Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I guess after the big case in the US, this was inevitable.

James McManus hopes concussion case will help protect future players

James McManus says it was never his intention to become a trailblazer, but he hopes his historic concussion case will result in better protection for players suffering head knocks in the future.

McManus has become the first Australian footballer to take legal action against a major sporting body over its handling of career-ending concussions after launching legal action against former club Newcastle. The former NSW winger's career ended prematurely after suffering the last of a series of head knocks against South Sydney in July of 2015.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...p-protect-future-players-20170225-gul875.html

I'd be pretty pissed as a fan if Kenny sits out more than a couple.....he threw a drink on someone, it's not like he whacked her ffs. Yeah it's not the done thing, but seriously...

If the situations were reversed absolutely nothing would come of it.

84 Baby

Given circumstances I reckon lengthy suspension (6-8 weeks) plus he has to attend some sort of management class.

Then again given timing (right after Semi) plus past indiscretions, could find himself at Centrelink for awhile

84 Baby

I guess after the big case in the US, this was inevitable.

James McManus hopes concussion case will help protect future players

James McManus says it was never his intention to become a trailblazer, but he hopes his historic concussion case will result in better protection for players suffering head knocks in the future.

McManus has become the first Australian footballer to take legal action against a major sporting body over its handling of career-ending concussions after launching legal action against former club Newcastle. The former NSW winger's career ended prematurely after suffering the last of a series of head knocks against South Sydney in July of 2015.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...p-protect-future-players-20170225-gul875.html
I am utterly amazed that this is still a thing. Don't we have doctors on sideline these days to tell clubs if their players have concussion or not? Do NRL have regular mandatory testing on players? And even after that surely there is some sort of a disclaimer in contracts by now?

84 Baby

6 week to potential sacking??? For pouring a drink on someone?

The world has gone f**king mad.....
I don't think it's what he deserves (although maybe somewhat for just the stupidity of it) but I think it's what he'll get. Reckon he needs go on hands and knees to the Gurnie... just make sure that he doesn't get confused for one of the ladies

Chipmunk

6 week to potential sacking??? For pouring a drink on someone?

The world has gone f**king mad.....

Not his first offence though, he has been suspended by the NRL before for two separate indiscretions.

Todd Carney was banished from the sport for urinating in a toilet remember...

Not his first offence though, he has been suspended by the NRL before for two separate indiscretions.

Todd Carney was banished from the sport for urinating in a toilet remember...

Yes but Carney had a history of serious offences...Kenny has acted like a muppet at times, especially in terms of discipline as a young fella, but this really is a storm in a teacup.

2 weeks, a stern word about acting like a muppet, move on.

Joshuatheeel

I'd be pretty pissed as a fan if Kenny sits out more than a couple.....he threw a drink on someone, it's not like he whacked her ffs. Yeah it's not the done thing, but seriously...

If the situations were reversed absolutely nothing would come of it.

As a one off offence, yes. But he has a pretty lengthy record.....

Stevie

What don't people understand? I love Kenny but the fact is its not the issue of pouring water over her, you're right that action is trivial but its the pure intimation of a man (in this case, a big very big man) standing over a woman. Domestic violence is not just about "punching" a woman.

This is not about tipping water, on two occasions (as admitted) he has stood over her.

Kenny has a record of idiodic things (taking a drug test for a team mate, punching a fan etc) and he needs to understand the fact that the Parramatta Eels are the first club to have a strict policy against domestic violence.

Don't be a goose and think its all over a bit of spilled water, its about a man intimidating a woman and if we sack him because he is a thug off the field I'll back the club 100%.

I also think you can't just his former partner too harsh as if she wanted to really make his life hell she would have let the judge award the AVO. I think she has actually tried to make it a bit easier for him. Don't forget, when Police are called the woman doesn't have to press charges, the cops will.

What don't people understand? I love Kenny but the fact is its not the issue of pouring water over her, you're right that action is trivial but its the pure intimation of a man (in this case, a big very big man) standing over a woman. Domestic violence is not just about "punching" a woman.

This is not about tipping water, on two occasions (as admitted) he has stood over her.

Kenny has a record of idiodic things (taking a drug test for a team mate, punching a fan etc) and he needs to understand the fact that the Parramatta Eels are the first club to have a strict policy against domestic violence.

Don't be a goose and think its all over a bit of spilled water, its about a man intimidating a woman and if we sack him because he is a thug off the field I'll back the club 100%.

I also think you can't just his former partner too harsh as if she wanted to really make his life hell she would have let the judge award the AVO. I think she has actually tried to make it a bit easier for him. Don't forget, when Police are called the woman doesn't have to press charges, the cops will.

Is that why the intimidation charge was dropped? How can you be intimidating without intimidation?

It's rubbish that it went as far as it did.

Happy MEel

Spot on. It's not hard to refrain from being f$&khead to your partner, whether it's a male towards a female or vice versa. Kenny needs to grow up and perhaps a meaningful stint on the sidelines might do the trick.

I am utterly amazed that this is still a thing. Don't we have doctors on sideline these days to tell clubs if their players have concussion or not? Do NRL have regular mandatory testing on players? And even after that surely there is some sort of a disclaimer in contracts by now?

Isn't the NRL the only sport that allows contact with the head ?

Seriously, when you look at some of the tackles its surprising there aren't more NRL players in wheelchairs.

Chipmunk

Yes but Carney had a history of serious offences...Kenny has acted like a muppet at times, especially in terms of discipline as a young fella, but this really is a storm in a teacup.

2 weeks, a stern word about acting like a muppet, move on.

Serious offences for Carney? Urinating in a toilet twice, drink driving and a public misdemeanour

And Edwards - domestic violence offence (albeit on the lesser side of serious), circumventing the drug testing regime of the NRL and a conviction of some kind of public misdemeanour which resulted in a conviction?

There isn't a lot in it...