Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Singer Robbie Williams new face of NRL TV campaign

Pierced Soul

I've never heard of this f**ker before now.

Just listened to the song on YouTube and it'll work well. Hopefully it'll appeal to the masses which like it or not the nrl is aiming for. And it's much better than Jessica mauboy

I still vote for kickstart my heart (even though people on these forums have pointed out its about being resuscitated from an OD)

Nice Beaver

Awesome
A soccer fan from England that was in a boy band is singing the anthem.

Singing a song that is older than half the players in the game.

Yippee ... At least Dave smith will know the words.
He probably has the cd from his clubbing days back home.

Tina Turner was a regular at Shark Park before her ad campaign was she?

That seemed to go alright.

As for the "oh he's a has been" blah blah blah.

They do have to get a song reasonably relevant to the game! They no doubt had a list of songs and for whatever reason others could not do it. Likely money. If they had got another big act idiots would be whinging "oh they wasted so much money on that"

End of the day he is not the artist of the moment but he is a big act. The song appeals to alot of people and is catchy. It also sends a good message to people about the game.

Cool hipsters who want someone more recent can suck eggs.

I personally don't like his stuff but can see the merit in the campaign.

cleary89

This song would work for a highlights package for the footy show
but every two minutes on TV is going be painful.
The song has already been flogged to death for years on commercial radio.

It is a bad a choice as Bon jovi' s forgettable offering.

How long before rusty has robbie in a Souths jersey in the grand stand?
Doesn't robbie only do swing/cabaret stuff now anyway ?

Don't f**k with our dreams by the smith street band should have been the choice.
Good young hard working Aussie rock band selling out gigs all over the country

Yes, a song with the word f**k in the title would have been perfect.

Not a fan at all and the song is rubbish but there's no doubting his status as a superstar so it is a boon to have hooked him to be the face of the marketing campaign. Big win over the AFL for sure.

It's a weird one but I guess they're using it to target prospective fans rather than people who already watch the game, ie mums in the 25-40 range who have young children?

Just listened to the song on YouTube and it'll work well. Hopefully it'll appeal to the masses which like it or not the nrl is aiming for. And it's much better than Jessica mauboy

I still vote for kickstart my heart (even though people on these forums have pointed out its about being resuscitated from an OD)

Roosters used to play Kickstart my Heart in 09. Lost almost every game. Tainted for me now.

It's a weird one but I guess they're using it to target prospective fans rather than people who already watch the game, ie mums in the 25-40 range who have young children?

Because we all know the music in the tv ad is what brings new fans into the game :sarcasm:

Card Shark

Good choice (for promotion of the game), I reckon.

Mums will love it & they decide what their kids do, ultimately.

The question I ask is if they want kids to play Rugby League out of this campaign, the ad should be on TV now. Junior sport sign up is already underway.

Don't f**k with our dreams by the smith street band should have been the choice.
Good young hard working Aussie rock band selling out gigs all over the country

Ripper tune but yeah the swearing is an issue.

Geographic reference to Melbourne could go our way too.
Fitzroy Lions for the NRL 2018!

Seriously though, Robbie f**ken Williams? Goes to show not only how far administrators are from understanding rugby league fans but how entirely detatched they are from modern culture in general.

bottle

Are you channeling I Bleed Moron?

Yes, a song with the word f**k in the title would have been perfect.

The word f**k works when I tell you to get the joke ya dumb f**k.
See ?

Works perfectly.

As if I was being serious about that song.
Good god .

Some other dumb f**k ( there is that word again) mentioned " hipster" in regards to this band.
A fat sweaty bloke in shorts playing rock n roll is hardly a hipster.

oikee

The games biggest names, including Greg Inglis, Jonathon Thurston, Trent Hodkinson......ahhh what?

:) if Trent Hodkinson is classed as a superstar, this code is in massive trouble.
Thurton Inglis yes, they have earned the tital,,,, but to throw Hodkinson in there is nothing but desperation.

As for the song, perfect. They must have sacked the commercial and marketing manager. ?? Hold-on,,,

cleary89

The word f**k works when I tell you to get the joke ya dumb f**k.
See ?

Works perfectly.

As if I was being serious about that song.
Good god .

Some other dumb f**k ( there is that word again) mentioned " hipster" in regards to this band.
A fat sweaty bloke in shorts playing rock n roll is hardly a hipster.

All good jokes need to be explained. Well done.

azzah72

It's not the worst choice they've had.

It upbeat, somewhat entertaining and i guess you could call it a pop classic if you are inclined to that kind of music.

Campaigns are designed to attract the masses, getting an aussie pub rock band just wont, sure I and a lot of males in the 30-54 demo would love it, unfortunately that isn't the masses.

This is much better than if they got someone like Nicki Minaj or the like. (God help me if that ever happens)

taipan

After Tina Turner ,this is the next best choice.Some of the others left me cold.
"that's my,that's my cream."
"I stand up after I get p*ssed again"
:sarcasm:

LESStar58

Yep. All about the mothers these days and trying to get them to let their kids play. Good point.