Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Second Brisbane Club

Hello, I'm The Doctor

I like that idea of a second Brisbane/SEQ club being a united BRL team that the Broncos killed off.

QRL could be behind some or all of it and it could be a direct feeder to the clubs not already aligned with GC or Broncos.

Call the team Brisbane United with the old Q shaped badge as above

Yeh, the more i think about it, the better it seems...

- The Red-White colours are distinct from every other team except StGeorge (but better than blue which is/has been used by every team bar 3), and they wouldnt look like a shitty NSW Origin knock-off like the Titans do.

- The Q would give the team a nationalistic appeal to Queenslanders while antagonising NSWmen.

- Whichever name they pick (Brisbane United/Brisbane Firsts) will probably antagonise Broncos fans without annoying BRL fans

I also reckon they should put an "Established 1907" just to really shout the fact that they arent just another plastic team like the Broncos

(I dont know what their mascot could be; maybe a red Kangaroo or something. It might even be better to not give them any and let the fans develop an nickname naturally)

Irish-bulldog

Yeh, Souths, Dogs and Parra clearly are being ruined by lack of interest.

They are only doubling the attendance of the wonderful suburban clubs....
You picked the biggest supported teams in Sydney :joy:, doubling I doubt and question that stat mate. I believe we should give those suburban clubs better home grounds. Create some community pride in those areas, Sydney has too many teams that's the problem. Brisbane we are taking about one more club, totally different situation, I know the area and the people, not many people like league more then I do, and I'm telling you if the Dolphins played out of Suncorp it wouldn't connect with me.

Irish-bulldog

If you think Brisbane will support a second team out of Suncorp the home of the Broncos your the ones who are delusional, reality check needed boys lol.

You picked the biggest supported teams in Sydney :joy:, doubling I doubt and question that stat mate. I believe we should give those suburban clubs better home grounds. Create some community pride in those areas, Sydney has too many teams that's the problem. Brisbane we are taking about one more club, totally different situation, I know the area and the people, not many people like league more then I do, and I'm telling you if the Dolphins played out of Suncorp it wouldn't connect with me.

It is no surprise the three smallest Sydney clubs are the outer suburb clubs (Cronulla, manly, Penrith) whilst the most supported clubs are centralised (Bulldogs, parra, Souths). It would be madness to try and create an outer suburban Brisbane team.

Irish-bulldog

It is no surprise the three smallest Sydney clubs are the outer suburb clubs (Cronulla, manly, Penrith) whilst the most supported clubs are centralised (Bulldogs, parra, Souths). It would be madness to try and create an outer suburban Brisbane team.
Do you understand the Brisbane area? Not having a crack honest question , it's different to Sydney .

The Great Dane

Do you understand the Brisbane area? Not having a crack honest question , it's different to Sydney .

I do.

It's a city like any other city!

It's pretty simple, everybody in Redcliffe, Fortitude Valley, wherever, considers themselves as a person from Brisbane, but not everybody in Brisbane considers themselves as a person from Redcliffe or Fortitude Valley.
So from a marketing perspective why wouldn't you appeal to as many people as possible by calling yourself Brisbane and playing your games in a relatively centralised stadium.

I get your argument about Suncorp, but unless one of the smaller clubs in Brisbane can develop their own stadium into a minimum 30-35 thousand seater with reasonable public transport to and from the ground it simply isn't feasible for a new club in Brisbane to play anywhere but Suncorp or the Gabba at the moment, and why would you play at the Gabba when you've got the best rectangular stadium in the country just down road!

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Yeh, its pure coincidence that the biggest clubs are centralised and the smallest clubs in sydney are suburban clubs on the city fringes

PURE COINCIDENCE...

Stormwarrior82

For me personally I don't think redcliffe is the answer. I don't think any club can compete with the broncos. redcliffe is and always will be a well supported club in the redcliffe area, and that's it. They have a new railway into kippa ring but not to the stadium so transports an issue.

