Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Agree. TCT (aka the Matt Arthur show) …and others pumping up this kid. But he’s shown nothing against men. You compare him to the like of INU, Hayne etc when they came through. Their impact on both reserves and first grade was there to see. This kid has shown nothing with opportunities he’s been given. He obviously needs time in the reserves.

MA i bagged a little when I saw him in Flegg. He looks tiny and was dominated. He has come back however atleast 5kgs heavier. He needs another offseason and can maybe put 4 or 5 more kgs on but he is already a better/smarter hooker then our NRL starters in attack I reckon. He just needs to learn not to overplay his hand. He did it a few times in NSW cup last week going down the blind side to often. But the biggest thing is his defense. Can he handle it? I don't think right now. Maybe in 12mths....

I saw LYON coming thru. He was to good to hold back. I remember me and a mate and half the crowd just standing up everytime he got the ball in reserve grade. He would shred them.

"Persist" It was Round 1.

Ethyn Martin has only ever played one game of open age footy and that was a taste in the first trial.
Dunster and Lumelume have both played NRL finals. Martin’s highlight is a trial match where he was dominated in the ruck. Enthusiasm for these untested youngsters seems like a grass-is-greener problem.

Ethyn may not be good enough. He is unknown. What is known is Lumie Lubes is not good enough. Do the maths
Peanut
If Martin can’t outperform Lumelume in training he won’t do it on game day. The staff just spent the preseason with these merkins. They know what they offer. Nobody is going to become faster, stronger or fitter just because they get on the field in reserve grade. And if they weren’t giving 100% in the preseason they don’t deserve to get picked.

Maybe they just didn’t want to burn out?

JokerEel

Yeah, i didnt really get the Joffa love. I thought he was the worst of the pack a long with Kelma.

I reckon Emu starting with Reg and Emu giving a strong 15-20 mins would be better.

The Worst in a pack that dominated on the weekend.

I don't have anything bad to say about anyone from the weekend.

JokerEel

If Martin can’t outperform Lumelume in training he won’t do it on game day. The staff just spent the preseason with these merkins. They know what they offer. Nobody is going to become faster, stronger or fitter just because they get on the field in reserve grade. And if they weren’t giving 100% in the preseason they don’t deserve to get picked.

Maybe they just didn’t want to burn out?

Like how Moretti could not out perform Jirah in training 😉

Last season Merkin ffs!
They were both in the team ffs! And Moretti had a breakout year. Prior to that Momoisea had performed better in reserve grade, during his time at Newcastle.

In fact Momoisea was good enough in reserve grade that he got picked in first grade. Moretti hadn’t.

JokerEel

They were both in the team ffs! And Moretti had a breakout year. Prior to that Momoisea had performed better in reserve grade, during his time at Newcastle.

In fact Momoisea was good enough in reserve grade that he got picked in first grade. Moretti hadn’t.

No way Moretti wasnt even top 30! Coaches can't be wrong can they?

TheCrowe

Momo was getting occasional bench in NRL at the Knights and he didn't look out of place.
The reverse Arthur effect?