Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Well , you may have a point, but clubs like the Roosters, Dogs and others act ahead of the curve and have made signings. We appear to be stuffed by Dylbro’s option and having almost a full roster for 2026 , see how it goes from here. Big clubs do big things, would be nice if our big club joined that lot.
The full roster means we were ‘ahead of the curve’ whatever the f**k that means. The fact the full roster isn’t good enough for your standards is because we’ve prioritised youth, with the expectation that the same roster will improve in the coming years. When we built the 2022 roster we were focused on short term success, with the expectation that the same roster would decline. You whinged about that and now you’re complaining we’ve gone the other direction. I feel like you just want something to pin on your chosen scapegoats.

Legal Eel

Some merkins seem to think we should have a bunch of top 30 spots free to sign a handful of stars that are somehow still available three months out from the start of preseason. f**king delusional.
You are the delusional peddler of bullshit in these parts.

there have been many options available, currently available or can be made available with some basic manoeuvring - we just haven’t done it (hopefully just a matter of yet)

however, you have a need to feel “better” and “smarter” than other people and assuage whatever emotional or intellectual inferiority exists in your day to day life - so you peddle bullshit and lies as facts to make yourself feel better.

you have been doing around here for about two decades - you obviously need new therapy because it hasn’t helped you

Timana

I think our current team is how 1 commentator described the dogs.

Everyone needs to be playing at their best level each game for us to compete as there is no one who can just change the game around (sorry not even moses). There is no Cleary, Turbo, Latrell, Munster, et al.

So if there are a few who do not perform in a particular game, we can't make up for it.

We are carrying a 1, 2x9's and no 6 who are inexperienced and cheapies.

I would go.

6. Codey Walker (imagine how many tries the fox will score)
7. Moses

an alpha prop - bring JWH back for a season?
a strike centre - don't mind Alamonti or Alervillo

The full roster means we were ‘ahead of the curve’ whatever the f**k that means. The fact the full roster isn’t good enough for your standards is because we’ve prioritised youth, with the expectation that the same roster will improve in the coming years. When we built the 2022 roster we were focused on short term success, with the expectation that the same roster would decline. You whinged about that and now you’re complaining we’ve gone the other direction. I feel like you just want something to pin on your chosen scapegoats.

You don't understand footy. As gullible as your mates who think Guymer is an Nrl player.

imagine having 3 POs worth 2 million dollars hanging around your neck would affect recruitment for the following season.....

its almost as if people on this forum had been predicting the outcome long before nov 1 2024
We offered Galvin and TDS big contracts after Drown declined his option. Plus we reportedly knocked back Sandon Smith and Adam Doueihi. Don't use the PO as an excuse. Players just want overs to come here, and we refuse to be held to ransom. You can decide whether you think overpaying players is worse than missing out. The club has made its own decision. We are prioritising youth development, and this is what it looks like.

That sounds like a 5yr plan. Should of let Moses go and kept Sanders then. Moses hasn't got much more left. 2028 at best. 3yrs.
Could take 20yrs to find a decent halfback...

So I guess 2030 is where its at

Yep we still need open heart surgery.

A lot of issues but not a lot of solutions atm.

I will say I do prefer the rationale of not panic buying for the sake of it.

I feel like Ryles would rather play average players who are young and still might have upside in them compared to average players who are journeyman like the Morgan Harper, Andrew Davey, Joey Lussick that the previous coach signed.
Yep, you take the good with the bad. If you want young players who are backup quality you have to pay extra for them (due to demand) compared to backups who are in their mid-20s. Harper would cost less than Richard Penisini, yet is playing as well as him in reserve grade.

That sounds like a 5yr plan. Should of let Moses go and kept Sanders then. Moses hasn't got much more left. 2028 at best. 3yrs.
Could take 20yrs to find a decent halfback...

So I guess 2030 is where its at
We need Moses to help develop our youngsters. If we want Sanders, we'll just have to pay him to come back, same as we would have had to do to keep him.

Nelson Asofa Solomona
David Fifita
Jake Averillo
Paul Alamoti
Now I know some will cry and say no Fifita but in the right environment and playing to his best hes a beast.
Those four signings would dramatically change this side.
The upside with Averillo is can play 1, 3/4, 6 and wing if need be and he is express pace.
Alamoti is a very good player who can play wing or centre and a pretty handy goal kicker...
We need some quality signings.
I will say this though I think Kautoga is the goods.
More impressive than any of the other young newbies. He will be a good player.
Jack Williams our best player this yr by far.
JDB is an interesting signing but I wouldn't have gone for him only because of his age and I reckon will regress further

I've been a big fan of Jake Averillo for years.

I'd be stoked if we nabbed him.

I think our current team is how 1 commentator described the dogs.

Everyone needs to be playing at their best level each game for us to compete as there is no one who can just change the game around (sorry not even moses). There is no Cleary, Turbo, Latrell, Munster, et al.

So if there are a few who do not perform in a particular game, we can't make up for it.

We are carrying a 1, 2x9's and no 6 who are inexperienced and cheapies.

I would go.

6. Codey Walker (imagine how many tries the fox will score)
7. Moses

an alpha prop - bring JWH back for a season?
a strike centre - don't mind Alamonti or Alervillo

Unpopular opinion - I think the modern game has passed JWH by.

I've always been a big fan, but he's not the prototypical modern NRL middle forward any more, imo.

Nelson Asofa Solomona
David Fifita
Jake Averillo
Paul Alamoti
Now I know some will cry and say no Fifita but in the right environment and playing to his best hes a beast.
Those four signings would dramatically change this side.
The upside with Averillo is can play 1, 3/4, 6 and wing if need be and he is express pace.
Alamoti is a very good player who can play wing or centre and a pretty handy goal kicker...
We need some quality signings.
I will say this though I think Kautoga is the goods.
More impressive than any of the other young newbies. He will be a good player.
Jack Williams our best player this yr by far.
JDB is an interesting signing but I wouldn't have gone for him only because of his age and I reckon will regress further

Also, I'm glad to see someone else show Gideon some love.

With a full off-season under his belt, he will improve dramatically.

He may not be explosive, but he's strong as a bull, breaks tackles easily, and has a nice offload - definitely a player worth sticking with.

Pazza

Still had 2 million locked up in POs on nov 1 2024.

It's like going into the market with one hand tied behind your back.

Why doesn't the club offer POs anymore???? Maybe you can enlighten us, considering you know everything....

imagine having 3 POs worth 2 million dollars hanging around your neck would affect recruitment for the following season.....

its almost as if people on this forum had been predicting the outcome long before nov 1 2024
It’s what the smart clubs do mate.