Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack mcgregor

Great..I'm happy he spoke to you...did you ask him why Aitken never gets Dropped ?

Why Lomax has played 5 different positions this year.

Why we have only won 2 of the last 12 games.

Why we always falter the 2nd half of the season...this year we have faltered all year ...........

Why he thinks tries from kicks don't count...

Why he thinks we were only 86 mins away from the G.F...

I think you get my gist.

You forgot resting Hunt!

slippery5

A lot of people won't agree with this post but I have to credit where credit is due today at the members day McGregor showed up and talked to a lot of the fans shook hands and answered peoples questions. I don't attend these events much anymore because of work but I remember when we were going poorly in 2012-2014 Price never had the cojones to show his face and face the music.
Everyone keeps telling us what a good guy he is but all the angst is about the fact he can't coach.
Remember also that his PR appearance is part of the job he's being paid to do.
I estimate about $1500 per day or about $20 per handshake or autograph.

RedVDave

Great..I'm happy he spoke to you...did you ask him why Aitken never gets Dropped ?

Why Lomax has played 5 different positions this year.

Why we have only won 2 of the last 12 games.

Why we always falter the 2nd half of the season...this year we have faltered all year ...........

Why he thinks tries from kicks don't count...

Why he thinks we were only 86 mins away from the G.F...

I think you get my gist.

lol we actually had a really nice chat about footy, life and things in general I won't go into detail about what was talked about because I believe not everything needs to be public knowledge these days.

Anyway like I said the main point I was trying to make is I give him credit for showing up again not many will agree and that's totally fine that's yours and everyone else's prerogative.

I remember back in 2013 I saw Price leave through the back door and not face up to people's questions and having Dell answer on his behalf.

I want to stress I'm not saying Mary is a good coach I'm saying he at least has morals. I still think he's out of his depth and should be replaced by Toovey but the board admitting they made a mistake is about as likely as me going on a date with Sandra Bullock.

getsmarty

lol we actually had a really nice chat about footy, life and things in general I won't go into detail about what was talked about because I believe not everything needs to be public knowledge these days.

Anyway like I said the main point I was trying to make is I give him credit for showing up again not many will agree and that's totally fine that's yours and everyone else's prerogative.

I remember back in 2013 I saw Price leave through the back door and not face up to people's questions and having Dell answer on his behalf.

I want to stress I'm not saying Mary is a good coach I'm saying he at least has morals. I still think he's out of his depth and should be replaced by Toovey but the board admitting they made a mistake is about as likely as me going on a date with Sandra Bullock.

I don't deny he is a "Good Bloke"....even a great player....he is a questionable coach given a thorough look at his entire tenure....One would even suggest that if he had "morals" he would step aside instead of pointing the finger at his support staff....Isn't that called Back Stabbing ?

Well he’s suggested they are going to be axed as a result of the review.

A week or so ago everyone was being told the review would be done and everyone has to wait.

That’s very dark and even scandalous to presuppose the outcome of the review and where I think they probably have done everything he asked of them.

They should quit now and come out and flog him and bj in the media.

Stand up for themselves.

Management on the hop, treachery.

I support my juniors at work, try and help them through.

Warabrook saint

You are describing old school values and ideals in the digital age.
McGregor's motivation is financial first and foremost.
He is earning much better money now than when he was a player and it is hard for him to trade that in for ideals.
Once he finally goes or is fired, what is left for him?
Maybe an assistant's job somewhere?
He'll never be a head coach in the NRL again so he's making every post a winner.
He knows he's on borrowed time but I am sure he would happily walk if the club paid out his contract.
That's reality unfortunately and it also underscores how ridiculous the second contract extension was.
Look at McGregor's coaching record after the extension.
Hardly won a game.
We are the laughing stock of the NRL.
Johnston painted himself into a corner and looks an absolute goose right now with his unbridled support of Mary as the "right man to take the club forward".
So McGregor will never leave no matter what happens.
They will have to drag him out of the coach's box.
No integrity, no dignity or elegance as a human being.
Quite happy to sit in press conferences and tell people we can still win the comp.
I think he regards himself as a genuine coach, we were leading the comp halfway through last year, so he thinks it was due to his ability but it was luck, and the players not being burnt-out at that point. I reckon he's already tarnished himself beyond repair in most people's view

It’s the moral decay in him that’s upsetting people now.

Shooting his mates for his own shortcomings.

People won’t wear that. There will be a march on the club.

I support the courageous tigers but I’ll be happy to join in “ reclaim the game” style.

Marys head on a pike ( figuratively).

The assistants are the sacrificial lambs offered up to appease the raging torrent of anger about the coaching mess.
Everyone should just ignore that BS and keep the blow torch on the real problem and that's McGregor.
The Board, Johnston and the spin doctors at the club think the fans are morons and can be manipulated.
I think they have totally misread the true sentiment of the fans this time round.

getsmarty

The assistants are the sacrificial lambs offered up to appease the raging torrent of anger about the coaching mess.
Everyone should just ignore that BS and keep the blow torch on the real problem and that's McGregor.
The Board, Johnston and the spin doctors at the club think the fans are morons and can be manipulated.
I think they have totally misread the true sentiment of the fans this time round.

Problem is that saints fans are loyal....which equates to people still turning up to games and the membership numbers staying pretty much the same.

The net result being that nothing will change because the Board will trot out the same excuse...

"it's a small minority of fans who are disgruntled, because will still draw good crowds and membership numbers "

And the cycle continues....

P,S Not having a go at anyone who wants to go to games and renew your membership....that's your prerogative.

Forster Dragon

Have a look at the ladder tonight.We are equal second last with the Dogs and will stay that way after the Eels beat us tomorrow.
If our useless board look at this and do not feel crap as I do they are not doing their job.
If ever a organisation needs a full clean out it is ours.