Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Should Slater miss the Grand Final for his shoulder charge?

Should Slater be suspended from the GF for shoulder charge?

• yes

Votes: 34 57.6%
  • no

Votes: 25 42.4%

Do you chaps see what I mean about that diorty little beggar Slater now ? He has caused this cat fight on our forum , with usually sensible people having a go at one another - what the f**k ! Send him to purgatory and you can throw in Smith and Bellamy as well .
Now this is the thing, the networks need to make an enormous amount of money. Every minute of viewing is worth tens-of-thousands of dollars in advertising - the more viewers, the higher the ad price.

But for this to happen it is essential they have something to get people tuning in, and Billy Slater's shoulder has been a big earner this week.

I saw the tackle, watched the replay, and have my view. Everything else after that is just argument. And for better-or-worse, sometimes this argument becomes distraction.

ALSGI

Dude, you're the one drawing the long bow. I can see you're upset but you've gone off with the wrong assumption.

Ny post was in response to a few rigid views in this thread. If a court of law can see a reason for leniancy then is it that hard to accept that the lower tier sporting judiciary may do the same? This And this set you off?

As for your personal insults (yes that's what I meant by 'petty'), I have tried to keep my own experiences at an arm's length on this. You made it personal and passed judgement on someone you know nothing about, which is unfortunate.

Telling me or anyone to f**k off to a victim's support group is a hit below the belt, and bad form imo. But I'm happy to give you the benefit of the doubt and offer an olive branch if that helps.
Dumb.
You raised a killing in which you claim to know those involved, to make a point about a shoulder charge. FMD.

Lies-
Telling me or anyone to f**k off to a victim's support group is a hit below the belt, and bad form imo.

Never told you to f**kc off anywhere, until now -
Go and f**kc off somewhere.

Up your self -
But I'm happy to give you the benefit of the doubt and offer an olive branch if that helps.

Gee, thanks but no thanks, you’re the one that needs help if you don’t realise how dumb your post was.

The thing with the Slater tackle for me is if he was going to make a legitimate tackle then he would have had right arm outstretched and in front of the attacking player whilst putting his head was behind the player and that would be the same regardless if the player steps inside.
He had a target area from legs to ribs.
So for Slater to end up hitting him with his left side it was always going to be a stand up hip and shoulder tackle.
I can assure you that shoulder charges from the side can be just as lethal as those that are front on as the head (very heavy) is sitting on a neck (not very thick) and the resultant whiplash is dangerous whether side to side or back to front.
So all the argy bargy about this or that means SFA the simple thing is the shoulder was used and the effect could have been catastrophic.
Take a look at the classic photos of Raper and Coote effecting side on tackles of players heading for the corner and then ask why didn't Slater make a tackle like that as he certainly could have made such an effort.
NRL are piss weak and have again manipulated a situation for their own betterment and to the detriment of honest players and fans who just want the rules (for right or wrong) to be administered fairly.
As my form of protest this will be the 1st GF I haven't watched in over 40 years.
f**k Slater and the NRL.

Now this is the thing, the networks need to make an enormous amount of money. Every minute of viewing is worth tens-of-thousands of dollars in advertising - the more viewers, the higher the ad price.

But for this to happen it is essential they have something to get people tuning in, and Billy Slater's shoulder has been a big earner this week.

I saw the tackle, watched the replay, and have my view. Everything else after that is just argument. And for better-or-worse, sometimes this argument becomes distraction.

Of course they need to make a bluudy quid out of the game and all of the pre-game crap that goes with it - you are not telling me a thing . I respect your point of view as that - your point of view , by we all have a opinion Willow . For mine it was a shoulder charge short and simple and damn dangerous regardless of how much icing the NRL or judiciary wants to put on it . He should not be playing , by allowing him to do so HAS set a precedent , wait until next year for the first poor sod that does any thing similar .

Dumb.
You raised a killing in which you claim to know those involved, to make a point about a shoulder charge. FMD.

Lies-
Telling me or anyone to f**k off to a victim's support group is a hit below the belt, and bad form imo.

Never told you to f**kc off anywhere, until now -
Go and f**kc off somewhere.

Up your self -
But I'm happy to give you the benefit of the doubt and offer an olive branch if that helps.

Gee, thanks but no thanks, you’re the one that needs help if you don’t realise how dumb your post was.
lol. What a wonderful fella you are.

Well I tried. Get over it if you can, or not. Your problem now.

Of course they need to make a bluudy quid out of the game and all of the pre-game crap that goes with it - you are not telling me a thing . I respect your point of view as that - your point of view , by we all have a opinion Willow . For mine it was a shoulder charge short and simple and damn dangerous regardless of how much icing the NRL or judiciary wants to put on it . He should not be playing , by allowing him to do so HAS set a precedent , wait until next year for the first poor sod that does any thing similar .
No worries, I can see how the charges arose. Would that be the charge of the shoulder charge? Yes, I do have a day job.

