Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

The other thing that tells us how good JL goes, is all of the other talent the smugsters released before he was flicked.

He hung in there for an eternity by their lofty standards. Especially given that he isn’t one of the Fab Four.

Imagine being able to label Jerome as “excess to requirements” lol.

Smug bastards!

Tigers1986

Bateman must play Magpies if he won't move on. He's a cancer who had a massive sook when called out on shite form and rightly so. Rather than put in to help off the canvas, he ran off to England and trash talked the club any chance he could get.

Nutz

Bateman must play Magpies if he won't move on. He's a cancer who had a massive sook when called out on shite form and rightly so. Rather than put in to help off the canvas, he ran off to England and trash talked the club any chance he could get.
Pretty much.

View attachment 96908

Ackland Joins Wests Tigers

Never heard of him :)
He can go back to law later on pretty easy.

A lot of young blokes, need to get the league out of their system.

As @Gareth67 and the SGI boys were discussing, that brilliant high IQ kid Tristan Sailor, he’s got the disease.

Good stuff.

it’s very hard to play at NRL level, I’ve always said the players (most of them) are the pride of our game. Just to run on, the odds are so slim. Harder than winning the lottery!

Nutz

The fact that Horsey and Hetherington both had agreed to WT's terms but were denied a release by their clubs is another clear indication that good players have seen us as a club moving fwd.
I doubt Hunt and May and the other good signings would have come in previous years when the club was ridiculed daily by the media.
Managers get the good oil because they want the best for their client and themselves. Their reputation would be shot if every one of their clients went to clubs that turned out to be a rock show.
I think a change is happening boys and girls.

The fact that Horsey and Hetherington both had agreed to WT's terms but were denied a release by their clubs is another clear indication that good players have seen us as a club moving fwd.
I doubt Hunt and May and the other good signings would have come in previous years when the club was ridiculed daily by the media.
Managers get the good oil because they want the best for their client and themselves. Their reputation would be shot if every one of their clients went to clubs that turned out to be a rock show.
I think a change is happening boys and girls.

Been down this road too many times.

We could have the kangaroo roster and still miss the 8.

I’ll believe it when I see it.

That’s an official members view my son.

Well ex rooster mate and I were chatting today.

He thinks we almost have a top 8 roster on paper at least.

He said Galvin is in for a massive year ahead having gone through a “baptism of fire” last year but his view is that his game will go totally ballistic with JL.

Then we had that most sacred and solemn of discussions about where to play our halves. We could both feel the tension.

He made me go first.

Well ex rooster mate and I were chatting today.

He thinks we almost have a top 8 roster on paper at least.

He said Galvin is in for a massive year ahead having gone through a “baptism of fire” last year but his view is that his game will go totally ballistic with JL.

Then we had that most sacred and solemn of discussions about where to play our halves. We could both feel the tension.

He made me go first.
"where to play our halves"?
Hopefully on the field during the game hahaha
But I think Luai will make that call, I believe he has always thought himself a 7, so he will certainly get first crack, if that's the case.
While Galvin is certainly on the up, he won't override Luai's calls and live to tell the tale.
Hopefully, it will be an exciting time, to see them both in action, doing it for us.
Finally, a good forward pack (with some depth), SOO level halves, and a not too shabby backline, with a bit of pace.
No excuses.

Shredder

Im getting excited for next year. we have signed a lot of good names.

Its going to come down to defense though and that's where we have sucked since the merger.

Even in 05 we just outscored the opposition.

Would LOVE to have a decent defensive coach. Buying these guys from good systems then putting them in ours could still end very badly. THAT would actually be the signing of the year.

Tiger Ted

Im getting excited for next year. we have signed a lot of good names.

Its going to come down to defense though and that's where we have sucked since the merger.

Even in 05 we just outscored the opposition.

Would LOVE to have a decent defensive coach. Buying these guys from good systems then putting them in ours could still end very badly. THAT would actually be the signing of the year.
I can’t get excited until this spineless rabble come to the realisation that Defense is a significant aspect of the game.We desperately need an exceptional defensive coach & need to spend the entire off season focusing on defense.If things remain the same & we continue to play touch footy when we r without the ball then a 4peat will b a certainty.

glockers

Good to see Sione Fainu has signed on a train and trial, technically a demotion but can still be used in top grade and I assume if Bateman goes we upgrade Sione into the main squad.