Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

84 Baby

Moretti being better than Momoisea doesn’t make the latter no longer top 30 quality. It just means Moretti is also top 30 quality. But they also play different positions. Momoisea is more of an edge player. They aren’t in competition.
Simple maths. If you have a group of 30 things then swap one out for a new thing then the original has been replaced in the 30 things. It isn’t top 30 + 1.
Moretti and Moimosea are in competition for spots in the top 30 players. Them playing different positions or having different skills is just an extra calculation to make. Which of them do you think played their position better?
And again, being overtaken doesn’t mean he declined. It just means others increased their standard. You’re also assuming Momoisea is player 30 in our squad, or was this year. But we used 31 players this year and three of them played fewer games than Momoisea.
I didn’t say it meant he declined. I suspect the talent floor was a lot lower than we hoped. He didn’t decline in skill, he did decline in output and that meant he declined in his spot in top 30.
There’s definitely a possibility he comes back into the top 30 in 2024 without doing anything simply because we haven’t signed enough players yet, but f**k me… I hope we’ve got higher aspirations than filling out the squad with players of a level that will allow Moimosea to regain top 30 via default.
Did Jrthur (shown better quality than Moimosea), Lumelume and AMS actually play less games than Moimosea because you should include non-NRL games? Because if we go down that route, Simonsson played more games than Moses.
And yes I also believe Lumelume and AMS showed more quality than Moimosea this year.
Your saving grace was Jrthur leaving meant Moimosea defaulted back into top 30. Excellent

Incorrect

Simple maths. If you have a group of 30 things then swap one out for a new thing then the original has been replaced in the 30 things. It isn’t top 30 + 1.
Moretti and Moimosea are in competition for spots in the top 30 players. Them playing different positions or having different skills is just an extra calculation to make. Which of them do you think played their position better?

I didn’t say it meant he declined. I suspect the talent floor was a lot lower than we hoped. He didn’t decline in skill, he did decline in output and that meant he declined in his spot in top 30.
There’s definitely a possibility he comes back into the top 30 in 2024 without doing anything simply because we haven’t signed enough players yet, but f**k me… I hope we’ve got higher aspirations than filling out the squad with players of a level that will allow Moimosea to regain top 30 via default.
Did Jrthur (shown better quality than Moimosea), Lumelume and AMS actually play less games than Moimosea because you should include non-NRL games? Because if we go down that route, Simonsson played more games than Moses.
And yes I also believe Lumelume and AMS showed more quality than Moimosea this year.
Your saving grace was Jrthur leaving meant Moimosea defaulted back into top 30. Excellent
Could one of you merkins put the other one on Ignore please??

@Poupou Escobar - do you know how to put people on Ignore?? Do it FFS...

Delboy

Hodgson wasn't a panic move. With Hands and Yates at the club it was always a development move. Biggest issue was the second knee injury and that occurred after we had signed him. He was always going to start 2023 slowly as a result which meant we had to rely on Hands early. Particularly when Rein was injured and forced to retire also.

The biggest issue we had this season was not replacing players that were released particularly in the backline.
The big issue at the club is the negligence from the recruitment team in failing to add any quality to the roster for over 2 years . The backline appears an afterthought, and despite MON coming up with the need for an X factor and chasing a few players, he delivered an empty box.

Clubs like our peers look ahead, see holes in their rosters, seem to check who’s coming off contract and chase hard ahead of time. Not sure our lot want to ante up for elite talent, until we get better at certain aspects, we will remain just behind the top 4.

As an aside, the junior rep recruitment seems active and able to complete, not sure how that doesn’t translate to the NRL committee arrangement.

