Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack mcgregor

qld redvee

I listened to this dimwit of a fraud coach this morning on the Big sports breakfast and I had it on my computer. McGregor actually had the gall to agin bring up that he was 5 min away I 2018 from a setting up a final to play in the GF. My partner who sits across from me piped up and said what is he on about and when I told him he said you guys had the chance to get hasler and you kept this gronk. He is a manly supporter himself. I was baffled he mentioned something he credits himself with almost 2 years ago.

well Paul what about the other 6 years you goose
Choc
I cant believe that supercoach rolled that old chestnut out again of being 5 minutes away ...

I read one of his prized reviews just after he got back from the states with the dreaded footprint idea ..pretty sure words like we cant live in the past we control the present .... I knew he couldnt live by that new code and would have to throw that out as an excuse.... Love his line about the first 2 losses and how they put him in the spotlight !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and at the same time he is plotting on how to turn the spotlight onto someone else to take the fall -- I know Tyson he threw that horrible pass .. hell do
and this presser wasnt after a loss !!!!!!!!!! I just wish ( as we have all mentioned numerous times) WHY isnt his record mentioned during an interview

I listened to this dimwit of a fraud coach this morning on the Big sports breakfast and I had it on my computer. McGregor actually had the gall to agin bring up that he was 5 min away I 2018 from a setting up a final to play in the GF. My partner who sits across from me piped up and said what is he on about and when I told him he said you guys had the chance to get hasler and you kept this gronk. He is a manly supporter himself. I was baffled he mentioned something he credits himself with almost 2 years ago.

well Paul what about the other 6 years you goose
But it's not the first time McGregor has had to deal with critics calling for his axing and after six years as head coach at a club that demands success, he is used to it.

"They don't know me personally or professionally so I don't give the negative stuff too much oxygen to be honest," he told The Big Sports Breakfast on Tuesday.

"The players and the club that see me on a daily basis know what I'm about and those who know what I do respect what I do.

This is an excerpt from McGregor's interview. It is particularly revealing.
"The Negative stuff" = statistical results that are undeniable. Head in the sand attitude.

Paul, we don't need to know you personally nor do we care.
Professionally, you have proven to be lacking in skill, knowledge and aptitude as an NRL coach.
You and the club have been in denial for a number of years.
Finally, the players that you refer to that respect "what you do", are only towing the club line and have lost faith in you long ago. Even the ones that are left.
Look at the list of escapees - Widdop, Frizell are high profile evacuees but there is a long list of decent players that have already bailed.
Wake up Paul, you are out of your depth and the sooner they get rid of you the sooner the club can start looking to the future.
This guy keeps defending the indefensible. He will not go quietly.
Someone needs to step in and fire him.

Choc
I cant believe that supercoach rolled that old chestnut out again of being 5 minutes away ...

I read one of his prized reviews just after he got back from the states with the dreaded footprint idea ..pretty sure words like we cant live in the past we control the present .... I knew he couldnt live by that new code and would have to throw that out as an excuse.... Love his line about the first 2 losses and how they put him in the spotlight !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and at the same time he is plotting on how to turn the spotlight onto someone else to take the fall -- I know Tyson he threw that horrible pass .. hell do
and this presser wasnt after a loss !!!!!!!!!! I just wish ( as we have all mentioned numerous times) WHY isnt his record mentioned during an interview
I think that is the worst part of this spin doctoring.
No mention of the statistical record of this guy.
No scrutiny in terms of the Team's performance.
Just lots of excuses and rationalization that is embarrassing to be honest.
Why does the club allow it?
He shouldn't be allowed anywhere near a microphone.
Would any other NRL club tolerate this circus?
Absolutely NO.

Dragon David

But it's not the first time McGregor has had to deal with critics calling for his axing and after six years as head coach at a club that demands success, he is used to it.

"They don't know me personally or professionally so I don't give the negative stuff too much oxygen to be honest," he told The Big Sports Breakfast on Tuesday.

"The players and the club that see me on a daily basis know what I'm about and those who know what I do respect what I do.

This is and excerpt from McGregor's interview. It is particularly revealing.
"The Negative stuff" = statistical results that are undeniable. Head in the sand attitude.

Professionally, you have proven to be lacking in skill, knowledge and aptitude as an NRL coach.
Finally, the players that you refer to that respect what you do"", are only towing the club line and have lost faith in you long ago. Even the ones that are left.
Look at the list of escapees - Widdop, Frizell are high profile evacuees but there is a long list of decent players that have already bailed.
Wake up Paul, you are out of your depth and the sooner they get rid of you the sooner the club can start looking to the future.
Well said Dennis. It appears that no-one in the Dragons Den consisting of the Board Members and the past CEO and current CEO have anything to say about this failed coach. They are either cowards to face him or their heads are too deep in the trough to be able to speak to him.

