Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Not when it comes to bang for buck. You know why he took his option? Because it was for $750k a year. There is no club on the globe that would pay him that, which is another reason why we didn’t extend him.
Probably overs, but reasonable for the potential he showed when he signed his extension. Penisini is powerful, and suits the modern game where outside backs make most of the yardage. We missed his go forward against Penrith.

Which is partly what I said about Hoppy. He is transitioning from a crash ball / off load middle into a ball playing lock.

Russell is fine and an important squad member. If he is in your first 17 however, then we have a problem.
Russell is up there with Momirovski, who was good enough to win a premiership. It’s a team game.

Which is partly what I said about Hoppy. He is transitioning from a crash ball / off load middle into a ball playing lock.

Russell is fine and an important squad member. If he is in your first 17 however, then we have a problem.

I don't know if I can agree with that sentiment.

While Russell is "nothing special", he is safe, defends well, and reliable.

His price tag allows us to spend more elsewhere.

He does not let us down, ever, I don't think.

King-Gutho94

I have a good feeling Pau Pau is AI, please tick this box [ ] so signify you are human.
Nice to see you again chiefy.

Btw how good is Madge going at the Broncos atm.

I recall you last year telling me numerous times how Madge was the man for the Parra job last year and everyone was crazy for not wanting him to not get the gig.

We dodged a bullet not landing that lunatic.

I don't know if I can agree with that sentiment.

While Russell is "nothing special", he is safe, defends well, and reliable.

His price tag allows us to spend more elsewhere.

He does not let us down, ever, I don't think.
I would prefer to have a fast gun kid that we can milk for 50 games until we can't afford him, as opposed to Russell who is OK at most things.

When fast gun kid goes to a shit team for too much money, we bring in the next fast young kid who has already had a taste of NRL, a few pre-seasons and is hungry.

Stevie

I would prefer to have a fast gun kid that we can milk for 50 games until we can't afford him, as opposed to Russell who is OK at most things.

When fast gun kid goes to a shit team for too much money, we bring in the next fast young kid who has already had a taste of NRL, a few pre-seasons and is hungry.
You want a fast young kid you can milk for 50 games?

Heavy.

King-Gutho94

Would you say we dodged a bullet for Bennett as well?

I reckon he would’ve kept Gutho and RCG. Could probably be sitting in the top 6 but after he leaves we’d be shit again
Bennett has moved on plenty of big name players before like Wally Lewis, Greg Inglis.

I dont think Gutho or RCG would have been a problem if he went that way.

I think though we have probably ended up with the right coach for where we are at and need to go.

Ryles has a long term plan and hasn't deviated from it.

For the first time in a long time we are seeing improvement on the field especially in defence.

Plus a squad buying into what the coach wants. Just need to back it up with some wins

Timana

Geez I enjoy Bloke in a bar podcast. Such a good footy chat.

The weekend review episode had them going on ad nauseam about the playing turnaround from the Eels. Thry talk a lot about players that aren’t big names and constantly show they really watch every second of every team.

They talked about Kautoga and all believe there is a seriously good player there. They were talking lots about his confidence and his aggression. They rate him as one they are loving develop.

They spoke heaps around any footy judge can see they are actually night and day different and whilst they have a long way to go that Ryles is obviously quality.

They also backed the fact we’ve stuck to our guns re juniors and clearing out players who are not part of the plan and whilst it hurts now it will pay off in spades.

He also said he reckons despite the cash, he reckons Brown would be kicking himself as under Ryles, he thinks the combo of Brown and Moses could be mesmerising.

Also talked around the form of Williams and how his handling and ball play is amazing considering the work our staff have clearly done with him.

Was good to hear.
Yeah, I like them too when I have time but what I don't like is that they don't have chapters so you can fast forward to the Parra bits. Sometimes, their podcasts can go on for 2 hrs.

I also like the League of Inches gang, Pearce and Carney (Sixes and Sevens) and I think Matty johns comments are good.

I listen the TCT but don't like them very much and I dont really agree with how they see things but at least it is about Parra.

The worse is the Parra Cave podcast. That does nothing for me.