Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Chipmunk

Last night he made the most errors and missed tackles of any eel. He’ll be better for it no doubt, but not his best game by far.

View attachment 74180
Two of his errors were caused by other players if I recall. That pass from Arthur was stupid and wasn't his error, and there was another one but I can't recall the actual incident. I don't remember the other two.

Also, Jake Arthur should be given an error for a shit kick that wasn't deep enough and caused our entire team to be offside, but he wasn't. He also should be given another error for a stupid pass that Davey then knocked on. It was a pointless pass that Davey was going to struggle to hand on to.

Looks like he made the same missed tackles as 4 others, but Hopgood missed twice as much as he did.

Two of his errors were caused by other players if I recall. That pass from Arthur was stupid and wasn't his error, and there was another one but I can't recall the actual incident. I don't remember the other two.

Looks like he made the same missed tackles as 4 others, but Hopgood missed twice as much as he did.
Yeah but Hopgood made 44 tackles. Stats are sneaky.

I know, Bennett is wanting to go home at the end of his stint with the Fins, but I would be making it known that if he wants to continue coaching and make history and cementing his name as the undisputed king of the world in RL coaching, Parra is his White Whale and that this is his last and ultimate conquest.

I would throw the bank at him and give him all the resources known to man if he was willing to come here for 2-3 years. It took Gibson the best coach ever at the time to get us our maiden premiership. I'm afraid it looks like it may need the best there ever is now.

Morris is not the man. Great assistant though.
Fair enough mate but make Morris his assistant and then you have a proper succession plan. The club should rid itself of anything to do with Arthur.

JokerEel

Fair enough mate but make Morris his assistant and then you have a proper succession plan. The club should rid itself of anything to do with Arthur.

This is the perfect plan Bennett or Bellamy for 2 seasons with an assistant that is to take over..

Worked at South's and now at Fins.

yy_cheng

I'd give RCG the rest of the year off. That's how much rest they need.

What's the point bringing him in quickly or a week or to to early now. The season is over, let the boy get a good rest and recharge and be much fresher for next year.

Obviously they won't do that, but I would bring him back as late as possible now. He is not needed. We are not winning jack this year and no semi's so let him rejuvenate a little. I'd also do this with Paulo and Lane and even Gutho. I'd give them a week off here and there throughout the remaining season. All our mainstay's who have been forced to play this toxic chase the collision one dimensional crap should be given a holiday wherever possible.

In fact the only player that I wouldn't give a single minute off to is that tight arse bludger that helped cruel our season by sitting out the first 4 rounds. Him I would make play NSW Cup first before every NRL game left in the season. Double duty for that fu*ker!
RCG will play just to get a crack of SOO

yy_cheng

We had a lot of key players that we needed to sort out, Brown, Penisini and Moses, so until that was sorted we couldn't move forward. None of these were sorted out by 1 November last year.

We also appeared to have a gun-shy club not wanting to commit to anything until the salary cap was decided, when other clubs just got on with the job with what it was likely going to be anyway.
I reckon if we went over the cap we could've been able to legally fight it against the NRL because of their delay and restraint of something or rather

TheRam

This is the perfect plan Bennett or Bellamy for 2 seasons with an assistant that is to take over..

Worked at South's and now at Fins.

Yeah, but Morris for mine is an assistant. We should always be looking to do better then an assistant for head coach.

Gazzamatta

So you don’t think that Emu has trimmed down in the recent off season, got fitter so he can play that faster NRL speed and longer minutes? You reckon that 2021 or 2022 Emu could have played NRL like he is now ?

I’m no stats guy, but I bet you a $1 that his NRL runs per minute has increased exponentially from his reggies amble hand-on-hips game.

I have seen this argument used for Carty as well, saying he was under used. However he has clearly been successful this year because he listened to whoever in the coaching staff was in his ear. No more hail marys, just run hard and only look for the off load when it’s on.Hit n stick defence. 2023 Carty is a very (?) disciplined player.

So I’m not looking for people to say congratulations to BA, it could be all Emu or his maturity or his mum or something else, but my opinion is that he is doing well because he has worked on his body and game and I don’t buy that he was always ready for NRL and it was only the lack of opportunity that blocked him.

Thoughts ?
I disagree. Emu was not the dynamic force he is now initially in the 1s because he wasnt provided opportunity to develop. That has always been my argument. Ogden may well be another. Cini another. Certainly Russell over Dunster is another. Thats a no brainer. The Hodgson / Hands situation is a tad more involved. That is very much on recruitment even though im 100% sure the coach gets who he wants so hes not without fault.
BA was forced to develop a prop this year given he missed Tapau and maybe others. He also preferred Murchie and Mommamia. We sign Tapau Emu spends the year in 2s and is gone by seasons end.

Soto

Go for Billy Slater...wait til origin is done. I'm serious. 3 yr contract.
He will bring and install that winning edge and mentality is sorely lacking.
My next choice would be Flanagan.
Shut the gates...no one else worthy available and Old Benny Boy Bennett will not come back to Sydney. He's back in Qld and staying put

JokerEel

Shut the gates...no one else worthy available and Old Benny Boy Bennett will not come back to Sydney. He's back in Qld and staying put

Billy won't come here or coach an NRL side he is too busy with horses and Nien.

FLANNO pass!

Would love Billy to coach us.