The review that was carried out late last year is dead and buried and all forgotten. I only hope that the games re-start as quickly as possible so that the outcome of Mary's future can be determined sooner rather than later after we have several losses (would prefer that we win games without a doubt but that could mean a continuation of his coaching days of the dragons a lot longer).

LINESPEED

McGregor defends Dragons job amid pressure

St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor has defended himself amid speculation his days are numbered following a poor start to the season with the Dragons.

After a disastrous 2019 season where they finished second last, two straight losses in 2020 have done nothing to ease pressure on McGregor.

While the competition is suspended due to the coronavirus, former coach Wayne Bennett has been linked to a return to the Dragons where he won the 2010 NRL premiership.

"There's always going to be a conversation around if there's someone better or who's available or he's needs to go, I get that. I understand everyone is not going to be happy."

However, it's believed time is running out for McGregor following a disastrous 2019 that finished with a review of the football department and the club's handling of Jack de Belin's rape charge.

The Dragons have made the finals twice in the past five seasons, but there are doubts McGregor is the man to bring success to the club.

"We need to be better, we understand that. There were a lot of circumstances around the 2019 season.

"Our rounds 1 and 2 this year, we were in the game to win the game, we led the games at different stages but we didn't win. So that escalates the spotlight on myself.

"You've got to focus on what's next and that's the next game we're able to play and what can be gained from it.

"The critics will always be there. I respect that they have an opinion and they like to voice it, but I don't have to listen to it."

Compounding the issue is the loss of Tyson Frizell to Newcastle next season after the NSW and Australia star said he wants to win a premiership before he retires.

McGregor said he is disappointed and saddened to be losing the cornerstone of his pack who has been developed by the hard work of the Dragons coaching staff.

"It's very hard to see a player like that walk out of your organisation but in saying that we are a professional sport and you don't always get what you want," McGregor said.

"I wish him all the best because he's been a great player at the club and he's still got the season to finish at the Saints with us before he starts that journey.

"I'm not sure whether that contract has been registered by the NRL yet or how that works but he's always welcome to stay if he likes."

https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/mcgreg...pressure/5db7c650-333a-47bc-9b84-31f50d751d1a

The Clown just does not get that he lost the PR battle many years ago

....with the fans, statisticians
& players who need more than just another bogan boyo (journeymen after a pension excepted)
.... no elite players or coaches give him the time of day.

He’s the archetypal loser

...and probably the greatest Overreacher in NRL history

...and no amount of carefully spun interviews can prevent the axe that’s about to fall

....as he flails & thrashes logic in his death throes

...ever heard of pushing shit uphill Waterboy

I knew the McTraceme illness was fatal when the players were ordered to support Mary as part of the official propaganda effort last year.

Wave after wave of player testimonials for Mary albeit with some notable absences.

It was embarrassing.

The crude display and the throwing of the players under the bus at the press conference was reminiscent of a naughty boy primary school experience. I was cringing. He was lucky Tyson didn’t tell him to f**k off and walk out. No doubt the joke that is nrl media would have reported on “rude frizzelle”

The players are the unhappiest in the league by a wide margin. They are ill disciplined. They know all they have to do is talk Mary up and it all be ok.

Tyson stabbed the club hard when he left, but my understanding is that he spared the true believers.

Your board are a complete rabble and they should stop treating your club as a plaything and have the courage to take responsibility and resign.

They couldn’t govern an infants school canteen.

BLM01

McGregor defends Dragons job amid pressure

St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor has defended himself amid speculation his days are numbered following a poor start to the season with the Dragons.

After a disastrous 2019 season where they finished second last, two straight losses in 2020 have done nothing to ease pressure on McGregor.

While the competition is suspended due to the coronavirus, former coach Wayne Bennett has been linked to a return to the Dragons where he won the 2010 NRL premiership.

"There's always going to be a conversation around if there's someone better or who's available or he's needs to go, I get that. I understand everyone is not going to be happy."

However, it's believed time is running out for McGregor following a disastrous 2019 that finished with a review of the football department and the club's handling of Jack de Belin's rape charge.

The Dragons have made the finals twice in the past five seasons, but there are doubts McGregor is the man to bring success to the club.

"We need to be better, we understand that. There were a lot of circumstances around the 2019 season.

"Our rounds 1 and 2 this year, we were in the game to win the game, we led the games at different stages but we didn't win. So that escalates the spotlight on myself.

"You've got to focus on what's next and that's the next game we're able to play and what can be gained from it.

"The critics will always be there. I respect that they have an opinion and they like to voice it, but I don't have to listen to it."

Compounding the issue is the loss of Tyson Frizell to Newcastle next season after the NSW and Australia star said he wants to win a premiership before he retires.

