Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Should we go to court to claim our premierships back?

Should we take the NRL to court to claim our premierships back?

I've joined five times in a week. Hide behind static IP's and email addresses all you want. I will rejoin again, again and again. Your read the papers? I doubt it, but the bqnning people and proposing filters that you and your ilk encourage are nothing but a laugh. See ya soon Kia.
Yeah yeah... never seen that trick before. :lol:

And I bet you're silly enough to try and keep joining too. What a life. lol

Easy for us. But a difficult and frustrating time ahead for you kid.

And ffs, learn how to type without the stubby fingers.

Stormgal

Hell yes and them some!!! Whether we are successful or not in court, Im still proud of the guys who have stood on our behalf. We're are tight bunch of Mexicans down here and we will back our boys 210% and no media hype or any storm haters will ever change that. Go The Mighty Melbourne Storm cant wait for the next home game.

Karlos

I am not convinced that a legal challenge is the right course of action, I would prefer to get under the cap and start fresh next year. In saying this the decision was made way too hastily, would it have made a difference if Gallop had of announced the breaches and told the media that penalties would be handed down in due course? If he had taken this measured action he could have had a consultative process with various members of ther NRL community and constructed the penalties based on this consultation. He may well have ended up doing exactly the same thing but at least people would be satisfied that the actions had been thought through.

I am interested to hear from fans of other teams (as well as Storm fans) as to what they believe the benchmark should be. If a premiership winning team in the last decade is found to be $10 over the cap should they lose that premiership or should it be $1000, $10000, $100000? What is the cut-off? If the Broncos were found to be $50 000 over the cap in 2006 would the RL community be happy to strip them of that title? I am not defending the Storm managements actions, I would be much happier if we had fielded a legal team and just the made semi's a couple of times rather than win premiership's and then lose them, but as a Storm fan I need to know that the rules apply across the board.

There have been many rants from many fans from teams that have undoubtedly paid money under the table to their stars over the last 10 years and they should consider themselves lucky not to be in our place at the moment. Again, I am not defending the Storms breaches but people shouldn't be so naive to think their club hasn't acted in similar ways at certain times. I seem to remember something about secret pokies revenue going to star players, dont remember which teams it related to though.

Anyway I for one support the Storm always and anybody who believes that RL doesnt need a team in Melbourne is a complete and utter f**kwit.

Micistm

I believe we were denied natural justice and that the NRL process was unfair.

Fact: The NRL system is flawed.
Fact: The salary cap system is flawed.
Fact: We won those premierships in 2007 and 2009. There is no need to strip us of that. Penalise us other ways if it makes them feel better.
Fact: Melbourne is being used as a punching bag and smokescreen to cover up the failings of the NRL and the widespread rorting that happens in other clubs.

I don't want to start a flame war mate, because through all this mess I feel truely sorry for the Storm fans, and the majority of the Storm team who have been caught up in this.
But I believe that the NRL system is flawed, and the salary cap is flawed are not facts, they are opinions. The fact is you did win premiers in '07 and '09, but you did so with a cheating team. That is also as much of a fact.
The main fact through all of this is the Storm franchise cheated, and did so for five years through a double set of books. The team still doing well this year doesn't really prove anything except the Storm are winning with a cheating lineup. It is proving the cheating aspect is unfair more than anything else.
I agree the salary cap needs upgrading. Certainly not removing, but just upgrading. But to use that as a reason for appealing the punishment is a bit strange. You cannot go into a court case trying to get off a charge of breaking the law based on the fact you 'didn't like the law much!' Right or wrong, the Salary cap is there and are the rules. The Storm cheated them, big time, for years.
And to say 'other teams do it' is speculation, not fact.

But having said that, I wish you guys luck and hope your team is back and fired up next year to cheer on yous. The Storm are the current yardstick like the Broncos of old:)

BigNormProvan

Your so right mate.

Weel be back by the end of the weak. NO way thay can take those premeirships off us, their ours and we earned them. Salary cap breech,thats tecnical crap? All the clubs are cheeting its jsut rubbish.

f**k Gallop and his cronees. 2010 hear we come! Weel show them.

I bet you've never won a spelling bee. Please tell me that you're an 8 year old, inbred Storm fan and I'll believe you:lol::lol:.

Big Norm

MsStorm

No wonder Storm fans have gone into hiding, the sh*te we (the fans) cop on these forums is amazing.

StormChaser

I know what you mean, I'm seriously contemplating pissing off for good cos every time I log on my blood pressure goes through the f**king roof. The trolling is relentless and sanctioned by the admins of this place, so what's the point?
They have enough members they don't give a sh*t if they lose a whole fan base in here, sometimes I think it's what they want.
It's tiresome and f**king boring!

As for the question, I'm torn, part of me wants Gallop's balls on a plate and they only we can do that is by legally decimating his ridiculous, knee jerk, punishment, but then we're just getting ourselves more and more hated by the majority of supporters and I don't know how much more I can take.
I'm tired of fighting!

