Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack Griffin

BLM01

Put yourself in Hook's shoes right now. Surely, he's 'noticed the negative press, the player comments etc.
Now the interesting thing is, if you know your coaching career is on the line, do you:

1: Do you do the same, same and hope by some miracle the old guard comes through and you string some wins together against the top echelon of current teams? or;
2: Do you bite the bullet and trust in the process of best player for the position, and if there's any loss of form or intensity have the balls to drop them to Koe Cup and promote someone who may just be better at that time, and at the same time letting go your own personal bias?

Obviously, Macca and Mbye are the 2 that would be most scrutinized as far as form is concerned, and of course the 2 youngsters in Bud and Fox as far as getting a start or even a fair go.

If Hook has learnt anything from his past "mistakes" then he would know the correct option to take. However, Hook has proven himself to be stubborn in his way, which ultimately will lead to his demise.
Option 3. Resign. His position is untenable if we are to believe media rumours and stories trotted out over the past few weeks.

Billeus

I heard that the board went behind Gould's back as Gould did not want him to return. Ivan returned and Gould got the boot or left which sort of makes perfect sense. If Gould wanted Ivan back then he would have stayed also if Gould was responsible for bringing Ivan back why did the Penrith board give him the boot? Was it like breaking up with a girlfriend "Sorry Gus, it's not you it's us, your too good for us". Yeah right.

The guy has lost has sparkle as we can all see. At the Dogs he is going around poaching all juniors or players from Penrith / Parra. Trying to get youngsters to break contracts. Whilst ignoring the fact the Dogs reserve team made the KOE Final so basically telling them they are not good enough. How is that building a good junior base. The dogs team in 2-3 years will be made up of all players from other clubs. Bought not Bred.

Correct. It was rumoured that they did not mend a fractured relationship from 3 years prior. Cleary agreed to come on the proviso Gus butted out of coaching and running the football side of things... (see articles below) so Gus eventually honourably resigned within 6 months after Clearly started work cause he had nothing to do
Seems incorrect to me about Gould's involvement, as it contradicts his attempts to contact Wests Tigers chairwoman Marina Go to discuss the Ivan Cleary situation in Penrith's attempts to poach him.

" Panthers executive general manager Phil Gould said on Wednesday he was trying to contact Go to discuss the Cleary situation. Go said she had not had a chance to respond as she had been busy attending to another board meeting separate to her Wests Tigers duties."

Slippery Morris

Exactly, Penrith board went behind Gould's back to get Cleary which is why Gould probably had to meet with them. Probably to clear his name with the Tigers. Why else would Gould have left or been sacked? If he really wanted Cleary at the Panthers he would have stayed and seen out his "supposed" 5 year plan. Wouldn't you? Would you make a plan and leave before it's over to see if it is a success. He left because he must of thought it would fail getting Cleary back and it backfired as they ended up improving. It is the only thing that makes sense. Does anyone have any feedback of Gould's reasoning for leaving Penrith? He went to Warriors and Dogs soon after so he was not retiring?

BLM01

Seems incorrect to me about Gould's involvement, as it contradicts his attempts to contact Wests Tigers chairwoman Marina Go to discuss the Ivan Cleary situation in Penrith's attempts to poach him.

" Panthers executive general manager Phil Gould said on Wednesday he was trying to contact Go to discuss the Cleary situation. Go said she had not had a chance to respond as she had been busy attending to another board meeting separate to her Wests Tigers duties."

Read the article again. It was not Gould trying to poach him.
Gould's contact may have been of a PR exercise or to say he was not aware?. Who knows. No one really except the ones involved.
But what was widely reported that the 2 did not get on once Gus sacked him the 1st time only 3 years prior.

Billeus

Read the article again. It was not Gould trying to poach him.
Gould's contact may have been of a PR exercise or to say he was not aware?. Who knows. No one really except the ones involved.
But what was widely reported that the 2 did not get on once Gus sacked him the 1st time only 3 years prior.
The more research I'm doing on this, which is not a good investment of time lol, the more I'm realising that Anthony Griffin's claims about being sacked because Panthers were worried he might win the premiership are likely true and Phil Gould and his media buddy's are full of crap. This has everything to do with them poaching Ivan Cleary in order to hold onto Nathan.

