Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Salary Cap

How will this new revelation cost us points???

Sure it paints the board in a poor light(if true) but it's not illegal and has nothing to do with anything but the Parra club and members. If this was the big crescendo after a week of leaks I think we are sweet, though it may cause Sharp and his board to stand down which is what these leakers were after all along.

well that appears to be the third parties agenda, to get rid of the board, none of this has anything to do with the salary cap being investigated by the NRL

seems that these merkins want to bring our board down at any cost and the DT are enjoying the attention

Tommy Coco

Those reported salaries are between $480 and $288 per week, before tax. They are under paid as far as I'm concerned. I have never cared who served on the board for the most but I staunchly support the current guys now, us versus them. If the members are doing any more then 20 hours and 10 and a bit, seems pretty likely, they aren't making minimum wage.
And to be on the front page of the paper with the inference they have stolen money is wicked

oldmancraigy

Tommy_Coco

Those who serve on a board have a job. A board member position is not a 'job' - it is to be part of a group which meets monthly to make business decisions, which the CEO then carries out. It definitely is NOT their 'job', and they most likely pay no tax on their honorarium (an honorarium is tax exempt - well, generally speaking..)

I'd be surprised if any of them put in 10 hours per week, and the basis of serving on a board (of a club) is that it is a hobby, and one is 'giving back' to the local community by doing so.

ash411

I had always assumed that the board positions were voluntary, i.e. unpaid positions.

I get being reimbursed for out of pocket expenses and such, but didn't realise they got paid anything.

Having said that, I'm not outraged by it, in fact, I don't really care. Makes no difference to me if they get an honorarium or not.

Tommy Coco

OMC, for the most, I agree, it was more about pointing out a comparison. Though I would expect that 10 hours wouldn't cover the time they put in, there'd be 4 on game day I'd reckon.

Then to have this leveled against them is beyond reasonable, no other supporter would likely care

IFR33K

Sorry mate all the clowns in the papers are talking up points that's all I'm pretty much worried about. If we lose points which f**ks another season.

No doubt we will get a fine but if we are cap compliant for this year and last I can't see how the loss of points will be an option.

My way of thinking too. I'm hoping any rorts they find date back to 2013/4 under the old board. Dare I say will be near impossible to deduct points off us from back then, under a different admin. But, this is the NRL we are talking about.

Kornstar

Tommy_Coco

Those who serve on a board have a job. A board member position is not a 'job' - it is to be part of a group which meets monthly to make business decisions, which the CEO then carries out. It definitely is NOT their 'job', and they most likely pay no tax on their honorarium (an honorarium is tax exempt - well, generally speaking..)

I'd be surprised if any of them put in 10 hours per week, and the basis of serving on a board (of a club) is that it is a hobby, and one is 'giving back' to the local community by doing so.

I had always assumed that the board positions were voluntary, i.e. unpaid positions.

I get being reimbursed for out of pocket expenses and such, but didn't realise they got paid anything.

Having said that, I'm not outraged by it, in fact, I don't really care. Makes no difference to me if they get an honorarium or not.

I have paid many board members over the years and never have any of them been exempt of tax (without the relevant ATO exemptions for individual circumstances). They may salary sacrifice it all to super but the payments are most definitely taxable.

The industries I've paid have been insurance, airline, finance, government and FMCG. Are the fees paid to licensed clubs exempt?

An Honorarium relating to board positions on the Leagues Club board will be assessable.

If you get paid $200 for a year's worth of effort on Jnr League team, it is not.

eel01s

OMG - the outrage at someone being paid $25k per year! It must stop!

Unbelievable that this passes for front page news. If anything I think that this would help us with the NRL - surely even they can see that this is a witch hunt and nothing to do with salary cap matters.

ash411

OMG - the outrage at someone being paid $25k per year! It must stop!

Unbelievable that this passes for front page news. If anything I think that this would help us with the NRL - surely even they can see that this is a witch hunt and nothing to do with salary cap matters.

It's obvious now that it's an outright smear campaign and they've run out of actual rule breaking to feed to the media.

Maybe the well has now dried up. God I hope so.

hybrideel

So how do our board member payments compare to other clubs? For all we know they upped the payments to allign with a standard from other clubs.

Parraletic

Can we just piss the Merkins off so we can get on with the footy?? FMD over this shit. Piss off Sharp & co & do the right thing. These guys are obviously out of their depth when it comes to running a footy club.

It would be interesting to have a poll on should they stay or go?

why?

this is an internet forum and wouldn't give accurate results seeing anyone can vote

plus there has been nothing from the NRL to say they've even done anything wrong

Delboy

Ironic,,we had a CEO who was paid $400k pa plus expenses and somehow this article appears in the press , related to a club that makes over $10 million profit pa and the President gets a honorarium of $25k

Wonder where the info came from to the media ?

Tommy Coco

What about the pay rise of 150%, OMFG!!

15K pa doesn't sound as exciting, especially when it has to go on the front page. bog average NRL players earn this every month