Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack mcgregor

nontime111

On Triple M today a fan called and nailed it... one thing he said that I’ve heard before i# that McGregor doesn’t listen to his team and we know what happened to J Dimitrou who was undoubtedly too vocal.

So, it may be that Hornby and Young are actually OK but cannot have enough influence.

All in all McGregor is Dragons enemy #1 as far as I’m concerned and he has to go.
imagine that? you have a great point here....wouldnt it shock us all in the best possible way IF, just IF...Hornby or Young were gun coaches in the making and will have us up the top of the table hmm....im so excited just a bout seeing the back of this bald pr(*^^ as I think at this stage ANYONE would do a better job I mean any coach around from Griff to Tooves To possibly Horny or Young lets hope!

No. Gun coaches wouldn't stay in that environment.

Straight Shooter

One of our brethren (?) made the comment the other day about hoping that Gareth Widdop return is delayed so as he doesn’t need to play again , nor suffer another injury this year and now after the teams recent surrenders I go along with that members idea .

Gareth - if your listening old buddy , do the right thing by yourself and delay your return as it would seem that a number of your teammates have lost their way , mainly due to extremely poor coaching and a board that has set its sights on constant failure.

BLM01

Thought I would back up my thoughts on Mary's achievements from Round 13 onwards to see results (last half of year say)
2014 - 7 out of 13 when he took over - 54% Best year
2015 - 4 out of 14 29%
2016 - 4 out of 12 33%
2017 - 5 out of 13 38%
2018 - 7 out of 14 50%
2019 - 2 out of 6 33%

Overall average 39.5%
Take out his caretaker 1st season it is 36.6% so far as official coach

Even if he won the next 7 out of 7 it would be 9 out of 13 this year = 69%

Overall average since his 1st game would only go up to 45.5%
But every game from now on he loses this year it gets lower and lower

Another idea is to set up a go fund me page, set up an entire new club bid for an nrl franchise and hire everyone except Mary.

I get the feeling that the club was purchased to be a huge tax write off for WIN, that’s the only explanation for faith and excitement in continued failure.

I wouldn’t give your ceo a job cooking the fries at BankWest.

He’d screw that up too.

Souths will put 50 on you. They are going to nail you to the cross.

The_Great_One

the most important thing is to keep the sack mary mentality in the public when we inevitably win a few games.

someone needs to break out the paint and signboards and get some catchy slogans about ditching mary and start getting em on tv. some inspiring starters for you all

"wee wee poo poo mary we didnt chose you"

"great player bad coach terrible haircut"

literally just a photo of the ladder with marys quote saying we will make the finals

lmao

Watched his presser after the panthers match a moment ago.

Looks very worried.

Blaming “some players” for lack of commitment after half time break and will make 4 changes.

2 guys coming back from injury and 2 players to be dropped.

Should have taken responsibility for the losses. Instead rolled out the usual excuses:

Panthers scored 2 tries from kicks

Too many injuries

JDB issue

Bad attitude of some players and others making mistakes trying to over compensate.

Best excuse was we have had no luck.

Johnston is feeling the pressure and has stated the buck stops with him.

Time to show you wear the stripes Brian.

Every team has had injuries.

Every team has had bad luck in some games.

But nearly every other team has a more effective coach.

Good sign is that the Board which is very conservative is commencing it’s review before the end of the season, and not after the season ends.

Crossing fingers and toes that the Board is embarrassed by our lack of success and is contemplating the need for action.

RedVDragon

On Triple M today a fan called and nailed it... one thing he said that I’ve heard before i# that McGregor doesn’t listen to his team and we know what happened to J Dimitrou who was undoubtedly too vocal.

So, it may be that Hornby and Young are actually OK but cannot have enough influence.

All in all McGregor is Dragons enemy #1 as far as I’m concerned and he has to go.
Yeh I heard that as well. The commentators must also know something as they didn’t challenge the caller

blacksafake

Watched his presser after the panthers match a moment ago.

Looks very worried.