What I saw was two blokes on a collision course, both had their eyes on each other. The ball carrier braced and pushed in, both he and the tackler hit the deck afterwards. I thought, "good footy". Not a cheap shot on a player who didn't see it coming, no head contact...

...we used to love this stuff.

Then one of the commentators said shoulder charge, and I thought, "bugger". Oh well, just when the NRL wants to promote the grand final, instead they will have controversy in the lead up.

The NRL only have the NRL to blame.

dragonssamy61

lol. So you're saying I should shut up?

I'm very sorry if my words offended you. But I'm more concerned that the point of my post has gone over your head. Happy to elaborate, but by all means feel free to be outraged, if that is your preference.

You just proved that you are a dickhead.
Why keep proving it.
We all knew that you were

Well over it and you.
Yes I’m a wonderful fella.
Thanks.
I'm sure we can agree that's life's too short.

That should calm things down a bit.. with or without the herbal tea.
Let’s talk footy without your dumb comparisons.
Ah, well, you see, it doesn't work that way. I kind of like the idea of everyone posting their views. It's a big part of who we are. Disagreements go with the territory.

ALSGI

I'm sure we can agree that's life's too short.

That should calm things down a bit.. with or without the herbal tea.
Ah, well, you see, it doesn't work that way. I kind of like the idea of everyone posting their views. It's a big part of who we are. Disagreements go with the territory.
Gloss over your dumb post all you like.
Just makes you a bigger fool.
Agree we should all post our views and the better of us will accept when we’ve f**kced up, not offer an olive branch, benefit of the doubt BS.
Man up dickhead.
Killing someone in what ever circumstances should not be mentioned with a Slater shoulder charge.
Get it yet?

Gloss over your dumb post all you like.
Just makes you a bigger fool.
Agree we should all post our views and the better of us will accept when we’ve f**kced up, not offer an olive branch, benefit of the doubt BS.
Man up dickhead.
Killing someone in what ever circumstances should not be mentioned with a Slater shoulder charge.
Get it yet?
Man up? Forum tough guy. Your level of moral judgement has suddenly gone up a notch or two

And just when I thought you were trying to build a bridge. You got me good, lol... you must have seen that as a sign of weakness.

You have some serious issues there ALSGI. As I said earlier, your problem. Good luck.

ALSGI

Man up? Forum tough guy. Your level of moral judgement has suddenly gone up a notch or two

And just when I thought you were trying to build a bridge. You got me good, lol... you must have seen that as a sign of weakness.

You have some serious issues there ALSGI. As I said earlier, your problem. Good luck.
Yep, my bad.
Killings should always be acceptable comparisons to footy shoulder charges.
Dick splash.

No worries, I can see how the charges arose. Would that be the charge of the shoulder charge? Yes, I do have a day job.

What I saw was two blokes on a collision course, both had their eyes on each other. The ball carrier braced and pushed in, both he and the tackler hit the deck afterwards. I thought, "good footy". Not a cheap shot on a player who didn't see it coming, no head contact...

...we used to love this stuff.

Then one of the commentators said shoulder charge, and I thought, "bugger". Oh well, just when the NRL wants to promote the grand final, instead they will have controversy in the lead up.

The NRL only have the NRL to blame.

Personally I would had much preferred to have seen a tackle similar to Scott Sattler’s effort against the Chooks in that particular G.F. But of course nowadays there are very few players who will tackle around the legs . He is playing and will be part of a another Storm premiership winning team - the mans a legend in his own lifetime.

Yes, great moments in Rugby League.

When Todd Byrne was running down the sideline and being chased by a back rower, I thought, here we go... it's the turning point and Easts will go on with it now. But Scott Sattler pulled off a Raper-esque covering tackle. It was the turning point after all, in Penrith's favour. Damn good result.

The lonely figure in that is Byrne. He copped heaps afterwards. Unfairly I thought, Byrne was slightly checked at the beginning of his run and Sattler seemed to grow a rocket in his rear end.

gitano

Yes, great moments in Rugby League.

When Todd Byrne was running down the sideline and being chased by a back rower, I thought, here we go... it's the turning point and Easts will go on with it now. But Scott Sattler pulled off a Raper-esque covering tackle. It was the turning point after all, in Penrith's favour. Damn good result.

The lonely figure in that is Byrne. He copped heaps afterwards. Unfairly I thought, Byrne was slightly checked at the beginning of his run and Sattler seemed to grow a rocket in his rear end.
Yeah that check was massive. The ball slows you down a bit too. In fairness to Byrne that didn't cost them the game, plenty of turnovers happen in that part of the field. Penrith were just too good

Mickthedragon

There are rules for some (the storm/other big money clubs)
and there are rules for others. That's all there is to it. Im pretty much over league until next season and even then it probably won't be the same.
My interest drops year in, year out.