I know what you mean, I'm seriously contemplating pissing off for good cos every time I log on my blood pressure goes through the f**king roof. The trolling is relentless and sanctioned by the admins of this place, so what's the point?
They have enough members they don't give a sh*t if they lose a whole fan base in here, sometimes I think it's what they want.

It isn't against the rules of this site to be a dickhead. A lot of people who have trolled against the Storm have broken rules, and whoever has broken them has had their posts deleted.

I look forward to the day when they piss off and the drama begins to blow over.

As I said yesterday SC...just ignore those threads and stick to the facts. Don't worry about the kids trolling...they add no value anywhere.

Billythekid

No wonder Storm fans have gone into hiding, the sh*te we (the fans) cop on these forums is amazing.

The thing is the people who are bagging the storm out now hated us anyway. Most are just using this as an excuse for the hatred they already had for the club.

Molly

As for the question, I'm torn, part of me wants Gallop's balls on a plate and they only we can do that is by legally decimating his ridiculous, knee jerk, punishment, but then we're just getting ourselves more and more hated by the majority of supporters and I don't know how much more I can take.
I'm tired of fighting!

I dare say most of the real dheads are snotty nosed 13 years old and still have mum making their lunch every day. This whole forum is simply the wrong place for a serious discussion on the topic.

i really feel for you blokes and the rest of your supporter base at the moment. lots of uneducated and sour dickheads taking out their frustrations on the fans... and it's sad to see it. it is fair enough that they feel cheated by your clubs actions... but to take it out on the fans - who are hurting - is just low.

chins up guys, your club will get themselves back under the cap and move forward again. whilst i don't believe you deserve your premierships back re: the title of this thread... i do believe you can be proud in what your players achieved and be thankful that you were able to experience such dizzying highs... even if they were taken away... it still felt real at the time, i'm sure. don't let go of that. you'll bag a legit one sooner rather than later if bellyache sticks with the club, which i'm sure he will. you have a heap of boom juniors to come in and replace the blokes you'll inevitably need to let go in order to move forward... and as long as you keep 2 of your "big 4", you will remain competitive at the very least.

just a friendly message from a renowned loather of your team... but not your fans. it's hard to see it at the moment... but the fans that do come through the other side of this drama will be stronger for it, and in turn your club will feed off that. your club has a genuine winning culture... and ultimately this scandel shouldn't change that. being a supporter of a sporting team is about far more than just riding the highs when they come along, and the low points make those highs seem that much sweeter. soak it up... and remember these times the next time your team lifts that trophy in september. i promise it will bring a great big smile to your face.

BigNormProvan

Jesus Christ, 'perverse', have you just had back to back wanks and lost all trace of your manly spirit. That was a post so gooey it defies logic. How 'bout you post it in the Parramatta forum, I'd like to see that.

Tar 'em with the same brush, and tar 'em good and then throw 'em in that sh!t creek called the Yarra.

Big Norm

Micistm

Yep, it's harsh. I'm a warriors man but have nothing but sympathy for you fans-And IMO any true League fans should empathise with you guys, as I would put money on the Storm not being the only ones, and any fan who got this news of the club they follow would be gutted.
But you'lls will be back...and still a team to beat;-)

StormChaser

i really feel for you blokes and the rest of your supporter base at the moment. lots of uneducated and sour dickheads taking out their frustrations on the fans... and it's sad to see it. it is fair enough that they feel cheated by your clubs actions... but to take it out on the fans - who are hurting - is just low.

chins up guys, your club will get themselves back under the cap and move forward again. whilst i don't believe you deserve your premierships back re: the title of this thread... i do believe you can be proud in what your players achieved and be thankful that you were able to experience such dizzying highs... even if they were taken away... it still felt real at the time, i'm sure. don't let go of that. you'll bag a legit one sooner rather than later if bellyache sticks with the club, which i'm sure he will. you have a heap of boom juniors to come in and replace the blokes you'll inevitably need to let go in order to move forward... and as long as you keep 2 of your "big 4", you will remain competitive at the very least.

just a friendly message from a renowned loather of your team... but not your fans. it's hard to see it at the moment... but the fans that do come through the other side of this drama will be stronger for it, and in turn your club will feed off that. your club has a genuine winning culture... and ultimately this scandel shouldn't change that. being a supporter of a sporting team is about far more than just riding the highs when they come along, and the low points make those highs seem that much sweeter. soak it up... and remember these times the next time your team lifts that trophy in september. i promise it will bring a great big smile to your face.
You are a man amongst men!
Jesus Christ, 'perverse', have you just had back to back wanks and lost all trace of your manly spirit. That was a post so gooey it defies logic. How 'bout you post it in the Parramatta forum, I'd like to see that.

Tar 'em with the same brush, and tar 'em good and then throw 'em in that sh!t creek called the Yarra.

Big Norm

It takes a much bigger person to say something like that than to go along with the herd like you do.
You're nothing but a cabbage.

Yep, it's harsh. I'm a warriors man but have nothing but sympathy for you fans-And IMO any true League fans should empathise with you guys, as I would put money on the Storm not being the only ones, and any fan who got this news of the club they follow would be gutted.
But you'lls will be back...and still a team to beat;-)

If only there were more people like you on the forum.