Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sharks boycott team photo shoot.

I completely understand the need for post-career support, however it can become very murky - how do they prove that injuries/issues in later life are a direct result of their NRL career, and haven’t been sustained doing other things? That will be the issue with any insurance type cover - the cost will be astronomical, as you’re likely just having to cover them for everything, for the rest of their life.
Another similar issue, and people won’t like this, is around mental health and the health of the brain. Unfortunately, the typical demographic of a rugby league player, coupled with the social climate of being in and around a rugby league team, and exasperated by things like never having to have had a ‘proper job’, being molly coddled since being a talented junior, and having their whole life routine planned for them throughout their career, and that suddenly not being the case after retirement, means they are more susceptible to making poor decisions around alcohol and drugs - both of which have serious ramifications on health and life stability. The NRL picking up the tab for these issues doesn’t feel right, and again will cost a fortune. And the RLPA want the NRL to pay for it, but let the RLPA run it.
If the RLPA are so keen on this sort of thing, why don’t they increase their membership fee, and they can cover the cost in future?
Really good post.
I had an injury 2 years ago. I couldn't move my left side from a bulging disc. My doctor said it was because of my work, and it is workcover.
I said: "but i woke up with it, it didn't happen at work"
Her reply: " every doctor in the world will agree this if from work causes"
What happened? Every doctor may have agreed, except the one that mattered, the insurance doctor. He said "but this didn't happen at work"
I didn't get any claim, and lost my job because of it, even though I had then gone and got it rectified on my own accord.
This is the real world. The players do not understand how the real world works.

Chimp

Really good post.
I had an injury 2 years ago. I couldn't move my left side from a bulging disc. My doctor said it was because of my work, and it is workcover.
I said: "but i woke up with it, it didn't happen at work"
Her reply: " every doctor in the world will agree this if from work causes"
What happened? Every doctor may have agreed, except the one that mattered, the insurance doctor. He said "but this didn't happen at work"
I didn't get any claim, and lost my job because of it, even though I had then gone and got it rectified on my own accord.
This is the real world. The players do not understand how the real world works.
This is the perfect example (though not for you clearly). There’d be far too much conjecture around what caused the injury/issue, and the only way to get around that is to basically cover everything, regardless of how it happened. And the RLPA are pushing for this cover for everyone that has played NRL, from 1 game to 450 games. The cost of that will not only be obscene, but is also unlimited and uncontrollable and will just rise year on year on year as more players ply first grade, the the RLPA expect the NRL to foot this bill, and let the RLPA manage it. It’s completely unreasonable.

No other sport has contracts as weak as ours besides soccer who basically trade contracts. This narrative that clubs can cut players is total bullshit - see Fifita, Moylan, Dugan, Ash Taylor etc. Without cause clubs can't cut underperformance. They can manage it as in freeze them in cup but that punishes both parties but as soon as someone kicks on while on a good deal the first thing brought up is their next deal. Hynes who I love and is handling this as perfectly as possible under the current rules will get an upgrade for 2024 making the current deal we took a risk on really a 2 not a 3 year deal.

Nathan Brown said it when coaching... You can't do a good deal because as soon as you do someone tries to break it. Look at Haas and his drama last year. AFB walking out on Manly in 2021. Look at players who try and walk to another club/union/ESL. Essentially we ask clubs to do a gentlemans agreement because the contracts are not worth shit. The one thing about Suaalii I respect is he is being up front about it. Fans want to know the players they attach themselves too will actually be at their f**king club.

In the NBA guaranteed is guaranteed money. In the NFL there is non guaranteed money. If the players want the flexibility then lets bring in non guaranteed deals.

James and Wade talked a bit about players not having worker's comp available and made out any old worker anywhere else can just get it.

They don't seem to know much about WC legislation HAHAHA.

I don't know why players would see not being eligble for WC as a realistic issue. Workers in the real world also have to work under WHS legislation which can kill off a large percentage of WC claims. Also often have to go to court and prove liability against the employer to get a lump sum.

So clearly with no WC available for players and not having to work under WHS legislation and being able to deliberately put your body and head in the path of injury would seem that Rugby League is not classed as work in these perpectives anyway.

Yet, they have to pay tax.

Weird.

By the way. Are the wheelchair leaguies getting included? Even the ones who play it but have no disability?

