I reckon keep him even at that price.
@WA Tiger mentioned emotion. It has to be an unemotional decision.
In this comp with so many options for the players I think 900k which is 100k over 800k isn't a bad deal. I'm not stating it's good but we need someone better or a better squad.
I reckon Turuva is great and he could step into the role and play Makasini and May in the centres but will we keep both of them ?
Another option is recruiting but who ? I just read Manly are struggling signing Koula. He would be a decent and potentially better than Bula option but I wouldn't pay him the same money that Bula is supposedly getting and I bet we couldn't get him for anything less than that.
I like comments of taking the emotions out of negotiations.
Do we know what Turuva's contract is? If Bula is commanding 100-200k more than him then that sought of puts it into perspective. I'd be putting the player who is 200k cheaper at fullback.
Koula is ahead of Bula at the moment. If you were to have him go head to head with Bula in every skillset that you can think of, Koula win imo.
Bula has heaps of potential but has flaws. The reason that his cover defense dropped off was because of his shoulder, I really believe this because he would turn his shoulder inwards prior contact. I detected something was amiss before it was announced that he was going to get it repaired, labral tear I think it was
Now that this is not an issue, he doesn't turn in so this is one area he'll definitely improve on.
Being there to bundle a winger into touch in covering D is a huge role the fullback and wingers have. He has to be there.
The other area Bula is inconsistent with is catching the high ball.
This could be a team coaching thing too, I'm unsure. However, generally he is slowly but surely taking indecision out of his game. Only experience will iron out this out completely.
I think Bula will improve but he needs a 1 more season to command big dollars.
I'm getting annoyed paying overs for potential.
I'm glad Shane didn't get Stefano because we ended up with May. Having both would be awesome.
F/B is part of the spine.
If Bula continues to improve he could command well over the current figures being thown around.
Several footy forums are emotional metres ha ha