Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

And another thing. I honestly believe that the tall poppy syndrome in this country and hatred of non-working class entities has a lot to do with why our membership and crowd numbers are not higher. It is a similar story with the AFL clubs - that's why both Collingwood and Richmond are so well supported, compared to the Demons and, to a lesser extent, Hawthorn, for example.

Mate cmon really? ‘The Roosters don’t get bigger crowds because people are jealous we’ve done so well’

Everyone loves a winner, more so in sport. I would also bet that there are more Roosters fans in western/southern Sydney then in the East/North

The AFL comparison is completely floored. For starters the Demons haven’t won a comp since 1960. Collingwood average a Grand Final every 4 years. Plus the way the codes have been set upfor over 100 years, well that’s another story.

The unknown

Crowds in American sports play a huge role in people’s interests too. Teams like NE Pats, Dallas Cowboys etc make bank on attendance alone while NRL struggle to break even while including sponsorships, memberships and leagues clubs propping them up.

I made friends with a few Yankees a couple years back at uni and I waited until SOO to take them to a live match as it’s definitely a lot more appealing than taking them to a 1/8th full anz stadium on a Thursday night and they were hooked (I dunno about now seeing as they are back in America and barely get coverage) so the product is definitely there.

We are a long long way off getting getting 60k+ crowds to regular season games on the regular but people will literally choose to go to games because of the atmosphere. Same reason why I’ve gone to the last 5 NRL grand finals even though the Tigers haven’t been in it.

gordsy

Not sure the NRL would get the $'s we get (and appears we need) for that small a comp. Not forgetting the USA is 200 odd mil population.

But the MLB play 162 games per year, the NHL & NBA play 82 games each per year. Which is not possible for our game, on attrition of players alone.
Correct but the nfl plays the least amount of games per year (less than Nrl) and is the biggest sport in America by far. Look at Green Bay a fan owned team that has sold out every home game for the past 40 odd years. Again the Nfl is a national sport. You can buy pay tv packages just to see your teams games for the year and that's it. The nrl could do it. We just need to cut Sydney teams and spread the comp into WA, SA etc etc. If the Afl can do huge numbers being a single country game then we can too. We just need better people running the game.
https://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2014/09/the-geography-of-nfl-fandom/379729/

WA Tiger

Well in New York there are 24 million plus people and you either follow the Yankees or the Mets.

In Sydney there are what? 5 or 6 million people and you get the choice of 9 teams.

I think that explains a lot ..There’s prob not a lot of sports in the world where the Standard of play is at the level of the NRL, where most of the teams in that competition are based in one city. The novelty factor isn’t there for a winning team within that city. So what’s a better idea for an expansion team Perth or Brisbane ...Ofcourse Brisbane coz it just is ey..yea right ..Who would have thought the Carona virus could create a whole new landscape of private ownership where Perth would be courted and welcomed into the NRL. But you say we are restarting the comp next month so we will avoid that close to extinction scenario ..From where Im sitting this restarting the season plan is not far from pie in the sky and gathering more objections by the day from people that matter...and prob from the majority of the people that don’t matter or maybe they will matter in the end.

Still those audience numbers of easts being so close to WT with all their wins is remarkable...there has to be something to not like about them.

Mate cmon really? ‘The Roosters don’t get bigger crowds because people are jealous we’ve done so well’

Everyone loves a winner, more so in sport. I would also bet that there are more Roosters fans in western/southern Sydney then in the East/North

The AFL comparison is completely floored. For starters the Demons haven’t won a comp since 1960. Collingwood average a Grand Final every 4 years. Plus the way the codes have been set upfor over 100 years, well that’s another story.
I really do think the 'people are jealous because we have done well' argument does explain it to some extent. We were regarded as the new Manly for quite a while in the early 2000s. They have a similar membership level to us and they have been quite successful in the past few decades as well.

Yes, you are probably right about the geographic distribution. We also have a large base in Canberra and in parts of QLD as well.

The Demons' last flag was in 1964. I follow them. Nobody could accuse me of getting on the bandwagon! There are other examples of successful teams having low crowd and member numbers. North Melbourne is a good one. They were arguably the team of the 1990's, and yet have one of the lowest bases in the AFL. They, like the Roosters, have a small geographic and junior area to drawn on.

Sydney is a saturated market, but it is just not cool to follow the Roosters. Other supporters think we are the glamour club, with all this money, so they, in typical Aussie fashion, dislike us for that. While I do not really care, I do think that that is the obvious reality to some extent.

Sydney is also not like Melbourne. Sydney fans, by and large, are more fair weather and fickle than Melbournians. They do not seem to be rusted on to their teams in the same sort of numbers as our friends down south. I think that applies across the board, in the game.

Anyway, we could argue to the cows come home, but I don't think it is as straight forward as some might like to make out, that's all.

THE CHAMP

I really do think the 'people are jealous because we have done well' argument does explain it to some extent. We were regarded as the new Manly for quite a while in the early 2000s. They have a similar membership level to us and they have been quite successful in the past few decades as well.

Yes, you are probably right about the geographic distribution. We also have a large base in Canberra and in parts of QLD as well.

The Demons' last flag was in 1964. I follow them. Nobody could accuse me of getting on the bandwagon! There are other examples of successful teams having low crowd and member numbers. North Melbourne is a good one. They were arguably the team of the 1990's, and yet have one of the lowest bases in the AFL. They, like the Roosters, have a small geographic and junior area to drawn on.

Sydney is a saturated market, but it is just not cool to follow the Roosters. Other supporters think we are the glamour club, with all this money, so they, in typical Aussie fashion, dislike us for that. While I do not really care, I do think that that is the obvious reality to some extent.