Australia's best player in the Wheelchair Rugby League is able bodied.

If/when they get included will make interesting observations.

Eion

The Graham Wade interview was interesting. Wade was saying leaguies need to be looked after for life. Sorry…but that makes no sense. Just because you worked somewhere for a period of time does not entitle you to lifetime support. These blokes know the risks in their chosen profession.

I’m sat on my arse at work, slowly getting high blood pressure, higher risk of heart disease, obesity, bad back from posture and dont expect my employer to always be there for me.

But then Graham said…maybe annual check ups are a start. Bit of a difference!

It sounded to me the RLPA didn’t really know what they were asking for. What was certain though was it wasn’t the women who were holding it up. Wade said they hadn’t even talked about them yet 😂.

The Graham Wade interview was interesting. Wade was saying leaguies need to be looked after for life. Sorry…but that makes no sense. Just because you worked somewhere, by choice, for a period of time does not entitle you to lifetime support. These blokes know the risks in their chosen profession.

I’m sat on my arse at work, slowly getting high blood pressure, higher risk of heart disease, obesity, bad back from posture and dont expect my employer to always be there for me.

It sounded to me the RLPA didn’t really know what they were asking for. What was certain though was it wasn’t the women who were holding it up. Wade said they hadn’t even talked about them yet 😂.

Old James really pushes the health and wellbeing check. I liked his Head Noise podcast and have been enjoying his Bye Round cast but as with anything with an agenda it's wearing thin now. Every cast goes down the CTE track.

Eion

Old James really pushes the health and wellbeing check. I liked his Head Noise podcast and have been enjoying his Bye Round cast but as with anything with an agenda it's wearing thin now. Every cast goes down the CTE track.
Yeah it’s certainly his agenda, but these blokes really haven’t settled on what they are pushing. The simple fact is that collision sports will give out the odd concussion. Unavoidable. And they all say “knowing what I now know, I’d do it all again.”

You either run the risk of CTE with the payoff of a newly reno’d home in Port Hacking with a holiday home on a lake in Canada (like Wade). Or you dont play, ply a trade and work with your old boy.

They’ll never get rid of concussions, and never get to a point where they can rely on the NRL to financially look after players until they die like it’s the friggen NDIS.

toomuchsoup

NRL players do make good money, you could even say great money. But I honestly think they are underpaid.

Look at how much money golfers, basketball players, soccer players etc. can make, and compare that to NRL players who put their bodys and brains on the line for so much less than those sports. I do understand there’s much more money in those sports, hence the high wages for players of those sports. Unless it’s some ridiculous increase that the players are asking for, I’m usually going to support their demands

Special K

The Graham Wade interview was interesting. Wade was saying leaguies need to be looked after for life. Sorry…but that makes no sense. Just because you worked somewhere for a period of time does not entitle you to lifetime support. These blokes know the risks in their chosen profession.

Totally agree which is what was driving me crazy listening. Stinks of bad leadership from the RLPA. Newton comes across as a job for the boys. They need a clear and direct message to the players and NRL on exactly what they want - which is too late now given all the bad blood and season starting. My job is to close deals (not a real estate agent relax) and the biggest reasons things get delayed/held up is a side not being clear. They can get the deal done in a few days but given how far apart everyone seems to be I can't see any major concessions coming given it seems all over the shop. Its an update of a f**king agreement not a brand new thing ffs.

NRL players do make good money, you could even say great money. But I honestly think they are underpaid.

Look at how much money golfers, basketball players, soccer players etc. can make, and compare that to NRL players who put their bodys and brains on the line for so much less than those sports. I do understand there’s much more money in those sports, hence the high wages for players of those sports. Unless it’s some ridiculous increase that the players are asking for, I’m usually going to support their demands
I agree they are underpaid. A guy like Nicho at 27 this year making pre tax 600k has a lot on his financial plate with small window left. Where as a guy like Wade is closer to being set for life because the cost of living/housing was different when he was making 600k years ago and making good money from 18. Across the board players are better off now though than 10 years ago when the base was something like 50k. I know the Sharks and other clubs have engaged an optional financial planner outside of the players management who often handles it.

The reality is they are only worth what the game can bring in. Look at the NBA. A few years back their money exploded because of revenue coming in and role players(guys who play 10-15 minutes if that of 48) were signing 100m deals and some barely played. That is awesome but that is because of the billions and billions it brings in.