You said you didn’t think there was an assumption young players will get worse, after I said they said COULD get worse then you, and have again here, claimed by “will” you were talking in likelihoods. So it’s semantics to what I said originally.
It’s not semantics. It’s a given that they COULD get worse. Should clubs never sign young players? Or any players? We have players who will almost certainly get worse over their current contract. So do the Panthers and every other club. What COULD happen is part of the accepted risk of offering these contracts. The deciding factor (for contract values) is what is likely to happen. And across 30 different contracts you can expect the edge cases to come out in the wash. The alternative is to not have a footy club.
Yes he got worse because his weaknesses were exposed and he couldn’t fix those weaknesses.
I reckon something happened off the field, because even his strengths deserted him.
Age had nothing to do with it beyond the available time he has left to improve. Moimosea has a bit more time but right at this moment he has to actually achieve that improvement to regain his claim as top 30 quality. The balance of probability is he won’t. If he does, great.
I reckon he still is top 30 quality. His defensive numbers support it.
He wasn’t at the club when Moimosea was in top 30. When he did get here, he pushed Moimosea further down the list.
But still within the (contracted) top 30. We only used 31 players, including one who left the club mid season.
There’s definitely a new standard for what is considered top 30 quality if a better player is brought into that top 30. In fact what is considered top 30 quality is dictated by the worst players. It’s not a comparison of all the players in the top 30, it’s a comparison of those players to those that aren’t currently in the top 30.
No it’s an objective standard based on whether a player can contribute on the NRL field. Some clubs might have more than 30 while others have fewer.
I haven’t done this for laughs at all. You want to claim Moimosea is top 30 quality based on him being contracted and at his age there’s no way he’ll get worse. That’s just got no basis at all.
No, it’s based on his performance in first grade and reserve grade, especially in defence.

Reed got sold a dream by Gus over chinese.

Gus is a great salesman and knows he could sell you anything and you would probably buy it.

3 years later once its run down and you go back to Gus asking for more help he will push you aside for a brand new client and toy to woo & impress.

I can bet Gus offered plenty of money, captaincy and that he would to run the show at Belmore something he would never been able to do at Parramatta with Gutho and Moses.

Its why Reed got the shits with them and wanted to be main man.

To his credit he never through the towel in at Parra in his final year probably helped we were on track to make a GF.

But the more i think about it we did the right thing. The issue was not replacing him with someone competent enough for that role. Even though we had 18 months to sort out our shit we panicked and bought Hodgson.
18 months? We had until all the off contract dummy halves were snapped up and we had a budget. We didn’t need a hooker that was central to our attack, we just needed someone who could give the ball to all the superior attacking players in our team.

Gazzamatta

Reed got sold a dream by Gus over chinese.

Gus is a great salesman and knows he could sell you anything and you would probably buy it.

3 years later once its run down and you go back to Gus asking for more help he will push you aside for a brand new client and toy to woo & impress.

I can bet Gus offered plenty of money, captaincy and that he would to run the show at Belmore something he would never been able to do at Parramatta with Gutho and Moses.

Its why Reed got the shits with them and wanted to be main man.

To his credit he never through the towel in at Parra in his final year probably helped we were on track to make a GF.

But the more i think about it we did the right thing. The issue was not replacing him with someone competent enough for that role. Even though we had 18 months to sort out our shit we panicked and bought Hodgson.
Hodgson was a stop gap to buy time for the planned long term replacement. Unfortunately The Pom proved everyone right with the exception of BA and Poo and a further stop gap replacement needed to be urgently secured. Its a plan that may yet work. We got lucky with Hands I reckon.

Gazzamatta

Moretti being better than Momoisea doesn’t make the latter no longer top 30 quality. It just means Moretti is also top 30 quality. But they also play different positions. Momoisea is more of an edge player. They aren’t in competition.

And again, being overtaken doesn’t mean he declined. It just means others increased their standard. You’re also assuming Momoisea is player 30 in our squad, or was this year. But we used 31 players this year and three of them played fewer games than Momoisea.
Ffs Poo. I know Im on ignore but give it a rest mate. You are wrong and its as boring as fu*k.

It’s not semantics.
Bullshit. If you're posting, then it's always (some warped view of) semantics, not substance.

The rest of your post was a case of TL | DR drivel.

Even though you come across as one of those personality types than can never admit they were wrong, you should do yourself a favour and just reply something like... "actually you have a good point, I'll think it over" (and then hibernate until February).

Going well. Same job. Son is almost finished at Uni, daughter finished Year 12 exams last week. Busy as f**k.

Still lurking around here occasionally and the bullshit hasn't changed.

I am happy though that people have finally cottoned on to why we weren't prepared to pay Mahoney massive dollars to keep him at the club.

Blokes like me and you really know footy. And of course @TheRam. But I can see why your sick of a lot of the other bullshit you have to read.

I was once in a car wash and convinced the car was moving forward. Then realised it wasn’t moving and just an optical illusion because everything else was.

A bit like Momoisea’s progress at the Eels.

There is no illusion. He is there to see in clear. He won't be given a contract for 2025 by any club and will be in Ron Massey cup half of this year.