Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Scomo saving me

Quicksilver

The Pink Baaaatttts now that was a success story for Kevin 07.

yep a lot of houses got insulation and improved their energy efficiency.

some bosses put their employees and residents in dangerous positions by breaking a plethora of existing laws.

Where did Fat Clive (well one of the main places) place his bullshit ads in? Who owns the Media Press in Aus. Yep khhunnt head Murdoch the maggot.

You might not of realised this but the Fibs didn't have to go overboard on advertising because Fat Clive (yeah the same Fat Clive that got the new mine lic.) was committed to doing the dirty work for them. He was off the leash and unhinged.
But they had scomo out front
Scomo!

blame labour mate
They butchered it somehow

Generalzod

But they had scomo out front
Scomo!

blame labour mate
They butchered it somehow
Indeed labour did butchered the winnable election, A question was ask to the shadow treasurer Bowen at the time of the election, in regards to their tax policies and he replied something in the like if you don’t like our policies don’t vote for us....I found that to be the turning point of the election.

Sharkman

Indeed labour did butchered the winnable election, A question was ask to the shadow treasurer Bowen at the time of the election, in regards to their tax policies and he replied something in the like if you don’t like our policies don’t vote for us....I found that to be the turning point of the election.

I thought it was significant. But I thought it was finally a great line.

Too many years and too many pollies trying to govern based on Twitter trends. It was refreshing to hear that.

They had a plan, it was probably the right one, they had the right rhetoric, but what they couldn’t do was explain to people why it mattered and why it wasn’t going to ruin their quality of life.

Shorten was peacocking around the joint like mick jagger before the election.

I thought ... people don’t like that shit.

I thought it was significant. But I thought it was finally a great line.

Too many years and too many pollies trying to govern based on Twitter trends. It was refreshing to hear that.

They had a plan, it was probably the right one, they had the right rhetoric, but what they couldn’t do was explain to people why it mattered and why it wasn’t going to ruin their quality of life.

My opinion mind you. I too believe it was the right plan and I also believe the 'we' aussies have had it so good for so long that a hell of a lot of people just don't give a shit unless it effects them in their own backyard.

It was only a matter of time before some form of shit started hitting the fan that would tip this situation over. The drought, the fires and now this and fharrrk me isn't there a lot of people squealling like stuck pigs right now.

I just hope that all those poor charndts that were sitting on the back of their luxury yatchs sipping the best and whinging about their franking credits getting stolen are now doing it okay.

You only had to look at how the world was trending and how most were going to shit to realise that our day was coming.

This mob (the Fibs) hoped that it wouldn't happen on their watch. Well fharrk me dead it has and now they have to deal with it. And so do we, the poor old punters.

(Just delivered some groceries to one of me mates who is in self imposed isolation after coming back from down south )

It is going to take years to get over all of this.

Eion

Well, my take on Corona specifically is the libs are the less debt party and their big push to get back to surplus (regardless of their political or other motivation at the time) we are now better able to handle the financial fallout of all this. I’d rather them at the helm than the other mob.

Generalzod

Well, my take on Corona specifically is the libs are the less debt party and their big push to get back to surplus (regardless of their political or other motivation at the time) we are now better able to handle the financial fallout of all this. I’d rather them at the helm than the other mob.
The other mob did a good job with the GFC stimulus kept millions of people in jobs

Eion

The other mob did a good job with the GFC stimulus kept millions of people in jobs
They certainly spent, and I wasn’t overly critical of them at the time...though plenty have cast a light on the pink bat / school hall type stuff. But they had to spend and they did. Fair enough.

But I think it’s fair to say to big worry about the libs for this type of thing was that they would ideologically opposed to spending in a crisis. They’ve proven that wrong by coughing up 10% of GPD so far. The advantage as I see it is they have more to spend because they saved for a few years and I have more confidence they’ll fix the books quicker than the last mob.

You do know what the RECORD NATIONAL DEBT was PRIOR to all this shit hitting the fan. You know the debt figure that was plastered on a lot of billboards and which Tony Abbott always stood in front of during his election campaign.

Yeah this mob are teflon when it comes to manageing debt and how it is reported.

Eion

You do know what the RECORD NATIONAL DEBT was PRIOR to all this shit hitting the fan. You know the debt figure that was plastered on a lot of billboards and which Tony Abbott always stood in front of during his election campaign.

Yeah this mob are teflon when it comes to manageing debt and how it is reported.
There was heaps of debt but they were actively trying to fix it. The other mob didn’t seem interested in that at all.

Quicksilver

There was heaps of debt but they were actively trying to fix it. The other mob didn’t seem interested in that at all.

So says Alan Jones. Paul Murray. Andrew Bolt.

If you say something 3 times it becomes fact.

It's the same way that Trump works.

You repeat something enough, it sticks.

Eion

So says Alan Jones. Paul Murray. Andrew Bolt.

If you say something 3 times it becomes fact.

It's the same way that Trump works.

You repeat something enough, it sticks.
Mate if you to pretend that labor taxes and spends less then have it. It’s nonsense. I actually have some left leanings (believe it or not) when it comes to public schooling in particular and did vote for Kevin07. But I’m more confident in the libs responding to this sensibly and recovering better.

Quicksilver

Mate if you to pretend that labor taxes and spends less then have it. It’s nonsense. I actually have some left leanings (believe it or not) when it comes to public schooling in particular and did vote for Kevin07. But I’m more confident in the libs responding to this sensibly and recovering better.

They might have even taxed more in certain areas and put it back into essential services.

Spreading the money more evenly throughout the economy and having a multiplier effect. Rather than just over-inflating asset prices.

Now asset prices will come back to earth with a massive thud and we'll all lose anyway. We didn't even make a good return before. We just inflated asset values and thought we were rich.

Generalzod

Geez it’s incredible the liberals are not labelling the unemployed as bludgers there even doubling their payments....

Carch I don’t know I’m just a simple man with simple needs but did the government really need to do all of this, more people die from the flu...
It’s weird
I’ve seen people on tv and online who have it and say it’s nothing.
I’ve also seen people saying they thought they’d die they were so sick.
Last year I got the flu - a real flu.
Took about 6 weeks to recover from.
I’ve never been so sick.
I couldn’t lay down my chest was so infected.

if it is like that then they did the right thing.
I’m not taking any chances.
I’m a hermit.
I hate socialising anyway.