Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sheens Contract ????

R2Coupe

R2coupe . . .
If you are a troll, then I'm going to break the rules and feed you.
I'm guessing that you have never played the game beyond St Christopher's primary u/7 4's in 1975. Your comments show a lack of understanding, but that's OK.
You have this fixation that Sheens is our great hope. He did good things for us in the past, but he is not getting the players to reach their potential. You said as much yourself.
He and his methods are tired. Run at the markers. Run the blind side play from the scrum. Halfback injured ? . . change 5 blokes out of position to fix it.
His idea of giving new talent a go is virtually non-existent. You will probably say " what about Koribete ? . . . Shhens gave him his opportunity". We on this forum . . . and especially macnaz . . . have been baying for Koribete to be given a go for months and months. Don't tell me he wasn't ready 4 months ago.
Did you notice the impact that he, as a fast, hard running winger made to our team ?. He is not the only one we have. We have even faster, taller, bigger prospects in the lower grades, but Moltzen has to be fullback, the favourites have to be played, and that screws the chance for any talent to be given a chance.

You also say that some of the coaches we are discussing are "yesterday's men". Mate, you might want to preserve any strand of dignity you have left and delete those comments from the internet.
Sheens, with his refusal to change a thing is the definition of yesterday's man.

"IF YOU KEEP DOING WHAT YOU ARE DOING, THEN YOU ARE GOING TO KEEP GETTING WHAT YOU HAVE GOT"
Rosco,

Thanks for your reply and I will try and keep up with you.

You state "His idea of giving new talent a go is virtually non-existent".

Tedesco ? season ending injury
Sironen ? season ending injury
Koroibete
Woods
Groat ? injured

These players were promoted over the last 2 years. There may have been more.

From this list we can immediately determine your claim to be incorrect.

We can also determine three of the five have been injured, two with season ending injuries.

Could it be the bodies of these players are not ready for the NRL?

Would it follow a coach may be reluctant to promote NYC players on this basis? Even more so based on the injuries above?

You have suggested merit selection wasn?t used to pick teams. You claim ?the favourites had to be played?.

A case could be made the selection process was not meritorious but for the reason Sheens feared injury to his young players. Is there a duty of care to a young player? Recall Benji with how many shoulder reconstructions. Other players simply may not have been considered to have been of the required standard.

Koroibete was brought to the club under Sheen?s recruitment network. Are you suggesting he was not aware of his talent or is it Sheens was worried about injury? I note your ?We on this forum and especially Macnaz? believe Koroibete should have been promoted earlier yet wasn?t he injured and suspended. Does the forum have more knowledge than a NRL coach when it comes to determining when a NYC player is ready? On what basis do you make this claim?

As for the possible coaching contenders mentioned by some forum members, the NZ role is open but none of these have been mentioned as a possibility yet Sheens has been! Please explain why this is so especially in view of your comment about Sheens? ?methods being tired? Being my experience is with the U7s St Christopher?s team, I don?t know but perhaps you can share your experience and explain why this is the case.

TYGA

R2Coupe you have no idea what you are talking about. Sheens has past his time with us and only his direct relatives would say otherwise. I believe he is still a good coach but not right here right now. His team selections, recruitment and inability to get the team to play to any structure or plan is a direct reflection on the coach. We don't want to go back to the Langmack/lamb days so unless they pay for a qualified head coach we are still better off with Sheens until one is found. Daniel Anderson is the right fit he coached two sides Parra and Warriors to GF's with an erratic play like ours.

R2C you do realize that korobeite had like 7 nrl clubs chasing him? There was even an article in smh when we signed him about this hot new talent from Fiji, this was before he had even stepped off the plane. Marika came to the tigers because of lote, no other reason. You talking like sheens found this bloke in the Fiji jungle playing table tennis.

Sheens show of favorites was never more evident then the dogs game a few weeks back. Simona comes on with 6 minutes to go to replace Moltzen who broke a nail. In one kick return Simona runs straight and hard, makes 20m and earns a penalty by getting a quick play the ball. From the penalty woods scores, ties the game up and takes it to golden point. In those six minutes Simona showed more then Moltzen had shown at fullback ALL YEAR.

So how is rewarded? Dropped the next week.

Simona will by no means be a star first grader, however you have to reward efforts like that and show the team that enthusiasm will take precedence over 'talent' and reputations. Instead sheens casts him aside and continues with the softest player ever to pull on an nrl jersey.

R2Coupe

R2Coupe you have no idea what you are talking about. Sheens has past his time with us and only his direct relatives would say otherwise. I believe he is still a good coach but not right here right now. His team selections, recruitment and inability to get the team to play to any structure or plan is a direct reflection on the coach. We don't want to go back to the Langmack/lamb days so unless they pay for a qualified head coach we are still better off with Sheens until one is found. Daniel Anderson is the right fit he coached two sides Parra and Warriors to GF's with an erratic play like ours.

