Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Agree with the summary of the teams ... though i always expect the storm to go backwards and the dirty merkins never do

Storm I still think will be a very strong team but they where a play away from the GF winners this season. They lose Proctor - Koribete -Hampton-Green. Very handy players.
Sharks could struggle to make the top 8 . Barba and Ennis are big losses. Gallen - Lewis I doubt can back it up.

NRL being a physical game, if your down just 10% on effort you could get flogged. And teams need hunger.
I see Canberra as the team full of the most hungry players. Guys that just want to win. Competitors. 1-17. Guys that hate losing.Big strong physical skillfull team. Balanced all over park.Play good footy. Everyone of a good age or on the way up in career. No old has beens. It could be Ricky's year.

What I like about BA is all the areas I feel need fixing he seems to do and all the changes I feel we need week to week he seems to make within a few weeks.
He drops favourites like Gower - Alvaro when he has better options knowing these guys aren't good enough.
Many games will be decided by a few dropped balls and penalties. I do see Canberra - Penrith - Warriors with squads that if click could dominate but big IFS. The rest of the teams are almost flip of coins week to week bar Knights.
Even the dragons will have a tough footy team.

I'm more hopeful we'll make the 8 than expecting it. I reckon we'll be very competitive and in almost all our games just because of that, but we aren't going to flog many teams. And nor will we be flogged much. We have question marks about 2 spine spots and the 9 will also probably be below average. And we may be lacking a class middle pawn.

The NRL is hard enough even when you've got TPAs at your disposal. Much harder without. Still, I'm excited. Leicester won the EPL FFS.

I'm not sure about the 'let's not teach the kids to pass'.
I think it's more about not forcing them to. The kids that are interested in passing the ball will learn how and the rest won't until they make grade. And as we see, the best NRL teams have a majority of players who never pass anyway. Running and tackling is what you want from most players. The demand for players who pass well is much lower.

It might be annoying, but maybe that's only because it's not us?
Seriously, besides the cheating from the Storm earlier on, they have consistently remained successful season after season They are a professionally run club.
We have been a f**king shambles for years.
Hopefully now though, the tide will be turned.
I'm actually thinking that in the long run, Fitz, Spags and Sharpie have done us a favour.
They've all shown us how NOT to run a club, and that, with the current changes in process, we can get back to the juggernaut we should be, and should have been so much earlier, if not for the selfish pricks who wanted the limelight and power.
You think we cheated the cap for 'limelight and power'? I reckon we cheated the cap so we could compete with the other clubs that spend considerably more than the salary cap on players.

Noise

I think it's more about not forcing them to. The kids that are interested in passing the ball will learn how and the rest won't until they make grade. And as we see, the best NRL teams have a majority of players who never pass anyway. Running and tackling is what you want from most players. The demand for players who pass well is much lower.

The demand for good halves (who need to pass the ball well) has never been higher.

Having coached under 14s/15s teams ever merkin wants to try out for center/2nd row. It's very hard finding decent halves.

emjaycee

You think we cheated the cap for 'limelight and power'? I reckon we cheated the cap so we could compete with the other clubs that spend considerably more than the salary cap on players.
I think @Suitman was referring to individuals who appeared to be more interested in the power and limelight they achieved personally from their roles, then in the success of the club as a whole.

Whilst any cap cheating under their watch was not necessarily driven by this desire for power, their unsuitability for the role they craved, their unwillingness to recognise their own shortcomings in that role, and their subsequent inability to lead the business of a modern NRL franchise in a professional manner definitely led to the need to cheat the cap. All in an attempt(s) to remain in their positions of power and limelight.

Seems odd. I would have thought that Mamo had a great future in the NRL. Can't argue with a lucrative working holiday in Europe, but odd all the same.

I think @Suitman was referring to individuals who appeared to be more interested in the power and limelight they achieved personally from their roles, then in the success of the club as a whole.

Whilst any cap cheating under their watch was not necessarily driven by this desire for power, their unsuitability for the role they craved, their unwillingness to recognise their own shortcomings in that role, and their subsequent inability to lead the business of a modern NRL franchise in a professional manner definitely led to the need to cheat the cap. All in an attempt(s) to remain in their positions of power and limelight.
Great post, and true of last two boards in power.

Parra47

The demand for good halves (who need to pass the ball well) has never been higher.

Having coached under 14s/15s teams ever merkin wants to try out for center/2nd row. It's very hard finding decent halves.
I've been involved in coaching from 11's through to 16's and found the opposite. So many kids want to be halves. At times it's seemed like I have half a team of 6's and 7's.

Similar to the boys from Townsville, the Eels were stunned by Danny Wicks’ decision to retire and while they added Nathan Brown, Siosaia Vave and Suaia Matagi to their squad during the off-season, Brad Arthur is keen on bringing in one more big man.