Hook was told he was being sacked because they were talking to Ivan Cleary and his services were no longer required, four weeks out from finals sitting fifth on the ladder only four points off top spot. How you going to move him on if he wins the premiership.

Wayne Bennett broke his silence to the
Courier Mail about having spoken to anyone including Phil Gould about going to Penrith to coach, describing the rumours as absolute garbage.

If you consider the unethical behaviour that took place towards Anthony Griffin and Wests Tigers, is it any wonder that Phil Gould would do everything possible to distance himself from such things when it suits, he'd prefer you to believe he's an ethical kind of guy. Believe what you want but I'm sold and think St George made a wise decision getting Griffin to coach and develop our youngsters. I'm very happy with what I'm seeing from Cody Ramsey, Junior Amone and Matt Feagai, looking forward to more.

Like you said, it depends which media outlet you believe, I'm sticking with this one ;

Billeus

Exactly, Penrith board went behind Gould's back to get Cleary which is why Gould probably had to meet with them. Probably to clear his name with the Tigers. Why else would Gould have left or been sacked? If he really wanted Cleary at the Panthers he would have stayed and seen out his "supposed" 5 year plan. Wouldn't you? Would you make a plan and leave before it's over to see if it is a success. He left because he must of thought it would fail getting Cleary back and it backfired as they ended up improving. It is the only thing that makes sense. Does anyone have any feedback of Gould's reasoning for leaving Penrith? He went to Warriors and Dogs soon after so he was not retiring?
Gould said his reason for leaving was that his position had become redundant. In my opinion, he and the board knew the club was in excellent shape, with a flood of talented juniors coming through, ready for someone like Ivan to come in and experience success.

BLM01

The more research I'm doing on this, which is not a good investment of time lol, the more I'm realising that Anthony Griffin's claims about being sacked because Panthers were worried he might win the premiership are likely true and Phil Gould and his media buddy's are full of crap. This has everything to do with them poaching Ivan Cleary in order to hold onto Nathan.

Hook was told he was being sacked because they were talking to Ivan Cleary and his services were no longer required, four weeks out from finals sitting fifth on the ladder only four points off top spot. How you going to move him on if he wins the premiership.

Courier Mail about having spoken to anyone including Phil Gould about going to Penrith to coach, describing the rumours as absolute garbage.

If you consider the unethical behaviour that took place towards Anthony Griffin and Wests Tigers, is it any wonder that Phil Gould would do everything possible to distance himself from such things when it suits, he'd prefer you to believe he's an ethical kind of guy. Believe what you want but I'm sold and think St George made a wise decision getting Griffin to coach and develop our youngsters. I'm very happy with what I'm seeing from Cody Ramsey, Junior Amone and Matt Feagai, looking forward to more.

Like you said, it depends which media outlet you believe, I'm sticking with this one ;

I was too buoyant about Griffin coming and was an advocate to give him a few years to rebuild and copped a lot of the flack on this forum for sticking up for him
But what I saw the team dish out last year in team work attack and defence from Round 3 whether it is the assistants fault or not falls on his shoulders.
but too late now his position is untenable moving forward rightly or wrongly from too many sources.
If a miracle happens next year and he starts as coach and then we win the first 7-8 games under him I might be swayed back

HenryTatana

Even Fitzsimmons has his say.

From this mornings SMH

No awards for hanging onto Griffin

In the business of story-telling the most prized of all is the multicoloured thread, the single tiny detail from the entire saga which tells the whole. If you can isolate it, pull it out, examine it and hold it up to the light, you can get a fair-reckoning of the full fabric. Weave it into your portrait, and you are half-way home.
Rarely in sport have I seen a better example than the St George Illawarra Dragons’ end-of-season awards night earlier this month when of the 30 players on the roster, just three turned up.
Coach Anthony Griffin has obviously lost more than just the dressing room at the Dragons.

Coach Anthony Griffin has obviously lost more than just the dressing room at the Dragons.CREDIT:GETTY

Yes, all kinds of reasoning was offered – players away on holiday, at the World Cup, didn’t have enough notice, etc – but, seriously, do you need to know anything else? You want to have a chance for next season, pride in the jersey, belief in each other, love of the club, desire to put the body on the line for all of the above and ...

