Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Salary Cap

ash411

Looks like Jake and co will have to wait ..FFS this club shits me personal agendas over club everytime .. Kents

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...s/news-story/e8f50b6a16de68d60840f1f89a0f2df1

There isn't one single line in that article that has anything to do with the board not stepping down or risking losing points, apart from the title and the first line.

The article is complete rubbish, just regurgitated parts of Boulos' statement from a day or two ago, but not a word of new information.

phantom eel

You've never reallly denied being Bartman ... Just sayin.
Do you need me to deny it Jake :sarcasm: Or do you (and nutjobs like Suity) need me to admit it? I could even have a third device with a different stored login... and others here may have changed logins/names over the years too.

I'm pretty sure Stagger used to post as Eelavation, and The Colonel used to post as Colonel Eel, some american dude was Big Boppa Eel and then changed his login to something else that I've now forgotten... The people and user names come and go, and what does it matter anyway... after all it's just words on a page on the internet ;-).

woddy

Yep.. Heaps of quotes in that article to back up the headline.. Not.

But Boulous? statement yesterday only cast more concern over the Eels? precarious position as he indicated that none of the bosses were looking to give up their positions.

That's all I needed :) .... More infighting, axes to grind etc .. Gee it's just like this forum .

phantom eel

There isn't one single line in that article that has anything to do with the board not stepping down or risking losing points, apart from the title and the first line.

The article is complete rubbish, just regurgitated parts of Boulos' statement from a day or two ago, but not a word of new information.
Yep, Telegraph article is just click bait crap, to stir the masses into discontent. Have to question, who is feeding the agenda... and who is falling for it.

Article could easily have had the headline "destabilising forces refuse to halt, trying to cause club they support to lose points." Time the attention was focussed on Spags and Fitzy, moreso than Sharp.

woddy

But Boulous? statement yesterday only cast more concern over the Eels? precarious position as he indicated that none of the bosses were looking to give up their positions.

Glad you read it :) cheers

So let's think, the board stands down, who gets the gig

Can't be Spags as he can't hold office, the Emperor rides in on his white horse with the support of radio jock, does anyone think that whoever is doing this stuff will stop, no. It will continue because the hate is still there. These guys are such Pelicans that it will continue

Probably isn't helped by ex officers happy to leak stuff as well

This board has been quite amateurish when it comes to talking to the press, but they have certainly set the club up with a booming and improving leagues club, new training facilities and support staff. The press stuff ups possibly comes from being bombarded by nutters like Slothfield, Danny Weedkiller, Adrian and Massoud - giving them any response will always be twisted

Certainly there are areas around membership and ticketing which needs work ( the person next to me was offered a family ticket , which was unexpectedly 2 seats and 2 seats not together), which was not explained and he did not know until he received the season tickets.

Looking at the response from John Boulos, that appears the ideal response, and from the NRL they haven't mentioned anything other than the need to examine all clubs TPAs.

Jake will come on and say we are all apologists, he reminds me of the old bloke sitting on the verandah outside the general store in a country town, muttering " I never liked him, I will make sure he suffers etc etc.. We all want what's best do the club and if that means a change so be it, but those in charge have been white anted from the get go, with the majority of problems taking place before they fully took charge, and whilst some things could have been handled better- they were under fire for anything from the get go by those that still crave power and control

You know what, you can call me whatever you want - Old man Jake lol. BUT the fact remains this board have been incompetent from the start. That's why we are in this position. I mean if they were truely professional would we be in this position to talk about them? Answer is Nooo. They have given us plenty of reasons to be so upset with them. It's just been total mismanagement. So you can either keep supporting them or demand change. I'm demanding change free of factions.

if the board ignores the NRL and didn't resign and made the team cop a points penalty. That would be the ultimate act of selfishness. I hope they do the honourable thing if they care for the club.

phantom eel

Do you think the article is not rubbish Woddy? Do you think there is more concern after Boulous' statement?

I'm confused...

woddy

Do you think the article is not rubbish Woddy? Do you think there is more concern after Boulous' statement?

I'm confused...

Telecrap is just that. But as we have seen over the last weeks about salary cap scandal ,where there is smoke ......

