Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Which is why I think it's a joke something like this goes all the way based on who the defendant is. You reckon Gazza from Mt Druitt would wind up in court for pouring a Woodstock on his missus? This is a waste of time when serious DV cases often find i so hard to be heard....

I don't disagree. Probably wouldn't but it should.

I don't care who it is really, DV cases need to be taken far more seriously than they are.

Redback71

a big joke cant believe some of the stupid cases. One would think there was more to it than some liquid lol

Do you think if he just threw some water or beer she calls cops?

He may of been stabding over her threatening her at same time.

KE is my fave pkayer but sure he been sacked as a promising jnr from 2 clubs previously.
And with us its his 3rd incident. The urine thing and the night club punch right?
He has histroy and a long one.
He was sacked by Manly for discipline.
Sacked by Saints for same thing and in qld cup banned for end of season for enticing team mates to fight opponents.

We took a risk on him and he has played up 3 times.

Might be time to cut losses and walk away from KE. He hasnt learned.

This situation isn't a joke. But the fact that it went all the way to court and a player has been stood down indefinitely over it is.

It's being treated as a joke by some ignorant people on here. Not by yourself.

Six types of domestic violence exist. It falls in to a category of at least one.

He is undoubtedly a victim of his status BUT it doesn't make it any less serious.

Stevie

To be honest, I am 100% ok with turfing him now. I am pretty sure he was a VERY lucky boy not to be sacked when he faked the drug test thing. I love watching him play but as a footy side and a community, we need to get rid of this shit altogether.

Someone will step up and take his place.

Alternatively, if the club want him to sit out 3 months and work in the community before coming back, I'll support that too.

Either way, I am very happy to have a strong leader like Bernie be in charge for stuff like this.

Delboy

Perhaps someon should read up the judgement and see what the magistrate has said. To paraphrase, it was at the complete lower end if the scale and the person involved needs to have some support and counselling and assistance to get on with life

I fully expect Greenberg to abandon the Broncos integrity unit which would have seen and heard nothing in this case, and appoint suitable unit that assists Toddy boy in making some asinine statement about the game and females and suspend KE for a much longer period that necessary. Those among us who feel it would not have gone to court if the Broncos protection squad had been a around and it happened in Brisvegas would not surprised

Delboy

It's being treated as a joke by some ignorant people on here. Not by yourself.

Six types of domestic violence exist. It falls in to a category of at least one.

He is undoubtedly a victim of his status BUT it doesn't make it any less serious.

By the way Greg, I am not condoning anything, and it appears you have some experince of these incidents, perhaps at a higher scale.

I don't want to see or expect young men being treated completely differently if they happen to play football, the over the top responses is equally as as bad as ignoring what the magistrate said.

I saw a doco on sbs. How European countries help criminals.
KE has lots of issues.By sacking him we follow USA by helping we follow Europeans.
Chances are if sacked and gets a normal job his life may spiral downhill.

By helping and educating him.we may help him in future life. Greendturd thou will want to stanp his foot and follow the USA way rather then making people realize the guy needs our help.
There is a line thou and due to KE history im split to what way to go.

84 Baby

Why should there be a disclaimer? You surely cannot have a contract indemnifying an employer against workplace injuries. Imo he is entitled to sue for a shortened career but he should sue the NRL, not his club, and they should have an injury fund somewhere just for this. If they haven't maybe its time to start one!
Employers need to take steps to ensure the safety of their workplace, which is damn near impossible for professional sports. You can't indemnify for this but nor can the employer be blamed for not reducing the already inherent risks. Thus why Taniela Tuiaki & Simon Dwyer got f-all and McCraken had to sue Kearney.
But also with work safety comes having rehabilitation and return to work plans for injured players, especially so when it comes to concussion as the NFL & WWE have proven. You can't necessarily sue for getting injured, but you can if you are forced to go back to work and either aggravate or prematurely reinjure, or misdiagnosed under some circumstances, which leads to the disclaimer. It probably wouldn't be completely legally standing but it gets both parties on same page for what is expected, especially when it comes to head injuries
My point was I am amazed that the professional bodies, players associations and teams haven't put together as many safeguards as possible. My middle question about regular testing was legit, does the NRL have mandatory testing for brain injuries?

I am utterly amazed that this is still a thing. Don't we have doctors on sideline these days to tell clubs if their players have concussion or not? Do NRL have regular mandatory testing on players? And even after that surely there is some sort of a disclaimer in contracts by now?

McManus suffered at least some of the damage well before the current concussion protocols came into place. A disclaimer would be unlikely to be effective unless the NRL could show that they had taken, and consistently applied, all reasonable steps to prevent long-term injury from serial concussions. And even then......I'm not sure it would help.