Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Saturday Semi-final and Preliminary Final

seventieschick

Hi there, just wondering if someone could please tell me whether the saturday Semi-final in week 2 (Semi-final 2) and the saturday Preliminary Final in week 3 (Preliminary final 2) are normally afternoon games or night games.

Thanks! :)

Bring back choc

Pretty positive the pre lim final is a saturday night game...providing we win vs Parra and get the week off.
If not, then it could change.

Doug2234

as they are both on a Saturday. i would say night games!

if there was a Sunday game thrown in there somewhere it would be arvo!

Steel Dragon

Going by the Ticketek website, Week 2 and Week 3 games are on Friday & Saturday therefore I would presume that they are night games.

I think the NRL have ditched the Sunday arvo preliminary final.

http://premier.ticketek.com.au/shows/show.aspx?sh=NRLFINALS

That sucks balls!
Surely more people can get to Sat and Sunday games than Friday?!?!
The NRL is bitching that not enough fans can get to the game cos its not at the SFS and then they schedule another final on the Fri.

Woulnt it be much easier for outta towners and interstaters to come if its not straight after work on a friday night!?!?

SN0WMAN

TV rights won again. Think last season was the first they had Fri/Sat finals instead of Sat/Sun.

Friday night footy is one of the highest ranking TV nites for Ch 9

What sucks for out-of-towners is that the finals are no longer all played in Sydney, used to be heaps of competitions in the country to go to a weekend of finals football, Sat and Sun 3 grades each day.

the 3rd week game will be on saturday night...

the afl grand final is on the same day... tv rights wise, channel 9 would have no luck as the AFL GF (AFL for short) seems to rate pretty well.. even in Sydney.

Saint Angelo

Yep, those were the glory days...

Saturday & Sunday afternoon final series games kicking off at 3pm at the SFS. You would wake up in the morning, read the papers, and start to get pumped-up for a sudden death match. Put on the Red V jersey, jump in the car, pick up your mates and head off to the ground driving past fellow supporters along the way and listening to "Hollywood & Zorba" on the radio. You would arrive just after midday and start quenching your thirst as you watch the lower grade sides go around. And then come 3pm you were all hyped up and ready for a great afternoon's game of footy.

But what happens these days ?

Your team plays on Friday Night, you have to leave work early to make sure that you can get to the game in time, spend over an 1 hour battling the peak hour traffic to travel 10kms to the game. You get the game after doing a Clark Kent (Superman) style change of clothes in the car, train or bus and barely manage to get to your seat as the main game is about to kick-off. Then, in next to no time, it is half time, the food and beverage bars are closing down, your starving, haven't had a drink, have hardly spoken to your mates and if your team is losing, you are most probably starting to think about how long it is going to take to get out of the god damn place.

Anyway, we can still enjoy this Sunday's clash in the traditional way.

Go you Mighty Dragons !!!!!!!!!!

Fein

Yep, those were the glory days...

Saturday & Sunday afternoon final series games kicking off at 3pm at the SFS. You would wake up in the morning, read the papers, and start to get pumped-up for a sudden death match. Put on the Red V jersey, jump in the car, pick up your mates and head off to the ground driving past fellow supporters along the way and listening to "Hollywood & Zorba" on the radio. You would arrive just after midday and start quenching your thirst as you watch the lower grade sides go around. And then come 3pm you were all hyped up and ready for a great afternoon's game of footy.

But what happens these days ?

Your team plays on Friday Night, you have to leave work early to make sure that you can get to the game in time, spend over an 1 hour battling the peak hour traffic to travel 10kms to the game. You get the game after doing a Clark Kent (Superman) style change of clothes in the car, train or bus and barely manage to get to your seat as the main game is about to kick-off. Then, in next to no time, it is half time, the food and beverage bars are closing down, your starving, haven't had a drink, have hardly spoken to your mates and if your team is losing, you are most probably starting to think about how long it is going to take to get out of the god damn place.

Anyway, we can still enjoy this Sunday's clash in the traditional way.

Go you Mighty Dragons !!!!!!!!!!

Mate, that is a great post that really does encapsulate what is missing in the NRL these days.

Bloody well said!!