Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The unknown

He can’t really help the virus, but the last thing any club needs at the moment is players feeing sorry for themselves.

A lot of people have died, many are facing terrible and premature deaths.

All these self entitled nancy boy players of ‘generation me’ can stfu. I hope most of these pathetic flogs don’t come back. And most of the boring and cliched ex players in the media, I am not missing them at all.

“ Sock is badly made, I need counselling, it’s the leagues fault....” give us a break you whinging dickheads. Shut up and play.

Yep agree, it’ll definitely bring the self entitled f**k wits back into line. I think we will also see a lot more club loyalty

WA Tiger

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/a-...rl-star-for-seeking-help-20200414-p54jl7.html

Not exactly what you’s are referring to but ....
Pi-lease ....”mental health issue” “seeking help” ...crap Lafai’s just a stroppy prick who thought he could get his way by scaring the shit out of his Missus and kids..now with his VRO he cant go home for 12 months? But Prob will do in a couple of days with wifeys amended statements (likely memorised after a phone call from the dragons - coz I’ve heard them all before) fair enough but that she had to apply for one speaks volumes . ...Im sure there’s pressures that can seem too much at times and no one’s perfect and afterwards if practical the importance of preserving the family unit etc but “player welfare” or words to that effect geez!!!

At least he only hit a wall. And he will prob learn a lot from the anger management that he will prob have to do (the course that Paul Gallen did after calling the CEO a cu— was apparently very helpful they’re not just theory Gallen had to seek out role models I think 4, each from different sports and ask their advice on leadership etc ) but these “go to” lines bug me like it’s not really his fault and actually he’s a saint the poor guy just has mental health issues and no of-course me and the kids aren't completely terrified of him now coz everything will be just tic kitty boo after his treatment ...what can u do ..and now she’s holding the family together and saving his weak arse - there goes me again off on my merry tangent ..I could be completely wrong about the details but not about those “go to” lines I know they’re crap coz I hear them every time a player gets into serious trouble ..unless wifey wants to give his mental health problems a name? but thats not going to happen.

BrotherJim05

Correct but the nfl plays the least amount of games per year (less than Nrl) and is the biggest sport in America by far. Look at Green Bay a fan owned team that has sold out every home game for the past 40 odd years. Again the Nfl is a national sport. You can buy pay tv packages just to see your teams games for the year and that's it. The nrl could do it. We just need to cut Sydney teams and spread the comp into WA, SA etc etc. If the Afl can do huge numbers being a single country game then we can too. We just need better people running the game.
https://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2014/09/the-geography-of-nfl-fandom/379729/

NFL isn't comparable whatsoever. They have 36 teams spread out over the entire country at 13x the population size of Australia. American Football is a sport played at almost every high school, and apart from Basketball has no real competition, and even then most American sports fans are both NBA and NFL fans.

Then looking at Rugby League, we are in a constant shit fight with AFL and Rugby Union with a weird complex that you can't truly be a fan of more than one. Then you've got most of the teams all crammed in a city with shit-house public transport, or stadiums that are just crap to watch NRL at (albeit they are fixing that last problem).

If you want a better comparison I'd compare it NHL. Because of the Mighty Ducks we all assume NHL is a major sport with a huge fan base, but its actually considered relatively niche for a U.S sport. No where near the club membership or fan base as the major U.S sports, but their fans are fanatics and its considered a violent, rough sport not for the faint of heart. NHL never tried to change their image. They never tried to "stamp out fighting" or changed their image to encourage mothers to let children play. They know exactly who they are and they kept it that way.

gordsy

NFL isn't comparable whatsoever. They have 36 teams spread out over the entire country at 13x the population size of Australia. American Football is a sport played at almost every high school, and apart from Basketball has no real competition, and even then most American sports fans are both NBA and NFL fans.

Then looking at Rugby League, we are in a constant shit fight with AFL and Rugby Union with a weird complex that you can't truly be a fan of more than one. Then you've got most of the teams all crammed in a city with shit-house public transport, or stadiums that are just crap to watch NRL at (albeit they are fixing that last problem).

If you want a better comparison I'd compare it NHL. Because of the Mighty Ducks we all assume NHL is a major sport with a huge fan base, but its actually considered relatively niche for a U.S sport. No where near the club membership or fan base as the major U.S sports, but their fans are fanatics and its considered a violent, rough sport not for the faint of heart. NHL never tried to change their image. They never tried to "stamp out fighting" or changed their image to encourage mothers to let children play. They know exactly who they are and they kept it that way.

What i;m saying is this the nfl dominates the sporting landscape in America as far as tv rating and attendance is concerned. They do this in spite of being a one country sport. Baseball, basketball and Ice Hockey are all played in multiple other countries and have similar competitions around the world.
Even college football rates and has attendances that league would kill for. The national setup of all codes in America is what league should follow, Yes we have far less of a population than America but if afl can have the spectator averages and member numbers it does then league should be able to as well.