Sydney is also not like Melbourne. Sydney fans, by and large, are more fair weather and fickle than Melbournians. They do not seem to be rusted on to their teams in the same sort of numbers as our friends down south. I think that applies across the board, in the game.

Anyway, we could argue to the cows come home, but I don't think it is as straight forward as some might like to make out, that's all.

I reckon the way your club recruits may have something to do with people disliking them also

WA Tiger

I watched that Moneyball movie again! last week easily my at least equal favourite movie ....for me great acting and what a story of inspiration and tragedy and as a manager Pitt handling all the doubters and not once loosing his cool except with the players as was expected ..”adapt or die” indeed

Well, he said he always wanted to go to Souths and play under Benny and the WT's were never really an option...….hahahaha

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/9a7ae44496de7c74184d1f3d4e12cf6b

Latrell set for fresh contract saga as Souths baulk at paying $800k extension clause

Latrell Mitchell is set to become embroiled in yet another contract saga, and one that threatens to put his very future as a Rabbitoh at risk.

Signed from the Roosters late into the pre-season after months of speculation, Mitchell is likely to endure more conjecture owing to his underwhelming start to life as a Bunny.

Yeah it’s heresy and all that, but the difference between the clubs is essentially the asset inheritance, resources and their people.

Any club looking for dominance could do a lot worse that implement rooster models and ways, steal their staff and replicate and improve on their systems.

By rights, the roosters aren’t entitled to be the success they are.

There’s no cheating, nothing untoward, they are just very good at running a club.

Their treatment of Latrell proved their commitment to their cause.

They threatened him bearhood for the rest of his contract. He’s become a self obsessed choker, they got that right.

Well, he said he always wanted to go to Souths and play under Benny and the WT's were never really an option...….hahahaha

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/9a7ae44496de7c74184d1f3d4e12cf6b

Latrell set for fresh contract saga as Souths baulk at paying $800k extension clause

Latrell Mitchell is set to become embroiled in yet another contract saga, and one that threatens to put his very future as a Rabbitoh at risk.

Signed from the Roosters late into the pre-season after months of speculation, Mitchell is likely to endure more conjecture owing to his underwhelming start to life as a Bunny.

hahahaa this is going to be pretty funny

We’ll see how much he really loves the club when they take the $800k extension off the table

Matt Rose is the worst agent I’ve ever seen

We’ll see how much he really loves the club when they take the $800k extension off the table

Latrell played the game and pitted club v club and ended up saying he was happy with the shiz sandwich on offer from rabbits. Probably to save face.

He took close to a million dollar haircut over three years.

At the end of the day, he backed himself to do well and earn his day in the sun, but he hasn’t been able to deliver. A lot of that is due to his lack of match fitness and distractions.

While he was wasting everyone’s time, he should have done 5 hours a day of training and all the rest, but no one was there to advise him.

Now he’s just another rogue marquee. Risky and self indulgent.

All contracts are off the table now. He will be very lucky to get 300k for his option. Anything over 150 is big money these days. There’s just no income coming in from the game.

This is pretty funny isn't it. Latrel came across to me as really immature or really stupid or both. I don't wish ill on people (apart from the Turd) however I'd like to see Souths screw him over for him to realize that the world doesn't work the way he thinks it does.

Being young and ignorant of the world, led him to rely upon others and he was therefore was prone to accepting terrible and hurtful advice.

If anything, the experience suggests that the NRL really needs to set up a full time players sub-commission. A body the players can turn to discuss things confidentially to see if their “whole of game” interests are being upheld. You could make it mandatory so there’s no shame or embarrassment.
Put a few ex players on the panel who understand the challenges, an accountant, lawyers, and business people. Chuck a union rep in etc.

At the moment it’s a free for all and we have these famous agents being disbarred and all that. Clubs are taking risks and it’s hard for a young person to know his place.

All these selfish, greedy and idiot advisors have ruined countless players, friends, families and clubs.

They could give them welfare and financial advice. People the players can trust implicitly.

The unknown

Lol Latrine is a walking train wreck

Has any player in the history of the game gone from a million dollar price tag to a 300k at best player in the space of a season? way to throw away your career.

He needed to move away from Sydney.

Lol Latrine is a walking train wreck

Has any player in the history of the game gone from a million dollar price tag to a 300k at best player in the space of a season? way to throw away your career.

He needed to move away from Sydney.

He can’t really help the virus, but the last thing any club needs at the moment is players feeing sorry for themselves.

A lot of people have died, many are facing terrible and premature deaths.

All these self entitled nancy boy players of ‘generation me’ can stfu. I hope most of these pathetic flogs don’t come back. And most of the boring and cliched ex players in the media, I am not missing them at all.

“ Sock is badly made, I need counselling, it’s the leagues fault....” give us a break you whinging dickheads. Shut up and play.

WA Tiger

Its good to have the last laugh ..(I’ll call it that for now while we can enjoy it) or more importantly for me our leaders at WT are -for now anyway - having the last laugh.They looked pretty bad there for a bit following Lattrel around the place trying to get his signature ...(although at the time I admired it - when I used to sell that was the ultimate in courage to just turn up and get the signature - which they kind of did but I bet they won’t do it again - u only do that if you know the client wants the product) anyway I’m really happy for them...and a message for other players “If the WT offer good $$$ TAKE THE FKN THING” ..Haha

Its good to have the last laugh ..(I’ll call it that for now while we can enjoy it) or more importantly for me our leaders at WT are -for now anyway - having the last laugh.They looked pretty bad there for a bit following Lattrel around the place trying to get his signature ...(although at the time I admired it - when I used to sell that was the ultimate in courage to just turn up which they kind of did but I bet they won’t do it again) anyway I’m really happy for them...and a message for others “If the WT offers good $$$ TAKE THE FKN THING” ..Haha

They call it karma!