Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Soto

Dragons have now lost Lomax, Jack Bird and Hunt. Three of their better if not best 3.
They have signed Cook, Holmes and maybe now Gutho..honestly not a club I'd be looking to go to in a hurry.
Plus they will move Sloane if Gutho go their.
Sloane may have some defensive deficiencies but he can attack from anywhere.
They have an ageing roster and adding 2 more ageing players...
Debelin is no spring chicken either.
Flanagans are both divisive characters.
I reckon they will go worse and be worse

Well he’s hardly going to force Moses or Drown out of the first grade side

not the point, I think he's Cup level and that's it

if one of our halves were unavailable, we've signed other younger players who would step up instead of Volkman

JokerEel

Dragons have now lost Lomax, Jack Bird and Hunt. Three of their better if not best 3.
They have signed Cook, Holmes and maybe now Gutho..honestly not a club I'd be looking to go to in a hurry.
Plus they will move Sloane if Gutho go their.
Sloane may have some defensive deficiencies but he can attack from anywhere.
They have an ageing roster and adding 2 more ageing players...
Debelin is no spring chicken either.
Flanagans are both divisive characters.
I reckon they will go worse and be worse

Also lost one of their better young outside backs to the Raiders..

But they do have that young second rower.. 100 says he is stollen by the Roosters though.

Matty Bhoy

Especially that Gutho is probably only leaving early as it's probably what the Dragons want for him to sign the following 2 seasons.
Yep and I certainly can’t begrudge him one last really good payday. I absolutely love The King but surely we’d all be a touch iffy if Ryles walked in the door and extended him another two years unless it was on clear unders like 350k which is more insulting than giving him the chance to go and earn more.

Eelogical

I highly doubt Guths body is up to 3 more years of footy in any case
Ol' mate @Tiger5150 laughed at my suggestion that Gutho should see his Eels contract out and step into a dream job at our COE. The game is fast and getting faster. Gutho is slow (comparatively) and getting slower. He would leave the game as a Parra great>immortal and have instant respect at the COE. He has his brand and that brand isn't at the Dragons when it comes to to the long game. That's just my take.

King-Gutho94

Ol' mate @Tiger5150 laughed at my suggestion that Gutho should see his Eels contract out and step into a dream job at our COE. The game is fast and getting faster. Gutho is slow (comparatively) and getting slower. He would leave the game as a Parra great>immortal and have instant respect at the COE. He has his brand and that brand isn't at the Dragons when it comes to to the long game. That's just my take.
Managers and players only looking for the next pay check.

Managers especially don't care about a players legacy.

Unfortunately most players these days don't either.

Legal Eel

Yep and I certainly can’t begrudge him one last really good payday. I absolutely love The King but surely we’d all be a touch iffy if Ryles walked in the door and extended him another two years unless it was on clear unders like 350k which is more insulting than giving him the chance to go and earn more.
Absolutely agree

I think this is truly a win-win. Clint has been a fantastic servant and the contract negotiation stuff doesn’t detract in my opinion, as it’s just the modern way.

This current scenario allows us the chance to fast track a rebuild without having to ignominiously cut him loose, as he gets to extend his career and bank some super.

Tiger5150

Did Parra offer that to Guffo when they suggested he go talk to other clubs? Or do Parra want him gone? loyalty goes both ways