McGregor said he is disappointed and saddened to be losing the cornerstone of his pack who has been developed by the hard work of the Dragons coaching staff.

"It's very hard to see a player like that walk out of your organisation but in saying that we are a professional sport and you don't always get what you want," McGregor said.

"I wish him all the best because he's been a great player at the club and he's still got the season to finish at the Saints with us before he starts that journey.

"I'm not sure whether that contract has been registered by the NRL yet or how that works but he's always welcome to stay if he likes."

https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/mcgreg...pressure/5db7c650-333a-47bc-9b84-31f50d751d1a

BSB interview organised by his mate Daley...always going to be a soft approach.
But Mary...no you dont have to listen to anyone else...you never have...even when they can offer improvement to your coaching style
I dont think Tyson will change his mind McTerminate...he already thought about it...why would he?
I know your hard work made him the player he is today as you say...but do you think Tyson cares about that or believes that. Obviously no!
Lot of circumstance arounfd 2019?...yep...lot of big losses there to.
They are the circumstances that count most to all Mary not excuses.
And it is not about respecting you.and your egotistical approach to coaching
...its about WWWW.not LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...4 out of your last 22. Enough said

Crush

This is and excerpt from McGregor's interview. It is particularly revealing.

Finally, the players that you refer to that respect "what you do", are only towing the club line and have lost faith in you long ago. Even the ones that are left.
What does he mean by "I understand everyone isn't going to be happy"?
EVERYONE? Try ANYONE!
Is ANYONE happy with Paul Mcgregor's coaching thus far?
This guy really is a crackup.

LINESPEED

Choc

In his predictably soft suckup to Loz he took credit for Tyson’s elevation to SOO FFS.

Strange then how much better Tyson played when away from The Waterboy

With the Vaughn & Bennett stories underway, along with Tyson’s bird & Lafai’s rage, the temperature’s rising Andrew

... & the Board have probably turned their mobiles off.

Pull the chequebook out mate & send him packing

& you just might keep Tyson & Vaughny

Otherwise you’ll have the Spoon & be the laughingstock of the sporting & corporate worlds

BLM01

In his predictably soft suckup to Loz he took credit for Tyson’s elevation to SOO FFS.

Strange then how much better Tyson played when away from The Waterboy

With the Vaughn & Bennett stories underway, along with Tyson’s bird & Lafai’s rage, the temperature’s rising Andrew

... & the Board have probably turned their mobiles off.

Pull the chequebook out mate & send him packing

& you just might keep Tyson & Vaughny

Otherwise you’ll have the Spoon & be the laughingstock of the sporting & corporate worlds
Mc85 has moved the goal posts to now trotting out the line we were 1 game from a GF....
Its like the how big a fish i caught story
Try and tell South Sydney that as I thought they were in 2018.
New name Mc1....
meaning 1 game from a GF...whichever year that happened I am not sure

Mc85 has moved the goal posts to now trotting out the line we were 1 game from a GF....
Its like the how big a fish i caught story
Try and tell South Sydney that as I thought they were in 2018.
New name Mc1....
meaning 1 game from a GF...whichever year that happened I am not sure

I would have had it that coming 2nd in the 9’s was a tad more contemporary, with no danger of being asked about catastrophic injuries to key players.

A question about the ethical and moral dangers of “ tries from kicks” and how they are actually worse than shoulder charges and spear tackles.

The bold and game changing innovation of the paddles.

Or a few years back, “if the field was 5 metres shorter we would have won the game.” That’s an old family fave.

Once again, even at these clutch moments of believable excuses, McDong fails to deliver.

LINESPEED

I think that is the worst part of this spin doctoring.
No mention of the statistical record of this guy.
No scrutiny in terms of the Team's performance.
Just lots of excuses and rationalization that is embarrassing to be honest.
Why does the club allow it?
He shouldn't be allowed anywhere near a microphone.
Would any other NRL club tolerate this circus?
Absolutely NO.

Ah but he said the boys r into cooking competitions as they mentally prep for The Spoon under his ‘structures’.

FMD the whole interview’s tone was like a time warp of the good old days of western regional amateur footy backscratching in the 50’s:

The sausage sizzle & sponges from the CWA, chook raffle for the Sunshine Club in the pavilion where the cow shit still lingered from the sale, donations for the hospital extension, the turf upgrade, the slow clap off the field, with dogs scrapping under a weatherbeaten stand, kids jumping off the scoreboard, then off to the local as the crows wrangled over scraps in the 44gal drum that doubled for a heater mid winter.

You’re outa ya depth in the Big Smoke Waterboy & need to go back with Lozza to the howlin’ old owl in the woods

& leave the NRL to the big boys & professionals

No wonder we’ve become a retirement hub

Day 16 Ryan Webb