What could compete with broncos is Ipswich. Whether they use that name or something else Ipswich for me is the answer.

There will be massive growth in population over the next 20 years (meaning kids).

Already a huge rugby league nursery.

A local government more than willing to help.

Ipswich and Brisbane have a natural rivalry.

Can use suncorp for a few years till Ipswich build a 30,000 seat stadium (to be increased to 50,000 in 20yrs)

This is what is needed.

Irish-bulldog

For me personally I don't think redcliffe is the answer. I don't think any club can compete with the broncos. redcliffe is and always will be a well supported club in the redcliffe area, and that's it. They have a new railway into kippa ring but not to the stadium so transports an issue.

What could compete with broncos is Ipswich. Whether they use that name or something else Ipswich for me is the answer.

There will be massive growth in population over the next 20 years (meaning kids).

Already a huge rugby league nursery.

A local government more than willing to help.

Ipswich and Brisbane have a natural rivalry.

Can use suncorp for a few years till Ipswich build a 30,000 seat stadium (to be increased to 50,000 in 20yrs)

This is what is needed.

Yeah Redcliffe or Ipswich are the answer to a second team in my opinion, either one, both large growth areas. Redcliffe isn't just Redcliffe, it's Caboolture, north lakes and all those surrounding areas. They would need to extend the railway To the stadium.

If Ipswich is the second team they must have there own stadium built, own identity, it's all about 1 town teams moving forward. Who wants another Sydney.

You can have the name/identity and play centrally. Dockers weren't stupid enough to play in Fremantle oval, they play at the big stadium. Why? Because they draw fans from all over the city, not just Fremantle and need a venue that makes them financially competitive with the Eagles.

Can you really see the Qland Govt building a $350million stadium 45km from Suncorp?
Would be like Perth Govt building another AFL stadium in Mandurah despite having a state of the art 65k stadium 50km away at Burswood lol

A generic name like South Queensland or SW Queensland might work but you don't want it too non descript and it does need to have a point of difference from Broncos and a different appeal. But not to the point where it ends up a small suburban club swamped by its two bigger brothers (presuming GC ever come good)

A compromise of South Queensland Jets playing in Jets colours and based in Ipswich but playing at Suncorp might be the answer? then in another millenia we may even get to North Brisbane Dolphins based in Redcliffe and playing out of suncorp?

johnny plath

You can have the name/identity and play centrally. Dockers weren't stupid enough to play in Fremantle oval, they play at the big stadium. Why? Because they draw fans from all over the city, not just Fremantle and need a venue that makes them financially competitive with the Eagles.

Can you really see the Qland Govt building a $350million stadium 45km from Suncorp?
Would be like Perth Govt building another AFL stadium in Mandurah despite having a state of the art 65k stadium 50km away at Burswood lol

A generic name like South Queensland or SW Queensland might work but you don't want it too non descript and it does need to have a point of difference from Broncos and a different appeal. But not to the point where it ends up a small suburban club swamped by its two bigger brothers (presuming GC ever come good)

A compromise of South Queensland Jets playing in Jets colours and based in Ipswich but playing at Suncorp might be the answer? then in another millenia we may even get to North Brisbane Dolphins based in Redcliffe and playing out of suncorp?
For me, Redcliffe and Ipswich aren't whats needed because imo they are basically geographically copies similar to Manly and Penrith - one is its own entity on a peninsular and really only loved by those who live there, and one is an outlying suburb/satellite city only loved by those who live there (I'm generallising and have nothing against any of those places, but they aren't the competitor/broncos alternate that people seem to think is essential. I don't see how Redcliffe or Ipswich will generate the corporate support needed, and don't have a centralised identity that will draw support broadly across Brisbane. I think a second team needs to be based in Brisbane and identify as Brisbane something. I'm not a fan of the all encompassing SEQ identity because in reality with Broncos and Titans SEQ is represented already. Those larger regions are already playing in a decent competition in the Intrust Cup, along with the other large regional centres of Qld, and theyr'e a good fit there. Brisbane two needs to be something different to that if its going to succeed going head to head with one of, if not the largest richest footy clubs in Australia. Big thinking is needing, not another suburb.