And what? Just three of 30 blokes turn up for the end of season do? Mate, it’s over. That is the thread that tells the whole. Back when Anthony Griffin was appointed Dragons coach, this column made several unkind remarks about how it was never going to work, and in that thread you have the proof.
It is a club in free-fall and the incoming chair can either move Griffin on now, or wait until a few matches into the season when disaster has already befallen them. I repeat, when you only get three out of 30 at your awards night, the coach has lost a lot more than just the dressing room. You have an entire culture that is shot through. It’s over.
Get Des.

dragon thomo

I am still wondering if Mick Potter is worth a go in a interim role until the club works out in what direction to go.
Also put Nathan Brown in a assist and recruitment role to strengthen the squad.
Let performance dictate if Potter stays. He showed us what he could do at the dogs. He improved their attack and team harmony.
I think the younger players in the squad would enjoy a updated coaching style.

Crush

You are sold? You think the club were wise to get Griffin?
What about the multiple players asking for release? The BBQ? Only 3 players turning up to end of year awards night? The pathetic football with paper thin defence?
Missing finals both seasons he’s been employed?
If anyone is still a fan of Hook at this stage they well and truly have their head in the sand. It’s over. It’s been a disaster of epic proportions. A catastrophic failure. The club has never been in a worse position. Hook has done a horrible job and will be sacked either before the the season starts or after a few rounds.
And his coaching career will be officially finished forever.

Nanadragon

You are sold? You think the club were wise to get Griffin?
What about the multiple players asking for release? The BBQ? Only 3 players turning up to end of year awards night? The pathetic football with paper thin defence?
Missing finals both seasons he’s been employed?
If anyone is still a fan of Hook at this stage they well and truly have their head in the sand. It’s over. It’s been a disaster of epic proportions. A catastrophic failure. The club has never been in a worse position. Hook has done a horrible job and will be sacked either before the the season starts or after a few rounds.
And his coaching career will be officially finished forever.
Let's face it. At the time of Griffin's appointment we were happy to have anyone but Mary McFailure.
If it was up to me I would give the Walker brothers a go but I know our dud club wouldn't entertain the idea of somebody different.

I'm not saying hes the future but the mess Hook inherited from the McGregor and Price regimes was always going to take a while to turn around.
Feels to me like we are making ground, albeit slowly.
We have a competitive back line now and just need some more talent in the forwards.
The voice of reason will get little hearing in this place.

It's as if everything that is wrong with the place all happened in the last 2 years under Hook.

No doubt he got some of it wrong but hardly surprising considering the tools he was given to work with.

Hook was always on a hiding to nothing and anything he did achieve has just been swept away in our relentless pursuit to think others can do much better with what in fact is very ordinary roster despite our fans insistence that we have a top 8 and in some eyes top 4 squad.

We signed some quite decent players among the duds, we have retained some quality juniors despite all the hoo haa since their signings / upgrades, we blooded some juniors who now hold onto 1st grade spot, we won games towards the end of the season showing at least some determination and Hook has had to endure relentless negative media scrutiny and tolerate the most incompetent board in our history all at a time that if the truth be known nobody else wants to coach us.

Whilst where we are is not enjoyable it was much worse than this under Mc Fookknuckle.

Qdf

It's as if everything that is wrong with the place all happened in the last 2 years under Hook.

No doubt he got some of it wrong but hardly surprising considering the tools he was given to work with.

Hook was always on a hiding to nothing and anything he did achieve has just been swept away in our relentless pursuit to think others can do much better with what in fact is very ordinary roster despite our fans insistence that we have a top 8 and in some eyes top 4 squad.

We signed some quite decent players among the duds, we have retained some quality juniors despite all the hoo haa since their signings / upgrades, we blooded some juniors who now hold onto 1st grade spot, we won games towards the end of the season showing at least some determination and Hook has had to endure relentless negative media scrutiny and tolerate the most incompetent board in our history all at a time that if the truth be known nobody else wants to coach us.

Whilst where we are is not enjoyable it was much worse than this under Mc Fookknuckle.
Like most of what you to say,
Particularly, the most incompetent BOARD in the clubs history. Nothing has worked for us ever since these Gordon's (WIN Corp)
Have bought their way in.
For what I believe to be a half price back room deal with Peter DOUST the shonky broker.

