Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

See ya Slater

Canard

Meh

I can’t take any moral high ground.

I boo’ed him in 2015.

And tallis in 2004. The tallis one was pretty sweet though. Considering he even admits he was asked by news to come back home to NQ to try and help get us competitive when he signed with SL and he refused, but likes to carry on as if he’s the most loyal NQ bloke to ever walk a rugby league field, I say f**k the merkin. And for his last game to be a loss in NQ, it was beautiful to be there for.

Petro and Parker on the other hand, I applauded their last ever games, which were also in NQ.

Tallis retired mid game, fair game for the booing IMO.....

I deadset almost teared up when Hodges spoke in 15, maybe because he is Murri kid from Cairns, who achieved a lot

Canard

Roosters fans booing Slater and then cheering for a guy who bashed up his gf 4 times was pretty ironic lol

That's the crazy part, all this justification of booing, and no ability to realise that this sort of thing could be made for every club and especially a very hated one like the Roosters.

I mean that game was basically Hitler V Stalin.

mave

Except I dont see Sharkies or Roosters fans crying when their players get booed.
Gallen has made a living off getting booed, especially in QLD
Latrell Mitchell will do the same in his career.
DCE is another, except his home State hates him too.

myrrh ken

Billy can always take his own advice and go to his room and have a cry

I mean fair dinkum. Act like a merkin, expect to be booed. You can't expect reverence for a particular moment of your choosing. People have long memories

Canard

Except I dont see Sharkies or Roosters fans crying when their players get booed.
Gallen has made a living off getting booed, especially in QLD
Latrell Mitchell will do the same in his career.
DCE is another, except his home State hates him too.

Latrell? Really? Not for mine he seems like a likeable guy and an exciting player to watch.

Yes the commentators jerk off over him, but because I'm not 12 years old I know that's not something to hate him for.

moffla

Wasnt too fussed on the booking during the game, because that’s all part of the mental edge. Didn’t think it was right for booing to continue every time his face was on screen post match. But whatever, he’s acheieved more than just about anyone else in that stadium so I’m sure he won’t be feeling too bad about himself

SDM

Slater started his career by kicking Skandalis in the face and copping 7 weeks. Then somehow when he spent the next 15 years stopping tries with his knees and studs, and karate kicking people in the face while the media claimed it wasn’t his go. All the while crying to the ref every time an opposition player looked at him. And dumbf**ks think the tip of the iceberg is behind the boos.

Barkley

Billy is one of the greatest pieces of shit to step on the footy field. No doubt a great player, arguably the best ever fullback. But he deserved every boo he received last night. Hopefully there are a few people following him around today to continue the barrage.

The NRL only has itself to blame for last night. He has got away with grubby cheating acts on the field his whole career and they continue to put him on a pedestal. Fans were sick of it and decided to let Billy and the NRL know about it.

Bravo to the 80k who attended last night.

myrrh ken

Wasnt too fussed on the booking during the game, because that’s all part of the mental edge. Didn’t think it was right for booing to continue every time his face was on screen post match. But whatever, he’s acheieved more than just about anyone else in that stadium so I’m sure he won’t be feeling too bad about himself
Exactly. Won't give it a second thought and neither should we

Penrose Warrior

Billy is one of the greatest pieces of shit to step on the footy field. No doubt a great player, arguably the best ever fullback. But he deserved every boo he received last night. Hopefully there are a few people following him around today to continue the barrage.

The NRL only has itself to blame for last night. He has got away with grubby cheating acts on the field his whole career and they continue to put him on a pedestal. Fans were sick of it and decided to let Billy and the NRL know about it.

Bravo to the 80k who attended last night.

Totally agree. By creating a protected species in Slater, and in fact the whole Melbourne side, the NRL opened itself up to the booing. Again for Canard's benefit, I'm not saying it's right to do it. I wouldn't have. But rugby league fans are quite often feral bogans who will take any opportunity to boo or cause a ruckus. Fans resent the preferential treatment Slater got... some vented online, some in work places and pubs/bars etc, and some went further at the GF and booed. If the GF had been two weeks ago, or Slater hadn't been absolved of a clear breach of the laws, he wouldn't have been booed.

Just makes me laugh that people like Cam Smith then say that Slater has 'only ever been someone good for the game' when that's what he and the sycophantic media might want you to think, but it's complete f**king BS. Slater's (and Smith's) rap sheets are endless and full of filth. They deserve to be lauded for their on-field skill but as people I reckon they're both lacking - Smith especially.