Blaming “some players” for lack of commitment after half time break and will make 4 changes.

2 guys coming back from injury and 2 players to be dropped.

Should have taken responsibility for the losses. Instead rolled out the usual excuses:

Panthers scored 2 tries from kicks

Too many injuries

JDB issue

Bad attitude of some players and others making mistakes trying to over compensate.

Best excuse was we have had no luck.

Johnston is feeling the pressure and has stated the buck stops with him.

Time to show you wear the stripes Brian.

Every team has had injuries.

Every team has had bad luck in some games.

But nearly every other team has a more effective coach.

Good sign is that the Board which is very conservative is commencing it’s review before the end of the season, and not after the season ends.

Crossing fingers and toes that the Board is embarrassed by our lack of success and is contemplating the need for action.
They’ll just use the same review they use every year.

RedVDragon

The other issue is good old Maroon from MMM says the Illawarra fans want Mary and the Kogarah fans want him out. If that’s the case do the Illawarra fans accept week in week out loses and poor performance and accept mediocre coaching. Maroon is Mary’s mate way back when he was on Illawarra radio. As dragons fans we eat success rather than 5 years of no results

He’s reportedly doing 14-16 hour working days and while that’s admirable, the fact that the team is playing worse, shows that all of the effort is seriously misguided and he’s absolutely on the wrong track.

People wouldn’t care if he only worked 30 mins a day and the team was strong, top 4 and everyone was firing.

The key is to get every individual player up and ready for the next match.

Whatever he’s doing, he should reverse it!

And I think the players are also in la la land. Pack of lazy bludgers they’ve turned into on Marys watch, apart from a few notables, they should be repaying some of their cash. Drive an old Ford instead of that merc and luxury crap they think they look good in.

The whole of the rest of the nrl think they are tools.

But Marys just not the bloke to pull them out of it.

He’s clueless.

getsmarty

Revealed: Dragons’ Cameron McInnes sprayed teammates; Ennis slams decision to rest Ben Hunt
The St George Illawarra Dragons players have held crisis talks amid the team’s woeful season, with Cameron McInnes ripping into his teammates after their loss on Friday night.

FOX SPORTSJuly 21, 20198:37pm
Inside Red V shed roasting
bfa4fb23acbed4f46da44c91d19c5cd9

The St George Illawarra Dragons players have held crisis talks amid the team’s woeful season, with Cameron McInnes ripping into his teammates after their loss on Friday night.

Coach Paul McGregor has come under increasing fire after the Red V’s mid-season slump which reached crisis point when they were thumped by the Panthers.

And Fox Sports’ reporter James Hooper has revealed that McGregor let McInnes deliver an almighty spray to shock the players into a change.

“He left it to his players,” Hooper told Fox League’s Big League Wrap. “Cameron McInnes came to the fore. He looked all the players in the eye he said boys this is not acceptable

“He’s torn strips off them. It was a heavy bake.”

2e361e1716ef12ce12e2f0be2ef0c805

Cameron McInnes dropped some home truths.Source:AAP

“Mary being the style of character he is, he was given a two-year extension back in May.

“He’s the coach for the rest of this year, next year and until 2021.

He said to the players we can work together and try and fight our way out or I’m going to get moved on and you blokes will also get moved on, so let’s come together and let’s try and fight our way out of here, that’s the only way to handle this situation.

“But Mary, at the moment, he needs a bulletproof vest, they’re very cut throat with their criticism.

How does Ben Hunt feel?
b809c80bc25672fd79cb9f58a704518a

“There’s a board meeting and these fade-outs over the course of not just this season, it’s last year, the year before. That’s going to be high on the agenda.

“I think Paul McGregor is safe, I know it can be interpreted as a death knell — the full support of the board — but at this point in time, they have got Mary’s back.”

Meanwhile, Michael Ennis has questioned McGregor’s decision to rest Ben Hunt. The halfback sat out the must-win clash with Penith, leaving McGregor open to more criticism.