I can't see anyone falling ... BA seems to get the media gig ?

ash411

Glad you read it :) cheers

Yeah I read you post 3 posts up, thanks, no need to wear out your ctrl, C and V keys mate.

It doesn't say that at all, he doesn't mention their intention to step down or to not step down.

I honestly wish they'd just come out and call this what it is. A fitzy led lynch mob using the media to stir up resentment toward the board.

The media have absolutely no idea what is happening between the NRL and the Eels board, you know why? Cause neither have spoken to the media yet. Every word they have written so far about punishments and the like have been either speculation or just flat out fabrication. If they haven't heard from the NRL (not one article has quoted any statement from NRL management) how could have any clue what any specific punishment might be?

Woddy, don't believe what you read in the Telegraph, they have no clue what's actually happening, and even if they did, they'd write a more "interesting" article anyway, i.e. one showing us in "Crisis" and "huge trouble" because that get more attention.

ash411

You know what, you can call me whatever you want - Old man Jake lol. BUT the fact remains this board have been incompetent from the start. That's why we are in this position. I mean if they were truely professional would we be in this position to talk about them? Answer is Nooo. They have given us plenty of reasons to be so upset with them. It's just been total mismanagement. So you can either keep supporting them or demand change. I'm demanding change free of factions.

if the board ignores the NRL and didn't resign and made the team cop a points penalty. That would be the ultimate act of selfishness. I hope they do the honourable thing if they care for the club.

Hey Jake, can you point me to the official statement from the NRL asking any members the board to resign or we will be deducted competition points?

I haven't seen one, but it must exist if you are so dead set about it.

woddy

Seems like every CEO, board whoever has always tried to trump the emporer with their own brand of stupidity. f**k personal shit , just run the Club as a club , not some secret insider trading corp stealing millions from the world bank . I hope telecrap have it totally wrong and the board falls before The NRL gives an ultimatum ..

Hey Jake, can you point me to the official statement from the NRL asking any members the board to resign or we will be deducted competition points?

I haven't seen one, but it must exist if you are so dead set about it.

Yeah that's why I included the word "if"

But don't be so naive to think that the NRL has not put pressure on the board already in private. Reporters from both Fairfax and News Ltd have contacts within the NRL and both organisations are reporting the same thing from Their so called "sources"..... If there's smoke ....

ash411

Seems like every CEO, board whoever has always tried to trump the emporer with their own brand of stupidity. f**k personal shit , just run the Club as a club , not some secret insider trading corp stealing millions from the world bank . I hope telecrap have it totally wrong and the board falls before The NRL gives an ultimatum ..

I severely doubt that the NRL will force the board to step down. They may insist on appointing a few directors to the board at the next election, but short of that, I really doubt they'll be calling for heads.

ash411

Yeah that's why I included the word "if"

But don't be so naive to think that the NRL has not put pressure on the board already in private. Reporters from both Fairfax and News Ltd have contacts within the NRL and both organisations are reporting the same thing from Their so called "sources"..... If there's smoke ....

yeah, see but that's not what your "if" meant. Your if was if the board ignores the NRL mandate to step down, not IF the NRL mandates they step down. You were inferring that such a demand already exists.

Stop back-peddling. I can read.

yeah, see but that's not what your "if" meant. Your if was if the board ignores the NRL mandate to step down, not IF the NRL mandates they step down. You were inferring that such a demand already exists.

Stop back-peddling. I can read.

:lol: no worries you know more than me about what I mean and write lol.

Unless I'm missing something I can't see where the NRL has indicated any loss of points but the media seem to thrive on suggesting this in order to promote their ratings and newspaper sales. I was impressed with the statements made by John Boulous. Hopefully someday these (known) former directors, CEO's, radio jocks, and others will be caught out and then held accountable for their longstanding actions designed to stretch their own egos and destroy whoever is in office -- those same people who proclaim to have the best interests of the Club at heart.

ash411

Well if its points or heads ... let the blood flow .

Agreed, Should the NRL decide that they will threaten the club with the loss of even 1 point if any number of board member refuse to step down, they should step down by the end of that exact day.

No board member is worth even 1 competition point.

It is highly unlikely that the NRL will do that though.