The problem is no administration in years has come close to addressing this gap and solving why it exists

If the nrl wants to control it's be a the dominant code in Aus and better control it's own destiny it needs t be a truly national comp and a product where more fans are at games instead of in lounge rooms. Until that happens it will always be at the mercy of broadcasters.

WA Tiger

if afl can have the spectator averages and member numbers then league should be able to as well.

The problem is no administration in years has come close to addressing this.

If the nrl wants to control it's be a the dominant code in Aus and better control it's own destiny it needs a national comp and a product where more fans are at games instead of in lounge rooms. Until that happens it will always be at the mercy of broadcasters.

Its funny how every time I see Greenberg and Vlandys together Todd always looks like he’s walking with his tail between his legs like a naughty school boy like he knows he’s done wrong re past strategy and spending ..And at the press conference they might as well be sitting in separate rooms with the distance between them.

.It will be good to see if/when they get that light bulb moment when they realise they need to imitate afl re a national competition. If this nrl restart next month turns to shite and the Govt has to bail the NRL out and with the AFL struggling also - They are already talking about cutting teams, both codes could be on more of an even footing.

If that happens then the NRL may get a second chance but they need to take advantage because the the old excuses of “the AFL control that area” may not apply. ...The virus is the great leveller and may help our code get back to where we used to be (at the top) depending on whose at the helm at that time.

Every now and then you come up with some very interesting posts worth reflecting upon.

I rubbed my eyes at this one.

thanks.

The news today is that the nrl is f**king broke and borrowing money from overseas.

Then when they cannot start, they can’t get the funds, they cannot repay the debt.

Cap in hand to the taxpayer- while the nrl executive have milked it for all its worth, own big houses, drive nice cars and have large and profitable portfolios.

That’s how the sport as we know it will end.

It won’t be going truly National, but it may be nationalised. Sponsored by the ndis or government little helmeted penguin refuges wilderness area.

Such a good game wrecked by scumbag disabled pig f**kers at the top.

Some forums here, people are talking about the end of rugby league. Not because of the virus either...

The news today is that the nrl is f**king broke and borrowing money from overseas.

Then when they cannot start, they can’t get the funds, they cannot repay the debt.

Cap in hand to the taxpayer- while the nrl executive have milked it for all its worth, own big houses, drive nice cars and have large and profitable portfolios.

That’s how the sport as we know it will end.

It won’t be going truly National, but it may be nationalised. Sponsored by the ndis or government little helmeted penguin refuges wilderness area.

Such a good game wrecked by scumbag disabled pig f**kers at the top.

Some forums here, people are talking about the end of rugby league. Not because of the virus either...
Come on TSP, that's a bit "End of Days", isn't it?

RL will never die, it may suffer short term, but you don't get $1b TV contracts because you have nothing to offer.

I do agree it's a good opportunity to clean out the management deadwood but I can't see it ever going truly National, unless the other states grow here own leagues. Putting a franchise in has been tried and failed.

Have faith.

Come on TSP, that's a bit "End of Days", isn't it?

RL will never die, it may suffer short term, but you don't get $1b TV contracts because you have nothing to offer.

I do agree it's a good opportunity to clean out the management deadwood but I can't see it ever going truly National, unless the other states grow here own leagues. Putting a franchise in has been tried and failed.

Have faith.

I admire your ambition, but right now, we don’t have anything to offer!

Re-starting the game is not in the hands of the nrl.

Qld, nz and Victoria and not at all overwhelmed with freedom of movement because we still have community cases out there that remain untraced.

It just takes one undiagnosed person with no symptoms to start another round of deaths. To infect thousands or millions. Those mass graves overseas they are dumping people into, we are lucky or blessed it’s not happening here. It’s a terrible and chilling sight.

By providing a date, all the nrl is doing is undermining govt and private sector efforts to strangle this thing hard. People are doing it tough and the nrl is all about its money making circus.

Giving people false and misleading hope, because the nrl doesn’t know when to stop.

This is the worst managed professional sport on planet earth. They are a selfish, ignorant and hateful lot.

There won’t be any proper game starting next month at all and they will blame someone else.

When players and staff start getting sick, the nrl will collapse in about 1 week. They will owe millions plus interest. No games to broadcast.

That is why Australian Banks are avoiding them “ like the plague” for want of a better saying. They are not stupid people at these banks. They (sadly) make a lot of money for a reason.

I hope you’re right, but from everything I know ( or think I know) about the co vid etc , I don’t see it.

We might get some exo hybrid mongrel comp thing next year. So long as there’s not 9 teams!

But as you suggest, if the footy is good then it’s good and nothing else really matters.

