Yeah basically right there.
Of course the chook fans wouldn't have an issue with the current arrangement. Why change what's worked so well in past 20 years.
The big question will be when Uncle Nick eventually goes as he in his 90s now they will have the systems in the place I suppose with the big backers in town.
Will it continue post Uncle Nick?
He has made them bullet proof mate with hundreds of millions dollars worth of investments. I don't think much will change unless they stuff up and manage it all badly, which I doubt seeing the types of business savvy and bankers that sit or have sat on that board. They will always have major power brokers that they can draw on when needed. The perks of being the Sydney City team.
That's why we need to position ourselves as the Parramatta City Eels. In other words start courting as many high ranking Parra business men and women. CEO and board members of the biggest and wealthiest businesses in our area. Especially bankers. We need to groom them and seduce them into loving our club. It would take some time but within a decade or so we might have some real heavy hitter that love our club and are on our side.
I would also work hard on bringing in as many elite private schools too. Invite the teachers and kids to our new COE when it opens and make it a regular training day experiences for them. Build our training facility as a place to come and watch the premier team of the west train and then mingle. Make it a regular thing to have crowds watch our boys train and come in and experience the facilities and have a coffee and cake type of thing. Make us a very approachable type of organisation. I mean we have gone out to a whole new area, we need to build bridges and networks. Make ourselves the team of the people for the people. I would also try to bribe, yes I said bribe the headmasters of the most elite rugby schools into allowing RL to be played like the AFL are now doing. That is where the future execs(including politicians and TV execs) generally will come from.
But we need to completely transform and brainwash the whole of Parramatta and its surrounding areas of influencing institutions and businesses into loving our club and being participating supporters of the future. You know like what ASIO or the CIA do by cherry picking the most gifted and talented university kids and turning them into spies by flattering them and convincing them to do it for the love of their country while they are still young and stupidly naïve.
Sitting on your hands and thinking it will all work out, especially when there are so many other enticing options to choose from will only see us lose out and eventually someone else will step in. The Sunday Footy Show reported last Sunday that the Tigers are almost 7000 juniors strong. The Panthers 9000. I believe we have 6500. We need to not lose any more ground, especially to our western neighbours. The best way to make sure we stay kings of the West and actually get even more popular and stronger is to create a program and allocate some recourses to solely focus on the ideas(and expand on them) that I have stated above.
Not to do so is corporate folly and wishful thinking that we will always maintain our dominance in the area. Other organisations including the AFL, when the wind and tides change, will be very pleased that we thought so too.
I would start with that Westfield's High School that Suaalii and Penisini came from and usurp that guy that Manly currently have on their payroll. It is ridiculous that we have allowed other clubs to do this right under our noses.