I'm sorry but Anderson having taken two teams to the GF is not mentioned as a contender for any team coaching position. How many premierships winning teams has Anderson coached? The Warriors position is open and Sheens has been mentioned. Having known Anderson, you would think the Warriors would be keen to have him back. Perhaps Warriors supporters can let us know why he is not a contender?:D

R2C you do realize that korobeite had like 7 nrl clubs chasing him? There was even an article in smh when we signed him about this hot new talent from Fiji, this was before he had even stepped off the plane. Marika came to the tigers because of lote, no other reason. You talking like sheens found this bloke in the Fiji jungle playing table tennis.

Sheens show of favorites was never more evident then the dogs game a few weeks back. Simona comes on with 6 minutes to go to replace Moltzen who broke a nail. In one kick return Simona runs straight and hard, makes 20m and earns a penalty by getting a quick play the ball. From the penalty woods scores, ties the game up and takes it to golden point. In those six minutes Simona showed more then Moltzen had shown at fullback ALL YEAR.

So how is rewarded? Dropped the next week.

Simona will by no means be a star first grader, however you have to reward efforts like that and show the team that enthusiasm will take precedence over 'talent' and reputations. Instead sheens casts him aside and continues with the softest player ever to pull on an nrl jersey.

I did know the Roosters, Dragons and Souths were chasing Koroibete. My comments were in response to Rosco who seemed to claim on behalf of a group of supporters they knew better than the coaching staff!:D

hybrid_tiger

Address Vic's point about Simona and Moltzen.

Why does Sheens create a culture where poor performances are never punished?

Koroibete only got a run because injuries and his dumb f**king positional reshuffles forced his hand. Koroibete should have been in the NRL side in Round 1.

Sironen only got a chance because Sheens moved Moltzen to fullback and didn't like Humble or Miller for whatever reason, so he shifted Benji to 7. His own arrogance and positional reshuffles forced his hand.

Tedesco is clearly the best fullback at the club. He had to be picked. Sheens ignored Mullaney for a full year, persisting with Moltzen at fullback. Meaney is a better fullback than Ryan and Moltzen, but was never called upon this year. Again, another Sheens f**k up.

Groat is not NRL standard yet. But Sheens likes him so he gets a run ahead of the most frequently and confusingly snubbed Junior Moors.

Woods is top shelf quality, he should have been a bench reserve this year, but Sheens got rid of our prop depth last year so Woods had to step up. Thats a credit to Woods and not to Sheens.

Sheens can be credited with starting the year with f**k all front row depth, an issue he tried to rectify by signing some old bloke from park footy.

Poilitoni is the other player you missed. Sheens was so confident in him, he signed another park footballer in Iosefa to cover Farah instead, despite Politoni playing quite well in his limited time in NRL.

This year we lost a fullback early. We should have brought in a lower grades fullback, Meaney or Simona the best options.

We started the season without Tuqiri. Koroibete should have started ahead of Utai.

We lost Farah early to suspension. He should have been replaced by Politoni, who played the trial games with the Tigers only a month before. Instead he put Fulton there one week and Humble the next, neither are hookers.

Moltzen should have stayed at halfback all year, where he trained all off season and where he plays best. Instead he was shifted to fullback and his position was covered by Humble, Miller, Farah and Marshall. Marshalls five-eighth role was replaced by Fulton, Ayshford, Lawrence, Moltzen and Sironen.

When Ayshford and Lawrence moved unnecessarily to the halves, we either brought in the poor performing Reddy to cover at centre, or shifted Ryan there, who is clearly not comfortable there.

Simona should have been playing there.

We had many good young options to cover our injuries this year amnd instead Sheens chopped and changed and reshuffled so often that the team never had a f**king chance to settle and be effective.

Magpies Forever

Koroibete only got a run because injuries and his dumb f**king positional reshuffles forced his hand. Koroibete should have been in the NRL side in Round 1.

Sironen only got a chance because Sheens moved Moltzen to fullback and didn't like Humble or Miller for whatever reason, so he shifted Benji to 7. His own arrogance and positional reshuffles forced his hand.

Tedesco is clearly the best fullback at the club. He had to be picked. Sheens ignored Mullaney for a full year, persisting with Moltzen at fullback. Meaney is a better fullback than Ryan and Moltzen, but was never called upon this year. Again, another Sheens f**k up.

Groat is not NRL standard yet. But Sheens likes him so he gets a run ahead of the most frequently and confusingly snubbed Junior Moors.