The Great Dane

I've always been a fan of using the old Diehards brand, maybe with a bit of modern reimagining like WSW did when they brought the Wanderers brand back from the dead. Call them the Brisbane united Diehards (or whatever), then make up some cock and bull story saying that the NRL wouldn't let them use blue because there're to many teams with blue strips, and have a public vote to choose the new colour. Or something like that anyway.

titoelcolombiano

Yes, forward thinking = doing what Sydney clubs have been doing for 100 years

It is interesting to see what you consider to be "forward thinking". We have basically 2 models of club; centralised club (Broncos, who regularly get 30K) and suburban club (Tigers/Panthers/Manly/Sharks, who generally average around 13k)

How innovative to follow the 13k path...

I dont think its all that necesary to pick a team everyone loves, id even say that is detrimental to the team...

Love or hate, a team needs to inspire emotion. The worst thing a team can be is innocuous; my Knights are just that, no one hates us, so no one cares when we are playing against their team (Titans are an even better example. so innocuous, they inspire no emotion at all). Its far better to be like the Dragons/Rabbits/Manly; anyone who doesnt love them will probably hates them, so all of their games are worth watching.

Having said that, DieHards would be a pretty good brand as well (Just dont run away from the clubs history for fear of offending people).

And if not them, we could use the BRL Unities/Combined Brisbane rep jumper/logo to represent the entire BRL

Combined_Brisbane_Division_Poinsettia_Badge.jpg
220px-Joe_Kilroy_-_Combined_Brisbane_1984.jpg

Oldest RL brand in QLD and it represents the comp that the Broncos killed/usurped...

(Using the old "Brisbane Firsts" name would be great too. basically saying "f*ck the Broncos, we are the original Brissy team")

Love this!

Stormwarrior82

For me, Redcliffe and Ipswich aren't whats needed because imo they are basically geographically copies similar to Manly and Penrith - one is its own entity on a peninsular and really only loved by those who live there, and one is an outlying suburb/satellite city only loved by those who live there (I'm generallising and have nothing against any of those places, but they aren't the competitor/broncos alternate that people seem to think is essential. I don't see how Redcliffe or Ipswich will generate the corporate support needed, and don't have a centralised identity that will draw support broadly across Brisbane. I think a second team needs to be based in Brisbane and identify as Brisbane something. I'm not a fan of the all encompassing SEQ identity because in reality with Broncos and Titans SEQ is represented already. Those larger regions are already playing in a decent competition in the Intrust Cup, along with the other large regional centres of Qld, and theyr'e a good fit there. Brisbane two needs to be something different to that if its going to succeed going head to head with one of, if not the largest richest footy clubs in Australia. Big thinking is needing, not another suburb.

I agree with some of what you say but everyone has to be honest and admit that no team in Brisbane can rival the 30yr broncos. Valley, norths, redcliffe. I just can't see it. Greater Ipswich currently has a population of around 200,000 to grow to 400,000 in 2030. Which is 100,000 more than Newcastle currently is. Brisbane West/western Brisbane jets or the like would encompass all of west Brisbane rather than a suburb as you say. Play the initial years at suncorp with free travel and train loads of fans but 400,000 fans needs there own stadium like a parramatta stadium in 2030. The western Brisbane Jets should have the Springfield owner on board and be a people's club.

King hit

I keep thinking if Ipswich, Redcliffe can bid for a license I can't see why Toowoomba can't. They've got a huge Rugby League fanbase and junior system there, have a strong history in Rugby League and some truly great players have come from the area. I spend a bit of time there (family and my parents were born there) and if there was a team there the community would get behind them like crazy.

I would have a liking towards the team as well

Haven't we agreed we shouldn't repeat the mistakes of Sydney in introducing suburban clubs that will have around 15k fans at best?