“I put myself in the Dragons’ dressing room on Friday night and I think to myself as a teammate, I’m really happy for you, you played Origin and you deserved it and it’s great our club has got rep players,” said Ennis.

Ennis fumes over Hunt resting
d7a0fded2f8b831cb533de3c8aa922a5

“But I want to win a competition, and so do the other blokes.

“Now when we need to win seven of eight games, and you’re our halfback, our general, you’re not the utility who comes off the bench.

“You’re the bloke who controls and who orchestrates this whole club … he had to play.

“And for me personally, if the coach says: ‘you weren’t great, I reckon we need to give you a spell’. ‘Coach, no way, we’ve got to win the next seven games. I’ve got to play, I want to play Friday night. Just look after me. I don’t need to train until Thursday. I’ll turn up for the captain's run and the week after … I’ve got to freshen myself up that way. But I’ve got to play’.

“Because other blokes in that dressing room are there and they’ve just brought in the teamsheet and James Maloney’s playing.”

https://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/r...t/news-story/c6959478904234ed34f27cf3e5adc622

Qapm

Revealed: Dragons’ Cameron McInnes sprayed teammates; Ennis slams decision to rest Ben Hunt
The St George Illawarra Dragons players have held crisis talks amid the team’s woeful season, with Cameron McInnes ripping into his teammates after their loss

And Fox Sports’ reporter James Hooper has revealed that McGregor let McInnes deliver an almighty spray to shock the players into a change.

“He left it to his players,” Hooper told Fox League’s Big League Wrap. “Cameron McInnes came to the fore. He looked all the players in the eye he said boys this is not acceptable

“Mary being the style of character he is, he was given a two-year extension back in May.

He said to the players we can work together and try and fight our way out or I’m going to get moved on and you blokes will also get moved on, so let’s come together and let’s try and fight our way out of here, that’s the only way to handle this

Notice the take it or leave it mental trap they are trying to put the players in. They deliver a hard line that coaching and board decisions are not the issue and the onus is all on the players to fix it with the threat a roster full of world class talent could be moved on. Disgusting. I'm starting to think it was mgmt that planted the Frizell rumors

Anyone that thinks 2019 can be salvaged in any way is a fool. Ill go back to the Vietnam analogy and hope the players concentrate on staying together and look out for themselves and try to ride it out. The coaching staff and WIN Corp are not the Dragons and are not worth risking anything for. None of the players deserve an injury in trying to salvage some faint hope for the coaching staff, management and WIN Corp. I'd say the recent decision by Mary to rest Hunt is the only one I agree with. We really want to risk injury to that talent so we may get a win and allow a few more ticket sales at the back end of the season?

Only thing I can do is make sure none of my dollars go to WIN Corp until they care about the club as we do and try to convince others to do the same

Only reason Dragons fans should go to remaining games this season is to bring banners spreading our message

The other issue is good old Maroon from MMM says the Illawarra fans want Mary and the Kogarah fans want him out. If that’s the case do the Illawarra fans accept week in week out loses and poor performance and accept mediocre coaching. Maroon is Mary’s mate way back when he was on Illawarra radio. As dragons fans we eat success rather than 5 years of no results
The factional problem at the club should have nothing to do with the objective measure of the team's results.
Mary's performance as a coach has been nothing short of abysmal.
Any other spin perpetrated by journos and commentators who are lightweights, is just not the truth.

FOX SPORTSJuly 21, 20198:37pm
Inside Red V shed roasting
bfa4fb23acbed4f46da44c91d19c5cd9

Coach Paul McGregor has come under increasing fire after the Red V’s mid-season slump which reached crisis point when they were thumped by the Panthers.

“He’s torn strips off them. It was a heavy bake.”

2e361e1716ef12ce12e2f0be2ef0c805

Cameron McInnes dropped some home truths.Source:AAP

He said to the players we can work together and try and fight our way out or I’m going to get moved on and you blokes will also get moved on, so let’s come together and let’s try and fight our way out of here, that’s the only way to handle this situation.

“But Mary, at the moment, he needs a bulletproof vest, they’re very cut throat with their criticism.

