing profile to benefit my Parramatta based business.

I think just straight up sponsoship can achieve the same aim, TPAs by nature just seem... shady? Like all that political donation stuff very much seems to be, at least to my taxpayer/voter eyes.

I'd never heard of Pirtek before they sponsored us, and while I've never had (or forsee) need for their services, I can still remember they appeared on oir jerseys and promo materials as a sponsor (along with lesser sponsors, all exposing their businesses.

Thanks for sharing emjaycee. I get that it must be an investment decision, but would you say any TPA is essentially a gamble in terms of whether the investment will bear fruit/prove it's worth? Kind of like paying an influencer involved in that social media thing that all the kids talk about...

developing a product that would benefit from instagram post to milleniuls (sp);
Speaking of which, that part of your post is an absolute gold reflection of modern life for people of our certain age!

Just think about your average person for a second:

They see that athlete X is spruiking their product, and your average person thinks, "Gee, this company must be doing well - I'd better check them out."

If you get a marketable face to your product, it's worth its weight in gold.

emjaycee

Thanks for sharing emjaycee. I get that it must be an investment decision, but would you say any TPA is essentially a gamble in terms of whether the investment will bear fruit/prove it's worth? Kind of like paying an influencer involved in that social media thing that all the kids talk about...

Speaking of which, that part of your post is an absolute gold reflection of modern life for people of our certain age!
I spent over $150k in mktng in 12 months for little or no return. Everything in business can be a gamble.

Glad the taxman only taxes us small business owners 27.5% for taking all the risks.

I spent over $150k in mktng in 12 months for little or no return. Everything in business can be a gamble.
That's what I thought a TPA on any league player would be as well - a definite gamble for a business.

Similar to spending the same type of marketing money on a (non-footy) influencer to spruik a company into new target areas or demographics etc - no guarantee there'll be any (extra) return.

A Company wouldn't use it for the above example of Sterlo.

They would use it as a way of networking. If your associated with a well known NRL player it gives you the ability to network through his, associates and agents network. Business is all about who you know.

You may outlay 100k a year to be a TPA for a player and if used correctly you could quite easily 10x that.

connections .... i reckon its how many clubs operate

Sensei Cobra

Y
A TPA seems like a wasted investment to me - what does the company really get out of it for the money? Do people really decide to buy things just because a particular league player sruiks it?

I remember Sterlo used to advertise Blue Haven Pools back in his heyday - didn't make me think about getting a pool, and I would've looked at a range of quotes (not just Blue Haven) if I was and just picked the best.

Unless the TPA involves getting a blow job from your favourite player (if you're into that / not that there's anything wrong with that) I just can't see why any company bothers with the black hole spend.
You know how marketing works right ? The fact that you can associate the blue haven brand with Sterlo means it worked