Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sheffield Shield 2020/21

Mr Spock!

Players used to play all year round back in the day as well,, heaps of players when they weren't touring or playing for their country played county cricket.

There is no such thing as the school of hard knocks anymore, if you show talent by the age of 13 you are shoved in a bubble to have smoke blown up your arse 24/7. It's no surprise the blokes that weren't the junior stars or the blokes who did it tough through the grades are the blokes able to go to the next level.

It's not just cricket it's true for most sports and pretty much true of most younger people these days.
Yeah I tend to agree.

Players used to play all year round back in the day as well,, heaps of players when they weren't touring or playing for their country played county cricket.

There is no such thing as the school of hard knocks anymore, if you show talent by the age of 13 you are shoved in a bubble to have smoke blown up your arse 24/7. It's no surprise the blokes that weren't the junior stars or the blokes who did it tough through the grades are the blokes able to go to the next level.

It's not just cricket it's true for most sports and pretty much true of most younger people these days.

I'd suggest this is partly true, and partly rubbish tbh.

I think with so much more awareness of mental health issues there's a lot more support for a guy like Weatherald....maybe a guy like Boonie just bats like shit for a while and sinks piss until he pulls out of it (random comparison, not suggesting an absolute specimen like Boonie had health issues). Maybe Tubby's form slump was because he was struggling upstairs, how would you know? No one understood that shit then.

More awareness and more understanding means more correct diagnoses and more support means there's every chance for a guy like Weatherald, or Pucovski, or whoever can stand up and say "hey, I need a break" without getting called soft and slated for life.

The greatest surprise I ever got in my whole life was sitting down for a beer with my Rugby second rower, mine engineer, lost half his foot to a damned croc in Indonesia grandfather and him telling me he thought he'd had the same "thing" (anxiety) I had and he wished he could have had the systems I did, rather than just sinking longnecks and working harder.

But yes, I also think the old "player of promise" being coddled is a real thing as well.

Fair points Baz, we are much more aware of it these days and players are more likely to ask for help.

Growing up i lost one of my best mates due to depression, no one had a clue he was always the life the party. I've struggled myself in recent times and i can only imagine what it's like playing professional sport.

Then again i can just blame following the Parramatta Eels, anyone who claims to be normal following ths club is a liar.

I just had a thought, imagine if Boonie went up to AB (when he went through his bad patch and was dropped)" AB i'm struggling a bit mentally and i think i need a break" lolz i shouldn't laugh but his response would of been epic.

Fair points Baz, we are much more aware of it these days and players are more likely to ask for help.

Growing up i lost one of my best mates due to depression, no one had a clue he was always the life the party. I've struggled myself in recent times and i can only imagine what it's like playing professional sport.

Then again i can just blame following the Parramatta Eels, anyone who claims to be normal following ths club is a liar.

I do reckon we don't set kids up with coping mechanisms as well as we used to, for the record. Any merkin can get depression, or anxiety, or any number of mental illnesses and while I don't think younger generations and older generations differ in the regard, I think that my "generation" (which is really the older end of the millenials) and the end of the generation before me were in a sweet spot where we were allowed to have emotions especially as blokes.....but we were also still pre-internet and pre-Iphone and had real world connections to people? I think modern kids will miss something there.

I'm not a nut-hugger, I just expect the worst so anything half decent is a win

Enjoy mate

3 Shield games all in Adelaide !!!

They are and have been/will be for a while.

But only Glenelg oval is open to the public I was told, the other two ovals (near each other) don’t cater for spectators.. can watch from the other side of the fences, that it. Shame coz you can easily walk between the two - was looking forward to a Sheffield shield festival!

That said, Glenelg oval is an awesome ground to watch at. Great little bar/bistro that backs onto the field too.

SA in all sorts til Worrell and Agar supported Neilson at the tail with some great batting n lusty hitting. All out 200.

First time I’ve seen Pucovski bat. Gotta say he was damn impressive. Harris very edgy.

another nice drive from Hughes, looks in some decent form

(watch him get out now)

I just said to my housemate that Larkin is a bit poo and then he plays three cracking shots for four back to back to back.

Nick Larkin is f**king awful and there is absolutely no way he gets 200

Larkin averages under 30 in 37 Shield games

He had a purple patch last year for a few games, outside that, indeed has been poo

Seems a better t20 player of late

Lunch Blues 0/58
Hopefully Kurtis can get some good runs when he comes in next