Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack mcgregor

At the moment it’s all doom - gloom and nothing on the horizon to look forward to.

This off season will be one of the longest on record , naturally we will be looking forward to any proposed signings that the media says will be coming our way , only to be disappointed when we miss out and sign yet another journeyman on his last legs - “ as we need his experience blah , blah , blah . . .” says the maestro.

Well at least there’s always the cricket .

imagine that, next week they wheel out dean young as coach and hes talking more s grade sh)(&& than price and garbagehead mcidiot combined...surely we cant sink that low please tell me this is a nightmare

It’s no nightmare old mate - it’s reality . Perhaps the footy gods ( who were all Dragon fans ) have passed away and the new footy gods are from the clubs we use to constantly thrash in the good old days - they are now undoubtedly seeking their vengeance upon us . :zap:

BLM01

That’s the problem.who replaces him.the way our boys club think it will be a rookie or someone with limited coaching resume .we all know who I’m talking about.why not bring back Brian Smith .hes good for about 3 years until the players start revolting.can bring youth through the system.and can revitalise players who have gone stale under previous so called coaches.move him on after 3 years.sure we won’t win a competition but he will lay the foundations for the next coach who is not a former player.
Brian Smith is not really kicking goals being the coaches boss at the Warriors. No thanks..been there done that!

Wittenberg

Forget it. He ain’t going anywhere. The Save Mary media promotion is already in full swing. Look at the articles in the papers this morning and last night.......it is all JDB’s fault. Nothing to see here, move along! Pity no one focuses on the fact that the JDB excuse can only be used this year. What about the four seasons before that? A joke. He is not going.....sorry fellas a waste of a thread.

Blood Shot Eyes

He ain’t going anywhere, give up guys. How about a thread to sack Johnston? Let’s all sign up as St George members and vote to ensure that he’s gone in 3 years time. Then and only then do we stand a chance of smashing this boys club and getting rid of this coach.
Yes j0nesy your probably right he isnt going anywhere, but at least we can vent our displeasure.....I liken it to being constipated you feel much better when its out

Old Kogarah Boy 1

It has to be a professional coach. I think we should even be prepared to look at English coaches rather than some of the rabble so far suggested. JD would be a pinch suggestion but again, has not had a first grade gig. He certainly seems to have the right attitude, but we do not want to be in the same boat 12 months down the track.

Barrett, Young, and Hornby need to be completely struck off the list

The club had the chance last year when there were a number of quality coaches available but chose to stick their heads in the sand.

Now they can stick them somewhere else.

Old Kogarah Boy 1

At the moment it’s all doom - gloom and nothing on the horizon to look forward to.

This off season will be one of the longest on record , naturally we will be looking forward to any proposed signings that the media says will be coming our way , only to be disappointed when we miss out and sign yet another journeyman on his last legs - “ as we need his experience blah , blah , blah . . .” says the maestro.

Marellous that........................

Forbes Creek Dragons

If anyone I reckon Demetriou is the only one with potential to become a great coach. I’d love an old head like Tim Sheens, most of today’s good coaches in Bennett, Bellamy and Madge come from that Canberra system. I honestly don’t believe anyone else would make much difference. It might not even be the game plans of Mary that are lacking it’s just that players don’t have the patience to trust the processes of an apprentice coach. If Bennet says just trust the process it’s like listening to Yoda but if Mary, Barratt, Toovey or whoever else say it, it’s easy to dismiss.

RED73V

Fox sports has just released a statement about McGregor. Brian Johnstone apparently will be meeting with the Board on Tuesday & having a review about our poor season. BUT they won’t be talking about McGregor in his words because he has been resigned for another 2 years. At the bottom of the story there is a video of McGregor talking about disgruntled fans & he says “ After a successful 2018 & being 85 mins from a Grand Final “ that old chestnut :chestnut: again. This guy does my freaking head in

Old Kogarah Boy 1

I don't get paid a fraction what McGregor does. I wonder what would happen if I used his logic to defend my position at work. Oh yeah, I worked hard and produced results last year so this year anything goes.

Based on previous results, you deserve a pay rise!

Blood Shot Eyes

Fox sports has just released a statement about McGregor. Brian Johnstone apparently will be meeting with the Board on Tuesday & having a review about our poor season. BUT they won’t be talking about McGregor in his words because he has been resigned for another 2 years. At the bottom of the story there is a video of McGregor talking about disgruntled fans & he says “ After a successful 2018 & being 85 mins from a Grand Final “ that old chestnut :chestnut: again. This guy does my freaking head in
Yep theres imposters and theres Master Imposters. ..unfortunately for us hes the latter

BLM01

But you know Gareth I will keep saying it. The cupboard out there is losing stock. the Super clubs that are cash strapped with 3rd party arrangements will constantly have the best squads (e.g. deals with betting agencies and TV). You see how much Tedesco is popping up on TV advertising lately.
They will buy and retain the better players but it is stretching thin. Roosters & Souths, Melb, Brisbane, Warriors and maybe Newcastle, Eels, Sharks? & Penrith are well funded.
Lets look at the teams who are looking and need to rebuild sectons of their rosters including depth and getting rid of a lot of current 1st graders to elsewhere.
Us, Tigers, Titans, Dogs, Manly, Eels, Cowboys..just for starters. If all the players that are supposed to be getting shipped out to god knows where or apparently not up to scrtach....
Where are all the replacement players going to come from?. No one wants reserve graders.
Super League is the only other as not enough junior talent to really fill the void.
Players via managers dont care..as long as they are getting 1st grade big $$$ somewhere around the globe. Talent can only go so far when junior numbers are dwindling

We are fastly becoming a NRL mimic competition to the Super League regardless of a so called even salary cap. NRL will be about a reduced 10 team survivor comp (forget the lower stuff and rest) the way we are going in time, how and where the money is spent by NRL to run and maintain 1st grade product to attract TV money.

Look at the Weidler article $15K spent on Cam Smiths posh 400 celebration dinner. What is wrong with hiring out a function room at a local hotel for 20% of that cost for 30 people including budget flights

Sunday rant over...off to do my thing for our club and CRL..and a few tit bits from the Mary coaching manual.
Have a good day all!

Dragons22

So this review meeting is a complete piss take then?
Seriously, what the hell will they be talking about then?
Are they just going to say, you know we lost De Belin early, we had injuries with Widdop, Lafai, Graham and Lomax, that cost our team the season. Review done and dusted. Lets feel sorry for ourselves and blame injuries and external problems.
What an absolute joke!
Same old mediocre garbage from the useless management of this club.
McGregor is currently competing with Price for the worst season this club has had.
McIdiot has this team in spoon contention, and the fool keeps on saying yeah, but we made the finals last year, we were 85 minutes away from a grand final! That is in the past! This is 2019, and your team is running 3rd last!
I had some hope this board meeting would result in some change, but the board is a complete joke, and so is Johnson.
I would have much more respect if they admitted that they were wrong to re-sign McGregor so early in the season, and dismiss him from his duties.
I would have a truckload of respect if they said 'We got it wrong, Mary is gone'.
They simply don't want to embarrass themselves from probably the dumbest decision in NRL history to re-sign McGregor after round 6.
Virtually no club was going after him, he hasn't proved himself.
Jobs for the boys, that is what it is.
There is virtually no point of having this dumb review then. What a waste of a Tuesday afternoon for those fools.
Cannot believe this once great club can accept garbage like this.
For shame.
For shame.