Woods is top shelf quality, he should have been a bench reserve this year, but Sheens got rid of our prop depth last year so Woods had to step up. Thats a credit to Woods and not to Sheens.

Sheens can be credited with starting the year with f**k all front row depth, an issue he tried to rectify by signing some old bloke from park footy.

Poilitoni is the other player you missed. Sheens was so confident in him, he signed another park footballer in Iosefa to cover Farah instead, despite Politoni playing quite well in his limited time in NRL.

This year we lost a fullback early. We should have brought in a lower grades fullback, Meaney or Simona the best options.

We started the season without Tuqiri. Koroibete should have started ahead of Utai.

We lost Farah early to suspension. He should have been replaced by Politoni, who played the trial games with the Tigers only a month before. Instead he put Fulton there one week and Humble the next, neither are hookers.

Moltzen should have stayed at halfback all year, where he trained all off season and where he plays best. Instead he was shifted to fullback and his position was covered by Humble, Miller, Farah and Marshall. Marshalls five-eighth role was replaced by Fulton, Ayshford, Lawrence, Moltzen and Sironen.

When Ayshford and Lawrence moved unnecessarily to the halves, we either brought in the poor performing Reddy to cover at centre, or shifted Ryan there, who is clearly not comfortable there.

Simona should have been playing there.

We had many good young options to cover our injuries this year amnd instead Sheens chopped and changed and reshuffled so often that the team never had a f**king chance to settle and be effective.

Yep. Betcha, the review wont examine that. This review is our chance but I just think its a butt covering exercse and the sacrificial lambs will be the remainig players whose contracts expired this yar and are not yet re-signed.

Imagine the WT headline

'clean out at WT- Humble, Moors, Cashmere, Politini, Miller, Chisholm etc moved on. New blood coming into WT for depth. Sheens looks forward to the opportunities of the new season and is setting in place a new defensive structure under the guidance of Royce Simmons, recently returned from a successful ESL coaching role.'

Pistol_Pete

Address Vic's point about Simona and Moltzen.

Why does Sheens create a culture where poor performances are never punished?

Let's be honest HT, if there was a culture where there were repercussions of poor performance, the great man would be at Centrelink each Thursday. He knows he's not punished for dogshit performances so he creates a sense of equality by not punishing underperforming players.

It's a case of monkey see monkey do

All is forgiven Tim, first weekend of the play offs and you can take responsibility for:

U20's knocking off the minor premiers,
BRET who came 8th, knocking off the 5th place team to survive another week.

Humphreys and the Board are very pleased with this effort :)

Blackdiamond

Agree 100% with Madunit's comments. That's the end of year review right there. You've just done Humphries' work for him.

The only question-mark I have, is Moltzen. His best position is agreed - halfback, but I still don't rate him there either. He is probably a phenomenal touch/oztag player who gels well with Benji at training. He looks fantastic running of Benji's inside hip & hitting holes at speed, but this only happens once every 2 games. I think he still lacks the fundamentals of a decent halfback - a kicking game, a tactical game, an organising game & a passing game.

Sadly I would say bye-bye & move him on.

Pistol_Pete

I look fantastic to girls in a nightclub when I'm running off Donald Trump and Pablo Escobar

Take away either and I look like dogshit

Much like Moltzen

MU thats a very good summary of our season, now if only the board would ask Sheens to explain himself and the options he chose in derailing our season!

I think the article is a little unbalanced however I get where Benji is coming from.

We did have a tough year with injuries, losing Lui and things not going our way. Sheens is a good coach and all the armchair critics comments on here are pretty stupid in a lot of ways.

To me though this team has drastically underperformed and Sheens must be accountable. He has been there for a long time and based on this I would be looking to put him out to pasture.

One other point is that in that article there was no mention of Benji leaving if Sheens went. Benji to me sounds like a tiger and although he wants Sheens at the club he wouldn't be running if Sheens went.

Ronnie Dobbs

And that article, you fine people, sums up exactly why the Tigers need change.

Hilarious.

How many coaches has Benji had again?

Ron's_Mate

And that article, you fine people, sums up exactly why the Tigers need change.
"The people who say he's grown stale being at the same club for a long time don't see what he does with us - every week at training, Tim pulls out something new."
e.g. Benji to halfback.
Then at the end of the article
"I can't wait for Braith Anasta to come over from the Roosters, it will be great. I'd be happy if he played halfback and I can go back to five-eighth. I think that'd suit my game and his. I'd have a bit more room to move ..."
So the great Benji to half gamble of 2012 is over.

Likewise this comment "If anyone can rebuild the club it's Tim."
Why does the club need rebuilding? Have they just sacked one coach and installed a new one who needs to rebuild? Sheens has been there for 10 years, and if the club needs rebuilding at this stage then it is obviously largely his fault.