Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ryan Girdler

roofromoz

Yeah, he re-signed with us last year... I think he's with the Panthers for another year, and then he's going to weigh up his options. 2004 may be his last year. Will have to wait and see.

Fibroman

Girds has been making good dollars for a few seasons now.

He has invested pretty wisely in the Sydney real estate market.

He has a reasonable chance of a career in the media.

Personally I think he will give footy away totally at the end of next season.

I can't see him going to England unless he has a major punting problem that nobody knows about.

Tupac Shakur

Yeah it looks like he will retire at the end of the 2004 season. It's great to see him back in the Australian team and starting centre for the game against Wales, good on ya girds.

i would love to see girds stay fit and keep on playing for a couple more seasons. But when he does decide to hang up his boots i hope he finishes his career with the panthers

Fibroman

It's quite ironic that Girds has played so long at Penrith and will probably finish his career here, because he doesn't particularly like the place. He wants to live on the northern beaches with Freddie.

mightypanther

Yeah, but you can't blame Girds for that.
He did grow up as a surfie kid next to the beach after all.

I'm not much of a beach goer myself, but it's not surprising
that he would want to be as close to it as possible in his free time.

And even though I'm not much of a swimmer, I reckon if I was as
rich as Girds I would probably like to live near the ocean too.

I could NEVER give up on my love of the Penrith Panthers though.
It would just be a very long drive to the home games. :lol:

mightypanther

BTW, it looks like the poor bugger has missed out completely on a
chance to play in the Ashes after limping off the field again today.

What makes it even worse for him, is that he was playing pretty damn
good before injury struck again.

Oh well, better he just enjoys the rest of his holiday, and then
concentrates on getting back to fighting fit for Penrith for the start of
season 2004.

And I have been impressed so far with Gower's performances too,
especially considering the small amount of possession of the ball that
Kimmorley gives him.

I thought it was quite funny this morning too when the English commentators
couldn't stop staying what a great and spirited performance the Welsh boys put in.
Does anyone else besides me think it's a pretty sad reflection on the poor
quality of their players over there when they consider a 76 -4 thrashing
as a great performance? :roll: :lol:

roofromoz

Maybe they should have given the Welsh union team a run... that was a very spirited performance they put in against the All Blacks last night. I'm not a big rah-rah fan, but it is one of the best games I've seen.

But back to the Roo tour, Gower should get a run in the first test, probably at 5/8th. No matter what happens, Kimmorley will get a start at half, because of the current situation. I wouldn't be a surprise if Lewis gets a start, and Clinton is on the bench. Girds may have made his long awaited return in the test arena too if it wasn't for his injury... hopefully it's not too serious.

:(

Poor girds. He was playing so well and i reckon he definately would have been in the test team.
Does anybody know how serious his injury is? hopefully it will be ok so he can play for Australia again cos he deserves to.

*Sandy*

God damn, he said at the beginning when he got selected that he didnt think he could go because he was injured and now he's re-injured it. Poor Girds! Last time he played Wales in 2000 he only lasted the 1st half because that was when he did his shoulder, poor bugger! :shock: This better not be groundshog day!!! :shock: :shock:

BTW Mr Fibro i thought Girds already lived on the Northern Beaches and not with his mate Freddy as i thought Freddy had moved to the inner city to make training easier to get to. ;-)

Fibroman

I don't know exactly what his injury is other than a calf injury. I have had a lot of injuries myself over the years, and know a bit about them. The best think for Girds is that it is more likely to be a muscle strain/tear rather than a ligament. That is a big plus. Muscle injuries respond better to physio, and hopefully if the tear/strain isn't as bad as the one in the GF, he should be back in a few weeks. He just needs to give the injury plenty of attention and try and give the alcohol and wild women a bit of a wide birth for a couple of weeks. Oh well....at least take it easy on the alcohol, and try and find an attractive female physiotherapist. :D

*Sandy*

I'm available!!! :lol:

He won't check out the papers to closely, will he?

Although he might when i am not rubbing his calf!!! :D