SBD82

Was it worse? On what metric?

Our attack remains terrible but our defence has deteriorated.

BLM01

I am still wondering if Mick Potter is worth a go in a interim role until the club works out in what direction to go.
Also put Nathan Brown in a assist and recruitment role to strengthen the squad.
Let performance dictate if Potter stays. He showed us what he could do at the dogs. He improved their attack and team harmony.
I think the younger players in the squad would enjoy a updated coaching style.
No to Potter
If he was that good Dogs would of held on to him

Was it worse? On what metric?

Our attack remains terrible but our defence has deteriorated.
Games won at back end of season
Retention and extension of quality juniors
Getting a better outcome with Hunt
Whilst it is debatable as to who signed the biggest duds no doubt signing Sua, Molo, Suli in 1 season is better than any cumulative signing under Mc Fookknuckle.

be55

How anyone could defend, in anyway, the complete trash we've produced on the field the last two years is beyond me...

Who gives a f**k about the board and the goings on at the administrative level. How does that effect the coach and his implementation of defensive and attacking strategies? It could be argued that our defence was on par with the worse teams in the competition this year, and our attack is as unstructured and as directionless as at any time in recent memory.

I'm not defending McGregor in any way at all, the guy was a terrible coach, but there were times he had our attack humming. And that was at a time when Hunt wasn't performing at the level he has for the last two years, and also at that time when we had to carry duds like Aitken and Lafai in the centres. Does anyone seriously think that those two are better attacking centres than Lomax and Suli? Of course they're not. But the difference is, now, we have two centres who aren't afforded any room in attack because the coach can't put together an attacking structure that provides them that room.

The apologists love to point to the board, the roster, the salary cap, the state of the team when Hook arrived blah blah blah. Does anybody seriously think that if we signed Bellamy or Robinson as our coach, you wouldn't see an immediate improvement on the field in the areas we have struggled with the last two years. I guarantee you wouldn't see teams charging straight through our middle and you wouldn't see us running from side to side like headless chooks when attacking the opposition try line, like we have the last two years. I guarantee our game plan would consist of more than just "get the ball to Ben" when on attack.

My gripe with the coach is for what we have produced ON THE FIELD the last two years. I forgave the first year, because i thought he would bring new ideas and a new structure to the team and the team would need time to adjust. But as Hook stated, he and the team worked extensively on our attack in the off season, and our attack this year has been absolutely pathetic.

That falls at Hook's feet, and all the excuses in the world won't change that...

SBD82

How anyone could defend, in anyway, the complete trash we've produced on the field the last two years is beyond me...

Who gives a f**k about the board and the goings on at the administrative level. How does that effect the coach and his implementation of defensive and attacking strategies? It could be argued that our defence was on par with the worse teams in the competition this year, and our attack is as unstructured and as directionless as at any time in recent memory.

I'm not defending McGregor in any way at all, the guy was a terrible coach, but there were times he had our attack humming. And that was at a time when Hunt wasn't performing at the level he has for the last two years, and also at that time when we had to carry duds like Aitken and Lafai in the centres. Does anyone seriously think that those two are better attacking centres than Lomax and Suli? Of course they're not. But the difference is, now, we have two centres who aren't afforded any room in attack because the coach can't put together an attacking structure that provides them that room.

The apologists love to point to the board, the roster, the salary cap, the state of the team when Hook arrived blah blah blah. Does anybody seriously think that if we signed Bellamy or Robinson as our coach, you wouldn't see an immediate improvement on the field in the areas we have struggled with the last two years. I guarantee you wouldn't see teams charging straight through our middle and you wouldn't see us running from side to side like headless chooks when attacking the opposition try line, like we have the last two years. I guarantee our game plan would consist of more than just "get the ball to Ben" when on attack.

My gripe with the coach is for what we have produced ON THE FIELD the last two years. I forgave the first year, because i thought he would bring new ideas and a new structure to the team and the team would need time to adjust. But as Hook stated, he and the team worked extensively on our attack in the off season, and our attack this year has been absolutely pathetic.

That falls at Hook's feet, and all the excuses in the world won't change that...
/thread.