Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Nutz

Looks like Sio Siua Taukeiaho could be off to the Dogs. Having overcome a leg injury and is now in his 30s, wouldn't you pay more for Pain inda Hass or Hatrick Carrigan who are in the best form of their careers and younger.

4yr+ contracts, are they worse or better than paying overs for 2yrs because that's what I'm seeing happening now, however overs plus 4yrs would be suicide. I hope we never get into cap trouble again.
Would Sheens do that to Benji?
Not sure if Fulton or Pascoe would let it happen?

Will he comeback? A medical retirement could be on the cards.

Gotta love AD and his $900k adventure. I could hear @macnaz falling off his chair when he read that and I don’t even know where he lives.

Lee can babble on but I think If Fullers is asked to get a player he doesn’t agree with, he might just roll the old arm over. Didn’t get the text etc.

Recruiters have to be very sly and dodgy. Honest crooks.

Poor sezer arrives as a Matey mate selection. I wish him well, but the jury is out. I’m not counting the seconds…

Good posting today Mr @Nutz. Thank you.

Nutz

Well boys and girlz, I'm off like a rotten egg. Had curried snags with mash and beans for dinner tonight..phew, lets get ready to rummmmble.
Catcha all on the other side of Wensdy.

Fordy20

4yr+ contracts, are they worse or better than paying overs for 2yrs because that's what I'm seeing happening now, however overs plus 4yrs would be suicide. I hope we never get into cap trouble again.
Would Sheens do that to Benji?
Our cap has been looking pretty good ever since Ivan's dodgy contracts expired. What also helped is the cap has literally doubled since Ivan initially signed those contracts. The cap went from $6.1M to $11.45M for this year. $5.025M is committed to 8 players next season, leaving $6.425M between 22 players. That works out to be an average of $292k per player, well over the minimum wage of $120k.

Normally, I'm not a huge fan of four year contracts, particularly signing Bateman to one where he'll be 32 at the start at his final year. However, I reckon it'd be good to have the Fainus locked in at that price. Maybe Sullivan too.

Our cap has been looking pretty good ever since Ivan's dodgy contracts expired. What also helped is the cap has literally doubled since Ivan initially signed those contracts. The cap went from $6.1M to $11.45M for this year. $5.025M is committed to 8 players next season, leaving $6.425M between 22 players. That works out to be an average of $292k per player, well over the minimum wage of $120k.

Normally, I'm not a huge fan of four year contracts, particularly signing Bateman to one where he'll be 32 at the start at his final year. However, I reckon it'd be good to have the Fainus locked in at that price. Maybe Sullivan too.
Yep and besides the length of contracts don’t mean that much anyway.

Perth Tiger

Imagine if fans were like players and just swap teams because they want to win a premiership. Its piss weak and you would deservingly get ridiculed for doing it. Players for the most part couldn't care less about the game itself these days,its just all about fame and self indulgence .
That is all just code anyway when they are too gutless to say I will go to the highest bidder. If they really wanted to win premierships he would stay for unders so they could afford other good players around him

Parker is certain some big decisions will be made to spark a change of fortunes in Bondi, and he is also certain the Tricolours can turn it around.

“I reckon it will, the Roosters aren’t a club who accept losing for one, they aren’t scared to make a change,” Parker said.

“I think without doubt there will be some change over the summer.

“Absolutely (Politis will be working). The good clubs don’t accept it and that’s what makes you so powerful.

We need this philosophy.

Imagine if fans were like players and just swap teams because they want to win a premiership. Its piss weak and you would deservingly get ridiculed for doing it. Players for the most part couldn't care less about the game itself these days,its just all about fame and self indulgence .

We all get the endless ridicule supporting WT!

I stupidly chose this club, volunteered, freely walked off the cliff flapping my arms. Been in free fall since.

Im the most treacherous, two faced person in the world but I can’t leave WT

I’ve tried so hard too.

I’ve done all the dumb things…

This song is so f**king good. It should be our club anthem

We all get the endless ridicule supporting WT!

I stupidly chose this club, volunteered, freely walked off the cliff flapping my arms. Been in free fall since.

Im the most treacherous, two faced person in the world but I can’t leave WT

I’ve tried so hard too.

I’ve done all the dumb things…

Do you have a WT tattoo?

Nutz

In the end it's just a game. There's more to life than footy. Footy is just a great gap filler.
Seeing the awesome sights or doing things around this great country will push the disappointments in life aside.
I'm so rapt about my improving health. Illnesses once kept me house bound.
I'm not watching any games live anymore. If we win I'll watch it straight away and it will add to my positive state of mind.
I wonder if I'll get to watch any more games this year? :rolleyes:

Nutz

Parker is certain some big decisions will be made to spark a change of fortunes in Bondi, and he is also certain the Tricolours can turn it around.

“I reckon it will, the Roosters aren’t a club who accept losing for one, they aren’t scared to make a change,” Parker said.

“I think without doubt there will be some change over the summer.

“Absolutely (Politis will be working). The good clubs don’t accept it and that’s what makes you so powerful.

We need this philosophy.
There have been suggestions some high profile players at the Roosters might be giving permission to talk to other clubs.
I'd take Victor The Inflictor Radley or Collins from their forwards and Manu from their backs.
I doubt they would release those three but they may release Radley because he's been a liability.

There have been suggestions some high profile players at the Roosters might be giving permission to talk to other clubs.
I'd take Victor The Inflictor Radley or Collins from their forwards and Manu from their backs.
I doubt they would release those three but they may release Radley because he's been a liability.
Agree re: Radley, he’s too volatile for us, imo, we do it hard enough, with 13 on the field.
For me, I’m OK with the forwards, but short of a winner in the halves and backs?

In the end it's just a game. There's more to life than footy. Footy is just a greaty gap filler.
Seeing the awesome sights or doing things around this great country will push the disappointments in life aside.
I'm so rapt about my improving health. Illnesses once kept me house bound.
I'm not watching any games live anymore. If we win I'll watch it straight away and it will add to my positive state of mind.
I wonder if I'll get to watch any more games this year? :rolleyes:

Your health is your wealth my learned son
footy be a filler
Unless of course it’s tigers
Winning in a thriller.

From Balmain wharf
To Campbelltown
And Camden Valley Way
Tigers fans we are suckers
But There ain’t no other way

Nutz

Your health is your wealth my learned son
footy be a filler
Unless of course it’s tigers
Winning in a thriller.

From Balmain wharf
To Campbelltown
And Camden Valley Way
Tigers fans we are suckers
But There ain’t no other way
Did you just write that from the top of your head mate?