The issue imo is the players look at the NFL, NBA etc and think how can we be like that and be set for life like they are? But it is apples and oranges despite the physical tolls being at worst the same. I don't know how A League or NBL players survive with their salaries. Speaking of which - how weird is it that Shane Heal has a cafe in Cronulla?!

Yeah it’s certainly his agenda, but these blokes really haven’t settled on what they are pushing. The simple fact is that collision sports will give out the odd concussion. Unavoidable. And they all say “knowing what I now know, I’d do it all again.”

You either run the risk of CTE with the payoff of a newly reno’d home in Port Hacking with a holiday home on a lake in Canada (like Wade). Or you dont play, ply a trade and work with your old boy.

They’ll never get rid of concussions, and never get to a point where they can rely on the NRL to financially look after players until they die like it’s the friggen NDIS.

Yeah, that's getting old too and really is a dumb argument. It's like bungee jumping with a long rope from a short bridge then asking to do it again. Maybe that argument is a result of CTE.

Oh God yeah, when the chalet on the lake was mentioned I saw red.

Speaking of which - how weird is it that Shane Heal has a cafe in Cronulla?!
Not as weird as you think.
20 years ago I took two Irish fellas to a game and then we went out on the piss, ended up at the Sting Bar.
The RAT was there with Heal and a few other Kings players.
The RAT and those players, not Heal, took a real dislike to my mates and decided to take them on, it went outside.
A bouncer asked me "can those boys fight?"
I replied "let's just say they are trained up 'freedom fighters', and know how to kill someone pretty quickly" this is deadset true.
The bouncer said "good, I'm sick of these f**kwits. Let the get their heads kicked in"
The RAT was doing the "let me at them, don't hold me back" bullshit. I whispered inn his ear "these boys are from an army, an army that is prepared to dies. Are you prepared for that?"
He drunkenly wandered off.
So anyway, yes Heal has been in the area a while.

Special K

That is hilarious. I've heard from a mate that Heal has been involved with Sutho basketball at times from his kings days. I just pictured him as the type of bloke who would end up on the gold coast... Kinda like Rat. Also weird is Heal and Robbie Kearns are great mates. I went down an instagram hole after I first walked into Heals cafe trying to work out what was going on!!!

What no question as to why i was hanging out with these fellas??
phew, I was scared I'd have to divulge
Haha

Special K

What no question as to why i was hanging out with these fellas??
phew, I was scared I'd have to divulge
Haha
lol I was too busy picturing you saying that line to RAT if I am honest... But go on! Or save it for a trip to hairyman before a game. I gotta f**king get there!!! No chance for Shark island - too f**king far. My shire ends on a bow of taren point/caringbah woolies. Once we get woolies at wooloware it will contract further!!

I've had a big day at the Island, now at home having a few Sandshoes. I'm in a talkative mode.
Back in the late 90's early 00's, there were loads of Irish, English and Scottish backpackers on building sites.
I was leading hand of one team that was all Irish. They were all just here for the laugh and would get shitfaced every night and have stories to tell. This one fella was a bit different, as in he'd just laugh along without hanging with them. I very soon would be relaying what to do for the day through him and let him be in control of the larks.
After a while he asked me if a mate of his could join our crew so I made it work.
Us three went down to ha e a few beers in Bondi one Friday arvo, The Tea Gardens, its where all the fellas from these three countries would drink.
Anyway these three poms decided that they were heavy and started paying out the "paddys". I watched these two glance at each other, and two seconds late all three pomms were in the floor knocked out.
They sat back down and continued to drink their beer. I never blinked and just kept the convo going.
A few weeks later on our next session they brought the situation up, and asked why I didn't react.
I replied "I'm of Irish/koori stock. I hate those f**kibg idjets. "
From there they told me how they were out here on the "lie low". They were not in trouble with the authorities, but there were some reactions/ramifications that were coming to them from certain actions they had performed. (This I will definitely not go into, needless to say it was real heavy)
I knew all the more now to keep these fellas on my side, I looked after them on site, and they kept our crew in line.
It was a different experience to see how some real hard Kent's worked. And these fellas were the hardest I've ever come across.

DJDL

That’s what I originally thought, but reading how he was behaving I’d hoped not.

Just finished reading his latest book. It’s a cracker.