Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Soward Wants To Stay A Dragon

Dragons playmaker Jamie Soward is hoping to return to the Indigenous All Stars team in February as a launching pad to securing a new contract.

Even as the height of summer approaches, there is a sense that St George Illawarra's fortunes next year will rely heavily on Soward's return to form, especially in the wake of Kyle Stanley's season-ending knee injury.

After all, the 28-year-old is also playing for his future. And yesterday he provided the strongest indication yet that he wants to stay with the Dragons, in what could be the last major contract of his career.

For the past two years, Soward's career has been the subject of speculation about playing rugby league in England or rugby union in France or Japan.
But after being dropped to NSW Cup for a game just 12 months after playing State of Origin, the five-eighth has fewer bargaining chips at the negotiating table.

Soward's manager Sam Ayoub has maintained that contract talks will not begin until the new NRL salary cap arrangement is final.

But as the NRL cap deal edges closer, Soward is aware he needs an impressive start to the 2013 season for his own future, as well as the chances of the 2010 premiers being back in contention.

Yesterday he said discussing terms with the Dragons management was a priority.

"I can only get ready for next year," he said. "The contract will be settled between Pricey and Dousty and Craig Young and Sammy [Ayoub]. "Once that time comes around, I'm sure if I'm playing good footy it will take care of itself.

"It's not nice to be off contract, but it also gets my own destiny in my own hands.

Now under 90 kilograms, Soward said he is close to peak physical condition after alleviating back and ankle injuries since the Dragons finished ninth this year.

http://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/1194376/jamie-sowards-destiny-his-own/?cs=302

doda

I'm glad, I hope he stays a Dragon as I believe he will get back to form and will be a great year for the Dragons.

hardbaby

Not on what I saw this year. Very disappointing. He needs to take the line on. Anyway, players that are off contract tend to bounce back. He certainly has the skills.

I'm glad, I hope he stays a Dragon as I believe he will get back to form and will be a great year for the Dragons.

agreed.
sowie has been a major part of our success.
He has been great.
But with his silky skills and foot-speed.
He could be brilliant!

He had a poor year - along with a number of others.
But is now "playing for a contract" (his words).

I am looking forward to seeing how he responds.
C'mon sowie.
I haven't thrown out the T-shirt!

hod

Ronnie Dobbs

Not on what I saw this year. Very disappointing. He needs to take the line on. Anyway, players that are off contract tend to bounce back. He certainly has the skills.

Agreed.

Being off contract is generally a pretty good incentive to get your shit together though.

Firey_Dragon

Even as 'poor' as Soward was last year, and I use that loosely, as silly mistakes were the biggest momentum killers mid-season which killed us. We'd be screwed without him, he still threw down consistently good numbers last year, and unless we replaced him with a marquee half, we'd be shot for 2014 with Kyle and Drinkwater.

I hope he stays on, we're going well when he's going well.

Godz Illa

Before Kyle's injury I'd have said he needed a stellar 2009-ish season to get another contract. But a spanner has been tossed directly into the works (not unlike a pinpoint Sowie cross-field kick). Still, he does need a big one. There was nothing compelling about anything he did in 2012.

I'm looking foward to a fully fit, lean Soward with speed to burn in 2013. Playing for a new contract is also a great motivalional carrot to dangle in front of him. Can't wait, I hope he has a great year.

hardbaby

I think you have to look at the combination. Marshall was poor with a constantly shifting set of halves partners. Thurston struggled without Lui. Sutton has been really disappointing at the Rabbits. Then they flick Sandow. They lose the hero wanker and replace him with a young guy who is organised and plays in a positive manner. Suddenly Sutton lives up to his potential. Hornby is nothing like Sandow but Drinkwater is a bit like Reynolds. There is a lesson there.

I think one of the biggest issues we had this year is that there were three guys running the play - Fien, Hornby and Soward. At least one of those guys just needed to roll the sleeves up and rip in. By all means, organise the play. But be dangerous in your own position. They weren't. None of them. Too many bloody chiefs.

With King joining Rein at half, one problem is solved. But I just keep looking at Drinkwater and thinking he is the other part solved. And if he plays direct and takes the line on, Soward will be much more dangerous. It's a big call for Price and I think our season hangs on making the right decision. There is a Top 8 team there but only with a natural, not manufactured, half.

Minh

I hate this off contract theory or form guide thing but it is quite evident it exists. To me this shows a lack of commitment and passion as a player who is only driven and motivated by a new contract or dollars. That's why I admire guys like Jonathan Thurston who is a true competitor who wears his heart on his sleaves contract year or not, he performs 100% week in week out.

Blood Shot Eyes

I hope he stays on, when in form is as good as anyone.

Agree Minh.....whoever the halve pairing will be Drinkwater/Soward or Fien/Soward a lot will depend on how our forwards go.....if you look at most good halves their usually behind a good forward pack..... for our own history eg; Billy Smith and Poppa Clay ...long time ago I know but basically nothings changed that much.

Minh

Agree Minh.....whoever the halve pairing will be Drinkwater/Soward or Fien/Soward a lot will depend on how our forwards go.....if you look at most good halves their usually behind a good forward pack..... for our own history eg; Billy Smith and Poppa Clay ...long time ago I know but basically nothings changed that much.

That's true you have to win the ground battle and in the last two seasons I guess we have been susceptible to being dominated by the bigger/stronger packs. That's why I feel in 2013 we have the cattle to hold our own in the forwards with the return of Weyman and the addition of Frizzell and Harrison will add some youger legs and muscle to our pack.

I reckon Sowie will turn it back on this year.

He relaxed after the premiership, had a few burgers, traced a few rain drops on the window pane over Wayne..., but he'll be back.

It's the way of things with players in contract years, it's not great for fans but that's how it is.

The good thing is that he knows that it is crunch time. Perform or au reviour. No hard feelings, thanks for the memories and all the best.

The Red V comes first and I reckon Jamie knows that. He's a proper Dragon.

Johnny-b-Goode

I think you have to look at the combination. Marshall was poor with a constantly shifting set of halves partners. Thurston struggled without Lui. Sutton has been really disappointing at the Rabbits. Then they flick Sandow. They lose the hero wanker and replace him with a young guy who is organised and plays in a positive manner. Suddenly Sutton lives up to his potential. Hornby is nothing like Sandow but Drinkwater is a bit like Reynolds. There is a lesson there.

I think one of the biggest issues we had this year is that there were three guys running the play - Fien, Hornby and Soward. At least one of those guys just needed to roll the sleeves up and rip in. By all means, organise the play. But be dangerous in your own position. They weren't. None of them. Too many bloody chiefs.

With King joining Rein at half, one problem is solved. But I just keep looking at Drinkwater and thinking he is the other part solved. And if he plays direct and takes the line on, Soward will be much more dangerous. It's a big call for Price and I think our season hangs on making the right decision. There is a Top 8 team there but only with a natural, not manufactured, half.

Great post...

SaintArsenal

Don't know how so many were/are so protective of K Stanley but are happy to put faith in Drinkwater being some sort of first year messiah. Not saying you won't be forgiving if Drinkwater dishes up anything less than you hope but can't see how his experience is anymore advanced than when Stanley was being shielded on here.

Is it because Stanley was a junior therefore a lot of you guys had seen more of him?