Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Should this be a concern for Knight's fans?

Slackboy72

This

Don't worry about the club until we're not fielding a team in Round 1. The safeguards are all in place, the NRL is cashed up, and we're an important club for a number of reasons. The sledging from uneducated gimps is going to flow like the river Ganges, though... hard, fast and full of shit.

Don't forget that the state government is still chasing up HSG for $600,000 for the use of Energy Australia Stadium. Even if you have a team where are you going to play?

Are you really that ignorant that you need to ask that question?

Like our other debts - it will be covered and then some by either version of the bank guarantee. If that falls through, watch all the "white knights" like Andrew Poole and co fall over backwards to be the good news story that is saving the Knights (not to mention the NRL will increase our grant if need be, if you were paying any attention at all to the most recent ARLC media announcements regarding club grants.

I know you're all masturbating yourselves silly thinking we're f**ked, but we're a long way off it. We're vulnerable at the moment, but a lot of safeguards and contingencies need to fall over before it jeopardizes our club yet.

Matt23

Why do all Newcastle professional sporting teams have to be basket cases ](*,)

Ulysseus

That's the ATO for you. They'll chase people to the end of the world and it'd probably end up costing them more that what's owed to them. After all they chased Paul Hogan to the end of the earth

They haven't chased the people that broke up David Jones and f**ked off out of the country.
More meat in that sandwich than Tinky Winky as well.

Haffa

http://www.newcastleknights.com.au/news-display/HSG-Statement/66762

HSG STATEMENT

The media has alerted the Hunter Sports Group that the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) is taking action against the Newcastle Knights and the Newcastle Jets.
"We are surprised by the move by the ATO, as we have not received notification,” a spokesperson for the Hunter Sports Group said.
“We advise that any outstanding sum will be paid as soon as possible - well before the reported hearing date on the matter next February.”
It is business as usual for both the Knights and the Jets.

Can't help but laugh at the last line.

woodyk2

Why do all Newcastle professional sporting teams have to be basket cases ](*,)
I hear you.It astounds me...theres never any sense or logic.It's always so bloody stupid and complicated with ANYTHING to due with Newcastle.Stuffs me why.

As a fan it is tough but our players are the ones my heart goes out to most. Where will they find a new home FFS if the ATO narks move in? Hoges you know you want in mate!

Guess there was always a chance of something like this happening when you get in to bed with the likes of Tinkler

Thankfully Tew seemed to have protected your mob quite well. As much as i loathe the town, their team and their fans, i wouldnt want anyone to lose their footy club, so hopefully the knights come of of this, at the very least a little bit better off then when Tinkler got them.

Genuine question, is any of this likely to effect Bennett's deal?
I wonder how many, if any such as Boyd or new signings like Smith and Scott have one of those "Bennett leaves" clauses

eozsmiles

Are you really that ignorant that you need to ask that question?

Like our other debts - it will be covered and then some by either version of the bank guarantee. If that falls through, watch all the "white knights" like Andrew Poole and co fall over backwards to be the good news story that is saving the Knights (not to mention the NRL will increase our grant if need be, if you were paying any attention at all to the most recent ARLC media announcements regarding club grants.

I know you're all masturbating yourselves silly thinking we're f**ked, but we're a long way off it. We're vulnerable at the moment, but a lot of safeguards and contingencies need to fall over before it jeopardizes our club yet.

That was half the problem mate. The White Knights were around before Tinks, when the club was broke. They are happy to be White Knights when Singo is at the Brewery, but when Burro or Tew or any of the other bosses fronts them and says "can we have half a million? even on tick?"...the only people to say yes were Con who is gone, the NJC, and Tinks. The situation the clubs/s are in now is a testament to that. If the White Knights and the local community were right on board the Tinks train, these clubs would have another couple of million in the coffers.....and a long line of multis willing to toss in a few hundred grand.

And the money in the bank will only last so long, revenue streams must be found or the club will continue to lose money even when under resourced like pre 2011. They were spending nothing and losing money, now they are spending heaps.

At my local tonight this topic dominated conversation. It's a shame. I'm worried the club will be in the same position it was pre-Tinkler in 5 years time.

ps most people reading these forums are masturbating themselves silly. Especially the Parra fans who think they'll make the finals lolol.

Guess there was always a chance of something like this happening when you get in to bed with the likes of Tinkler

Thankfully Tew seemed to have protected your mob quite well. As much as i loathe the town, their team and their fans, i wouldnt want anyone to lose their footy club, so hopefully the knights come of of this, at the very least a little bit better off then when Tinkler got them.

Genuine question, is any of this likely to effect Bennett's deal?
I wonder how many, if any such as Boyd or new signings like Smith and Scott have one of those "Bennett leaves" clauses

Bennett is a man of honour. Not that you would have a frigging clue what that meant. Yellowbelly troll.

Why do you hate a whole town?

many, many bad experience's
people, town and players included. I've seen it at its worst

much like many have been involved in canberra, but i am, as most, a product of my experinece. My experiences in newcastle are not good.
Showstopper is a knob end, of that im sure