Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Now that Sullivan and Bateman are gone we have more off season excitement to look forward to. Two more positions available and hopefully a reasonable amount of coin.

Looking forward to more positive Wests Tigers news over the coming weeks.

Can hardly believe how quickly this club is turning things around.
When did Sullivan leave?
I know he is having Medical’s, but I wasn’t aware he had been signed?

Fordy20

I won't believe it until the club makes an announcement, but Uncle Wayne is doing us quite a favour taking Sullivan for a year to free up a roster spot for us.

A lot of people are putting this work down to Richo, but I reckon Benji's relationships and status within the game are factor as well.

Good stuff, I called it hee hee, but it's a no brainer when you come to think of it.

I thought he was there for 2 years? I don’t think they’ll keep him longer, unless Wayne can produce another miracle.
Good news re: Si Fainu.
I believe we might be able to sign one more with Bateman gone.
Forward or a Back?

Nutz

I thought he was there for 2 years? I don’t think they’ll keep him longer, unless Wayne can produce another miracle.
Forward or a Back?

Without thinking too hard I'll just say that any player that is an upgrade will do ;)

Forward or a Back?
A forward for me.
I think we have enough coverage in the backs.

WA Tiger

Good stuff, I called it hee hee, but it's a no brainer when you come to think of it.
I remember you predicting Bud would go back to the dragons several times, until it was in the news cycle Bennett was looking at him .. so yea not Nostradamus prediction category impressive

WA Tiger

I won't believe it until the club makes an announcement, but Uncle Wayne is doing us quite a favour taking Sullivan for a year to free up a roster spot for us.

A lot of people are putting this work down to Richo, but I reckon Benji's relationships and status within the game are factor as well.
Not sure which is better losing Sullivan or gaining Luai.. it’s neck ‘n neck

Fordy20

It's official. Both Bud and Bateman gone for next year, clearing the decks for Sione Fainu to be re-signed.

If your kids ever ask you what Santa Claus does for the other 364 days of the year, be honest with them. Tell them he runs Wests Tigers. Thanks Richo!

BrotherJim05

What an amazing feeling supporting a club with proper management. Sione upgraded to top squad is great, but I still feel we are a back rower short for next year.

God forbid S. Fainu gets injured we are looking very thin in 2nd row

What an amazing feeling supporting a club with proper management. Sione upgraded to top squad is great, but I still feel we are a back rower short for next year.

God forbid S. Fainu gets injured we are looking very thin in 2nd row

Edge backrow is our weakest area. I assume Samuela Fainu and Seyfarth starting and probably playing 80 minues. Bird might do the job as well or sub in there but it sounds like they are going to play him in the middle.

Then:-
Tony Sukkar
Adam Doueihi
Brandon Tumeth

It's our weakest position for sure.

On the positive Samuela Fainu is a gun. Seyfarth is a real goer and he might do the job there. Sukkar looked decent last year as well. Doueihi if he wants to actually play footy could be a good player. I can't see Doueihi doing this though but if he actually put in he could slot right into the right edge backrow spot.

Tiger Ted

Sukkar isn’t close to been ready & he needs to bulk up.Nice kid who is close mates with my cousins son & issues I’d luv to see him eventually break into our NRL side.AD isn’t even competent as an outside back let alone trusting the impostor to perform in the back row.

Ron's_Mate

Meanwhile, Payten said new recruit John Bateman could play in the back row or middle, and his experience would be even more crucial with Luki sidelined.

Bateman still had two years to run on his deal at the Wests Tigers, with the Sydney club to still bankroll a healthy portion of his Townsville move.

“What he does is bring competition for spots,” Payten said.

“And I just love the way he plays his footy. He’s abrasive, competitive, and through my conversations with him, the over-riding feeling I’ve got is that he wants to win – and he’ll almost do anything to get win. He’ll be a good fit for our group.”

Meanwhile, Payten said new recruit John Bateman could play in the back row or middle, and his experience would be even more crucial with Luki sidelined.

Bateman still had two years to run on his deal at the Wests Tigers, with the Sydney club to still bankroll a healthy portion of his Townsville move.

“What he does is bring competition for spots,” Payten said.

“And I just love the way he plays his footy. He’s abrasive, competitive, and through my conversations with him, the over-riding feeling I’ve got is that he wants to win – and he’ll almost do anything to get win. He’ll be a good fit for our group.”

Until the sin bins and suspensions.

Nutz

Until the sin bins and suspensions.

Those sin bins were a case of him being frustrated which is a sign that he's getting on in his career and he's had to try too hard hard to overcome his deficiencies....resulting in poor decisions, slow play the balls and indiscretions.