Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Chipmunk

Sad to see Gutho go, he deserved a proper send off with a full stadium and acknowledgment for what he has done for the club.

really puts a full stop however on BA’s tenure.,

this is Ryles team now.

wonder what we do with the money. Really is no one of great quality available. Maybe we go in for Thompson now and sure up our forward pack.
Hunt and Gutho weren't available yesterday...you'd think there will be more movement to come

Chipmunk

Brailey has played just 61 out of a 119 games since moving to Newcastle in 2019 with 2 ACLs and multiple other injuries.

I wouldn't want to be paying him more then 350-400k the bloke basically has the same shot knees like Hodgson when he arrived.
Seems a fair price. We have two back ups that can fill in if he gets injured.

Enamoured Eel

I don’t think many clubs would have $1 million free in their salary cap at this time of the year like we allegedly have. I think it’s a no brainer to dangle a fair whack of that to Hunt to shore up dummy half short term (and a great backup half). I know that isn’t where he wants to play but what other club can give him decent money for 2025?

Give he and Addo-Carr two year deals at the right price and things are looking pretty good.

TheCrowe

I wonder if Brayley from the Knights is now the first one signed after this?
Before he got moved to halfback Crossland was regularly being chosen over Brailey. He would be on maybe 3x what Hands is on and at his best is maybe a 20% better player. Knights fans have their fingers crossed that we take him at full freight.

Chipmunk

Farewell to the King! It’s been unreal Gutho. Thanks for busting your arse week in week out…

BUT it’s the Ryles Era. The bloke has balls the size of fkn watermelons. Rookie coach and RCG and the King chopped! That gents, is how you turn over a fkn roster!
It's certainly a high risk strategy.

Chipmunk

I don’t think many clubs would have $1 million free in their salary cap at this time of the year like we allegedly have. I think it’s a no brainer to dangle a fair whack of that to Hunt to shore up dummy half short term (and a great backup half). I know that isn’t where he wants to play but what other club can give him decent money for 2025?

Give he and Addo-Carr two year deals at the right price and things are looking pretty good.
You'd have to think the Dolphins have a fair bit of coin available for him to play his preferred No 7, in his preferred state.

I still think that seeing out 2025 at the Eels then taking a plumb job at the COE would be a decent strategy.
I reckon he’d get a lot more playing footy in 2026 and ‘27 (and probably longer) than whatever he could get as a member of staff. Which will still be an option after he retires, if indeed it’s an option in 2026.

not the point, I think he's Cup level and that's it

if one of our halves were unavailable, we've signed other younger players who would step up instead of Volkman
Volkman has shown better form in reserve grade than any of the backup options currently on the books. He’s even outplayed Jake Arthur in NSW Cup.

With Gutho almost gone that makes 10 players from our 2022 GF side to have left..

Penrith have Lost 8 from the 2022 GF side..
So that was our fourth year of a four year stretch of making the finals. Meanwhile 2022 was Penrith’s third year of a stretch currently lasting five years and likely to reach six or more. Their squad was at its peak in ‘22 while ours was already in decline.

Wally21

Mate of mine got married three or four years ago, not sure how much it cost them but three years in and they are separated. Makes you question if it was worth it at all.
I just got married to my misso on a Wednesday. As it wasn’t my first, was just the two of us in the registry office. Best wedding I’ve been too. And my cheapest wedding by a Looooonnnnnngggggg way!

Rocket man

Brailey has played just 61 out of a 119 games since moving to Newcastle in 2019 with 2 ACLs and multiple other injuries.

I wouldn't want to be paying him more then 350-400k the bloke basically has the same shot knees like Hodgson when he arrived.
Achilles as well.

Incorrect

Eh, at this stage of his career he’s entitled to look out for his best interests, I reckon. His future at Parra sounded limited from the time Ryles started talking about a utility role, so I can’t begrudge him taking a final big payday. Loyalty is a two-way street, and while I think some of the stuff around past contract negotiations didn’t play out particularly well, he always put in on the field, which is the main game.
Fair enough but I hope for most casual observers it's not glossed over that Gutho and his mgmt are the ones that have asked for the release. Case in point, that big mouth know-nothing toff Peter Fitzsimons ran a section in his column last weekend stating the Eels were mad to be terminating Gutho's contract. We were doing no such thing. We were more than willing to honour his current contract ending in 2025 with extension talks to be put on hold until the club had a chance to assess performances in 2025.

There's going to be plenty of headlines and ill-informed sentiment critical of the club turfing our captain but the fact is, he and his mgmt played his last contract negotiation out in public and in the end, after getting the length of deal they were after, they are the ones walking away a year early.