I reckon the way your club recruits may have something to do with people disliking them also
That is pretty funny coming from a Brisbane Broncos supporter! ;) And your club's approach to recruitment has been squeaky clean over the past twenty odd years, has it? Come on, please, give me a break!

simmo05

Correct but the nfl plays the least amount of games per year (less than Nrl) and is the biggest sport in America by far. Look at Green Bay a fan owned team that has sold out every home game for the past 40 odd years. Again the Nfl is a national sport. You can buy pay tv packages just to see your teams games for the year and that's it. The nrl could do it. We just need to cut Sydney teams and spread the comp into WA, SA etc etc. If the Afl can do huge numbers being a single country game then we can too. We just need better people running the game.
https://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2014/09/the-geography-of-nfl-fandom/379729/
And if it is the tigers that are cut?

gordsy

If the tiges are cut then I would watch the game and maybe get foxtel so I can watch more games rather than focus as much on us. But if you want to grow the game the decision makers can't be worried about shit arguments like this team has been around for 80 years, what about leichhardt oval and it's history etvc etc. If we did that we wouldn't have a comp outside of metro sydney. We also we have lost the tigers and other teams when the time came to merge or die.

WA Tiger

I admire your ambition, but right now, we don’t have anything to offer!

Re-starting the game is not in the hands of the nrl.

Qld, nz and Victoria and not at all overwhelmed with freedom of movement because we still have community cases out there that remain untraced.

It just takes one undiagnosed person with no symptoms to start another round of deaths. To infect thousands or millions. Those mass graves overseas they are dumping people into, we are lucky or blessed it’s not happening here. It’s a terrible and chilling sight.

By providing a date, all the nrl is doing is undermining govt and private sector efforts to strangle this thing hard. People are doing it tough and the nrl is all about its money making circus.

Giving people false and misleading hope, because the nrl doesn’t know when to stop.

This is the worst managed professional sport on planet earth. They are a selfish, ignorant and hateful lot.

There won’t be any proper game starting next month at all and they will blame someone else.

When players and staff start getting sick, the nrl will collapse in about 1 week. They will owe millions plus interest. No games to broadcast.

That is why Australian Banks are avoiding them “ like the plague” for want of a better saying. They are not stupid people at these banks. They (sadly) make a lot of money for a reason.

I hope you’re right, but from everything I know ( or think I know) about the co vid etc , I don’t see it.

We might get some exo hybrid mongrel comp thing next year. So long as there’s not 9 teams!

But as you suggest, if the footy is good then it’s good and nothing else really matters.

V’landys is motivated by the thought of the legacy he will leave if we don’t play this year...(and is willing to risk life for it)
1 League died under my watch.
2 I had to back flip and allow Perth to join coz they have a plan they have more than enough money..but they were NOT my idea
3 Maybe....I won’t have as much control with private clubs joining ..( just guessing with this one)
...There’s prob a few more ..but obviously he will risk anything to make sure the game has a chance to survive..The truth is the game will always survive just maybe not when or how he planned...and hopefully when or because he’s long gone

V’landys is motivated by the thought of the legacy he will leave if we don’t play this year...(and is willing to risk life for it)
1 League died under my watch.
2 I had to back flip and allow Perth to join coz they have a plan they have more than enough money..but they were NOT my idea
3 Maybe....I won’t have as much control with private clubs joining ..( just guessing with this one)
...There’s prob a few more ..but obviously he will risk anything to make sure the game has a chance to survive..The truth is the game will always survive just maybe not when or how he planned...and hopefully when or because he’s long gone

Amen to that young brother in the West.

WA Tiger

If the tiges are cut then I would watch the game and maybe get foxtel so I can watch more games rather than focus as much on us. But if you want to grow the game the decision makers can't be worried about shit arguments like this team has been around for 80 years, what about leichhardt oval and it's history etvc etc. If we did that we wouldn't have a comp outside of metro sydney. We also we have lost the tigers and other teams when the time came to merge or die.
Rivalry would be more fierce too...Perth vs Melbourne at our stadium or theirs ...bring it on!

Brother yes young no unfortunately or fortunately?

Approach to life.

You bump into younger people these days who’s approach to the world is one of acceptance of their lot, powerlessness and a feeling of resignation.

One of the good outcomes of the lock down is that things have had to change pretty radically in some instances.

I am hoping that people learn that change is possible, not every stupid rule or regime is sacrosanct and I want to see the wealth and resources shared around a bit more in society.

Young folk don’t understand there was a time when housing was affordable, almost no tolls, food was better and cheaper, free university education etc society closer.

Against that as you have pointed out, stricter norms, more prevalent racism, more violence, boozing, indifference to the disabled and quiet tolerance of sexual assault in society and in the home.

WA Tiger

Approach to life.

You bump into younger people these days who’s approach to the world is one of acceptance of their lot, powerlessness and a feeling of resignation.

One of the good outcomes of the lock down is that things have had to change pretty radically in some instances.

I am hoping that people learn that change is possible, not every stupid rule or regime is sacrosanct and I want to see the wealth and resources shared around a bit more in society.

Young folk don’t understand there was a time when housing was affordable, almost no tolls, food was better and cheaper, free university education etc society closer.

Against that as you have pointed out, stricter norms, more prevalent racism, more violence, boozing, indifference to the disabled and quiet tolerance of sexual assault in society and in the home.

I cant even remember being young thank goodness