Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

MikeE7

Welcome aboard Mike

90k is a lot to knock back and Origin is the pinnacle.

Manly fans are probably asking the same thing in regards to DCE & Turbo bros missing games

The whole structure of Origin needs to be looked at.

I think there better off blocking out 3 weeks in Mid-June and just play 3 weeks B2B with a 25 man squad.

Gives the clubs a break and once we get back to even teams removes the need for any byes during the year.

Cut the NRL back 22 Rounds is enough to sort out the top 8.

Thanks for the welcome King.

True, the money would be hard to knock back....if it was a "normal" scenario with Clearly being fit I dare say MM may not have featured at all, so would he be thinking he would only get an Origin gig if Cleary is out at the time OR will Madge try and play them both moving forward based on how MM went this series??

I agree with the break period and shortening of the season, something needs to be sorted out there....the fact that we have to play over 2 months of footy knowing we have no chance of making the semis is mind boggling!

EelEtric

One thing with player options. If you are waiting until Round 10 for a player to take it up, rather than knowing they are going back in November, you have less time to look for a replacement. That’s a definite disadvantage.
There is no Round 10 deadline for PO's.
Round 10 is the date that clubs have to sign existing juniors before other clubs can make them offers. This is why it was the date when Talagi hit the open market and decided to 'lapse' his PO.

The deadline date for a PO can be whatever is decided and agreed in the contract that includes the PO.

Well the time to pounce is freakin now then and do a Penrith. We will be needing a gun fullback in a couple of years or so and he will be ready by then and in the mean time we offer him a wing or centre position first up. He could take some of Blaize's money.

But we have The Glacier in the house.

supporting a club that doesn't do 'NOW' very well makes things very difficult.

Rocket man

Jnr started the year looking fit and moving well. Within 5 weeks he ballooned out and must of gained close to 10kgs.
Consider that he is the leader of our forwards. What the he'll was BA doing accepting this? He should of been dropped based on the weight gain.
Gets fit to box

His Manager was the old recruitment officer Anthony Field wasnt he and not the blue wiggle one.

Might explain the incompetence we have in that department for a long time and now we have Ben Rogers another A-Grade dope.

We move from one clown to another clown.

to be fair, it's Field who was made to look like an A Grade Dope this time.

TheRam

Just to introduce a few hard facts to the debate, these are our defensive rankings (out of 16 teams) since BA's first full season in charge:

13th, 12th, 2nd, 7th, 13th, 7th, 3rd, 4th, 6th, 11th.

Not world beating, but not exactly 'horrid for most of it'. Just bone average across the period. A lack of difference in attack has been a more persistent problem IMHO.

How many team in the last 20-30 years who were outside the top 3 defensive teams have won the premiership in that year?

Joshuatheeel

He won't come here.

Paps love the melbourne lifestyle and what it brings.

He will repay them for sticking by him through all his injuries its the type of the bloke he is.

Unfortunately none of those of players are anywhere near Parramatta.
Unless they sign Stefo and need to free up some cap and decide having 2 nrl quality fullbacks isnt a great way to spend their cap and they tell Pap he won't be getting another deal.....and he can leave early if he wants....

He won't come here.

Paps love the melbourne lifestyle and what it brings.

He will repay them for sticking by him through all his injuries its the type of the bloke he is.

Unfortunately none of those of players are anywhere near Parramatta.
How are you so adamant ? Do you know him ?

[If you do, tell him to get a f**king haircut.]

eels_fan

True, the money would be hard to knock back....if it was a "normal" scenario with Clearly being fit I dare say MM may not have featured at all, so would he be thinking he would only get an Origin gig if Cleary is out at the time OR will Madge try and play them both moving forward based on how MM went this series??
Had Cleary been fit, Moses would have played at 6 with him in every game - and i am certain that will be the plan next year if they are both fit

MikeE7

Had Cleary been fit, Moses would have played at 6 with him in every game - and i am certain that will be the plan next year if they are both fit

I think after this year yes this may be the way Madge goes moving forward, but had Cleary been fit it would have most likely been Cleary and Luai for atleast game 1, if memory serves MM may have only just returned from injury and was next to no chance of being picked for G1.....hard to say how things pan out from there given the send off and how the game was managed from there etc

TheRam

Hopefully Ryles can do what Ciraldo has done spend year 1 weeding out the deadwood.

May be in for some more pain next year like Ciraldo had to go through last year.

But come out the other side in 2026 while Moses & Drown are at there peaks with a competitive squad around them.

A lot of Teams would crave to have the halves we have got we just need to have better or more motivated pieces around them and some luck.

We don't have Gus at Parra mate who has done all the heavy lifting in assembling that squad. Remember we have The Glacier. We won't be signing the likes of Kikau, Mahoney, Crichton, Xerri, Addo-Car, Burton or even the widely anticipated from next year Utoikamanu any time soon mate.

I feel Lomax is going to be the last great signing and a fluke signing at that for a while. The bleeding on the field needs to stop first before players start to see us as a quality and viable option for them to advance their careers. Which will be very hard for a rookie coach without any runs on the board to do without a Gus like figure in his pocket to reach for and do the necessary hard yakka selling of a sh*t club to star players and in particular to their managers.

Never underestimate the power of a Glacier to sink even the most mightiest of ships.

King-Gutho94

We don't have Gus at Parra mate who has done all the heavy lifting in assembling that squad. Remember we have The Glacier. We won't be signing the likes of Kikau, Mahoney, Crichton, Xerri, Addo-Car, Burton or even the widely anticipated from next year Utoikamanu any time soon mate.

I feel Lomax is going to be the last great signing and a fluke signing at that for a while. The bleeding on the field needs to stop first before players start to see us as a quality and viable option for them to advance their careers. Which will be very hard for a rookie coach without any runs on the board to do without a Gus like figure in his pocket to reach for and do the necessary hard yakka selling of a sh*t club to star players and in particular to their managers.

Never underestimate the power of a Glacier to sink even the most mightiest of ships.
My tip is the Glacier will be gone in 2025.

It will only take 1 or 2 disagreements for Ryles to go to the board and say this relationship isn't working.

And we will get a new HOF.

The board will be balls deep into Ryles moving forward because the decision to appoint him will define there tenures and the next 10 years.

MON will be expendable