How does Ben Hunt feel?
b809c80bc25672fd79cb9f58a704518a

“There’s a board meeting and these fade-outs over the course of not just this season, it’s last year, the year before. That’s going to be high on the agenda.

“I think Paul McGregor is safe, I know it can be interpreted as a death knell — the full support of the board — but at this point in time, they have got Mary’s back.”

Meanwhile, Michael Ennis has questioned McGregor’s decision to rest Ben Hunt. The halfback sat out the must-win clash with Penith, leaving McGregor open to more criticism.

“I put myself in the Dragons’ dressing room on Friday night and I think to myself as a teammate, I’m really happy for you, you played Origin and you deserved it and it’s great our club has got rep players,” said Ennis.

Ennis fumes over Hunt resting
d7a0fded2f8b831cb533de3c8aa922a5

“But I want to win a competition, and so do the other blokes.

“Now when we need to win seven of eight games, and you’re our halfback, our general, you’re not the utility who comes off the bench.

“You’re the bloke who controls and who orchestrates this whole club … he had to play.

“And for me personally, if the coach says: ‘you weren’t great, I reckon we need to give you a spell’. ‘Coach, no way, we’ve got to win the next seven games. I’ve got to play, I want to play Friday night. Just look after me. I don’t need to train until Thursday. I’ll turn up for the captain's run and the week after … I’ve got to freshen myself up that way. But I’ve got to play’.

“Because other blokes in that dressing room are there and they’ve just brought in the teamsheet and James Maloney’s playing.”

https://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/r...t/news-story/c6959478904234ed34f27cf3e5adc622
So the media outline the massive hole we're in and Johnston pointedly announces that the coach is not under scrutiny and his job is safe.
I really don't know what kind of review they will be conducting then.
Johnston is incompetent.

They haven’t learned anything from past reviews and if they did, they learned the wrong things, made bad changes.

They would be better off not having a review before the next one leads to even worse performances.

SaintPauli

You are not wrong but there's been some good competition...I posted this in August last year:

I am going to keep updating this until Mary is on his bike.

2015 We lost 11 of our last 14 games under Paul McGregor (21% winning rate)
2016 We lost 7 of our last 9 games under Paul McGregor (22% winning rate)
2017 We lost 8 of our last 12 games under Paul McGregor (33% winning rate)
2018 We have lost 5 of our last 6 games under Paul McGregor (20% winning rate)

And if only there was a statistic for how annoying he is in a press conference...
Well done RednWhites.
That's an alarming statistic.
If you or anyone on this forum have a club contact, send this to the board prior tomorrow's meeting. Facts don't lie !

Better still send it to the media,
Rothfield
Chammas
Kent

Notice the take it or leave it mental trap they are trying to put the players in. They deliver a hard line that coaching and board decisions are not the issue and the onus is all on the players to fix it with the threat a roster full of world class talent could be moved on. Disgusting. I'm starting to think it was mgmt that planted the Frizell rumors

Anyone that thinks 2019 can be salvaged in any way is a fool. Ill go back to the Vietnam analogy and hope the players concentrate on staying together and look out for themselves and try to ride it out. The coaching staff and WIN Corp are not the Dragons and are not worth risking anything for. None of the players deserve an injury in trying to salvage some faint hope for the coaching staff, management and WIN Corp. I'd say the recent decision by Mary to rest Hunt is the only one I agree with. We really want to risk injury to that talent so we may get a win and allow a few more ticket sales at the back end of the season?

Only thing I can do is make sure none of my dollars go to WIN Corp until they care about the club as we do and try to convince others to do the same

Only reason Dragons fans should go to remaining games this season is to bring banners spreading our message
If they do manage to win some games at the back end of the season, that will be enough for them to salvage this disaster because they can point to that improvement and take credit for turning it around.
At the very least, McGregor's position will be safe and he can at least saddle up for next season without as much pressure.
That is their main aim now.
Winning 3 from 7 would be enough for them to hang their hat on.