Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Season 2026

Another season is on us and some things dont changed. The commentators banging on how great the game is, it would be easier to take all that nonsense in if the league addressed the unfair playing field they have developed and accepted as normal practice.
For starers the draw, always benefits Brisbane with Friday night games and 7 day turn arounds, bye rounds Melbourne are going for 20+ wins in the first round , what that says is that they are over due for a bye round in the first round as their last one was 2004, unlike the Tigers who are having their second in 3 years.The lesser clubs getting screwed with the 50/50 calls like Saints yesterday by the ref. As i said some things never change, for teams like us to be really successful this year we have to over come what the privileged teams just consider a normal entitlement.
Brisbane also get an extra home game each year. They are always allocated an away game during magic round.

It's up to us to push our way into the favoured club bracket. As much as I hate the dogs, they're doing just that now. It's not possible IMO with our current owners. They have no idea how to be successful on the football field, and they don't have the brains to hire someone who can, and they stay out their way while they try and get the job done.

Galvin’s ‘dominant’ message to Dogs critics​

--------------
I wouldn't have used the word dominate?
Are journo's paid mouthpieces for player managers.

He was ordinary. Galvin simply is big news because of what happened with us. If he doesn't improve significantly the tide will turn.

It sucks big time. We get the bye in the first round which is useless and it's a 2 week round.

Agree, it feels longer due to it being a split round. I thought the one advantage of having the bye would the team you play may have had a HIA the week before, but of course we get a team who has the week off LOL.

For the Cows looks like Mikaele and Burns will both be out from yesterday with Drinkwater in some doubt, if its just rib cartlidge though he'll just get needled up.

Surprised we haven't heard nothing about the Luai & Bula signings?
I don't think it's urgent, but if they are signing, get it done.

Surprised we haven't nothing about the Luai & Bula signings?
I don't think it's urgent, but if they are signing, get it done.

I'm not expecting to hear anything about Luai. I am expecting to hear something on Bula but maybe Bula and his manager are going to try and let him ride out the season and hope his price increases.

I hate to say it but I'm starting to see @The Silverdale Phantom point on the topic. The Bula re-signing hasn't been easy and we've been good to him.

Who knows though what is happening.

I'm not expecting to hear anything about Luai. I am expecting to hear something on Bula but maybe Bula and his manager are going to try and let him ride out the season and hope his price increases.

I hate to say it but I'm starting to see @The Silverdale Phantom point on the topic. The Bula re-signing hasn't been easy and we've been good to him.

Who knows though what is happening.

Agree

I dont think Luai will take his clause out and TBH it doesnt bother me at all. He's openly said he'll stay as long as the club does the right thing by him. He doesnt seem like a guy who would break his word.

Bula on the other hand is a bit more worrying. The trial was the worst game Ive ever seen him play, he looked like a guy with either one foot out the door or a lot on his mind. Ive been told our offer to him averages out to around $950k a season which to me is overs so not sure what the hold up is on his end.

Nutz

Galvin’s ‘dominant’ message to Dogs critics​

--------------
I wouldn't have used the word dominate?
Are journo's paid mouthpieces for player managers.
He would know his way around a Maccas store better
Agree

I dont think Luai will take his clause out and TBH it doesnt bother me at all. He's openly said he'll stay as long as the club does the right thing by him. He doesnt seem like a guy who would break his word.

Bula on the other hand is a bit more worrying. The trial was the worst game Ive ever seen him play, he looked like a guy with either one foot out the door or a lot on his mind. Ive been told our offer to him averages out to around $950k a season which to me is overs so not sure what the hold up is on his end.
Yep, if you had to base his salary on his trial form it would be way lower.
If his manager is waiting for a sudden increase in form hense money increase, it could backfire, especially if he's injured.
For me it's just a distraction we don't need and I'm sick of talking about him.
Maybe we should rename him Fulla.

No one is in a hurry to sign him and there’s safety in numbers.

Offers have probably been tabled at more modest amounts and he probably thinks he can out-play the market.

Therefore, he should be chomping at the bit for a stellar season.

But there won’t be much forgiveness if he fluffs it.

I’m glad the hysteria has died down.

Offers have probably been tabled at more modest amounts and he probably thinks he can out-play the market.

Who are you talking about?
Luai or Bula?

Footy mate at work, $625k is all he find in the kitty for Bula 2 seasons.

It almost came to fistycuffs to get him up from $600 flat.

“ he hasn’t done anything” was the retort from footy mate.

Nutz

That's the spirit 😸